Journal profile · EDUCATION & EDUCATIONAL RESEARCH
School Science and Mathematics
ISSN 0036-6803 · eISSN 1949-8594 · Wiley-Blackwell
School Science and Mathematics: CAS Zone 4 · Education (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 1.2 (journal website); hybrid open access; APC about USD 2,750; median 277 days to acceptance (80 articles, last 24 months); acceptance rate 32% (journal website); 112 articles in 2025; indexed in ESCI and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
School Science and Mathematics is published by Wiley-Blackwell and is in Zone 4 of Education in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Diverse Educational Innovations Studies, Science Education and Pedagogy and Mathematics Education and Teaching Techniques, together about 32.9% of its articles. Its main subfields are Education. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Founded in 1901, School Science and Mathematics is an international journal that is published monthly, October through May, emphasizing research on issues, concerns, and lessons within and between the disciplines of science and mathematics in the classroom. As a peer-refereed professional journal, it is a trusted resource for science and mathematics educators and is a leader in STEM integration articles. Regular journal article types include: Editorial, Research in Brief, Research Article, Review Article, Innovation to Practice and Problems.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): EDUCATION & EDUCATIONAL RESEARCH
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named United States 32, Germany 4, Türkiye 1 (37 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Diverse Educational Innovations StudiesAgricultural and Biological Sciences14.3%
- Science Education and PedagogySocial Sciences9.4%
- Mathematics Education and Teaching TechniquesSocial Sciences9.2%
- Education and Technology IntegrationSocial Sciences7.3%
- Various Chemistry Research TopicsChemistry6.7%
- Educational Research and PedagogyComputer Science6.5%
- Diverse Education Studies and ReformsSocial Sciences5.4%
- History and advancements in chemistryChemistry3.8%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Education Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Education | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Education & Educational Research | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Education Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Education | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Education & Educational Research | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
Database indexing
ESCIScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
Web of ScienceERICPublisher website
Other: EBSCO, ProQuest, OCLC
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 1.2Publisher website ·
- Impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 1.2Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 2.4LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher)
- 2.4Publisher website ·
- CiteScore (publisher) 2025
- 2.4Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.53LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.75LetPub ·
- h-index
- 96OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 1,155OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 1.44OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 0%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 40.93%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 85LetPub ·
- Articles per year (publisher) 2025
- 100Publisher website ·
- Downloads per year (publisher) 2025
- 127,500Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 23,553 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 63 | 27 | 3 |
| 2025 | 112 | 65 | 204 |
| 2024 | 78 | 47 | 158 |
| 2023 | 78 | 43 | 295 |
| 2022 | 60 | 14 | 171 |
| 2021 | 77 | 11 | 424 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with Crossref · to
277 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 186 days – 390 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 14 days (83 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 294 days
- Sample
- 80 articles with submission and acceptance dates (168 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Acceptance rate (publisher)
- 32%Publisher website ·
- Acceptance rate (publisher) 2025
- 32%Publisher website ·
- Submission to first decision
- 59 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to first decision 2025
- 59 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to acceptance 2025
- 279 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication 2025
- 16 daysPublisher website ·
- Peer review
- Double anonymous peer reviewPublisher website
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAlex | USD 2,750 / EUR 2,320 / GBP 1,840 | — | — |
A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare2 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 200 words
- Reference style
- APA
Article types accepted5
- editorialEditorial: To convey an opinion, or overview of an issue, by the Editor or someone invited by the Editor.Length not stated
- innovation to practiceInnovation to Practice: (word count 2,000-2,500 not including references) - The School Science and Mathematics (SSM) Journal is developing a new section for rea…Length not stated
- problemsProblems: This section of the journal offers readers an opportunity to exchange interesting mathematics problems and solutions.Length not stated
- research articleResearch Article: Reports of original research in mathematics, science, and STEM education.Length not stated
- review articleReview Article: In depth analysis of current research focusing on a specified topic.Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review
- AI use Disclosing the use of artificial intelligence (AI)
AI use must be disclosed transparently in the Methods section. Model summary
If you or your co-authors have used Artificial Intelligence Generated Content (AIGC) tools such as ChatGPT and others based on large language models (LLMs) to develop any portion of a manuscript, their use must be described transparently and in detail in the Methods section.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Authorship
APA 7th edition style required. Model summary
All manuscripts must be prepared according to the 7th Edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright
Copyright transfer agreement or Creative Commons Open Access agreements. Model summary
For authors signing the copyright transfer agreement If the Open Access option is not selected the corresponding author will be presented with the copyright transfer agreement (CTA) to sign.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access
Open Access option available for primary research articles. Model summary
Open Access is available to authors of primary research articles who wish to make their article available to non-subscribers on publication, or whose funding agency requires grantees to archive the final version of their article.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review
Revisions encouraged within 30 days. Model summary
If the decision is to Accept with Revisions, the author(s) are encouraged to complete revisions within 30 days.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Wiley-Blackwell
- ISSN
- 0036-6803
- Electronic ISSN
- 1949-8594
- Society / sponsor
- School Science and Mathematics Association
- Latest issue on the website
- Volume 126, Issue 4 (August 2026)
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about School Science and Mathematics
What CAS zone is School Science and Mathematics in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, School Science and Mathematics is in Zone 4 of Education, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Education & Educational Research. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 3 of Education. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of School Science and Mathematics?
The journal's website gives an impact factor of 1.2 (2025); this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 2.4, h-index 96.
How long does peer review take at School Science and Mathematics?
Based on the dates recorded on 80 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 277 days (interquartile range 186–390 days); the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 32% (2025). Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of School Science and Mathematics?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 200 words; Reference style: APA. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of School Science and Mathematics based?
Of the 37 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (32), Germany (4) and Türkiye (1). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index School Science and Mathematics?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, School Science and Mathematics is indexed in ESCI and Scopus. The journal's website also lists Web of Science and ERIC; that list has not been checked against each database.
Is School Science and Mathematics open access, and what is the APC?
School Science and Mathematics is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 2,750.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .