Journal profile · EDUCATION & EDUCATIONAL RESEARCH
Policy & Practice-A Development Education Review
ISSN 1748-135X · eISSN 2053-4272 · Centre for Global Education · United Kingdom
Policy & Practice-A Development Education Review: CAS Zone 4 · Education (2025 upgraded edition); fully open access; no APC; review about 4 weeks (community reports); 19 articles a year; indexed in ESCI and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Policy & Practice-A Development Education Review is published by Centre for Global Education and is in Zone 4 of Education in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Tourism, Volunteerism, and Development, Global Education and Multiculturalism and Global Educational Policies and Reforms, together about 41.7% of its articles. Its main subfields are Education. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Policy & Practice: A Development Education Review is a biannual, peer reviewed, open access, online journal published by the Centre for Global Education, a non-governmental development organisation based in Belfast. It aims to celebrate and promote good practice in development education and to debate the shifting policy context in which it is delivered. It provides a space for education practitioners to critically reflect on their practice, share new research and engage in debate with their peers. Each issue of the journal features in-depth contributions on key aspects of development education such as pedagogical innovation, research, methodologies, monitoring and evaluation, the production of resources, enhancing organisational capacity and strategic interventions in education policy. Policy & Practice is informed by values such as social justice, equality and interdependence and is based on the Freirean concept of education as an agent of positive social change. The journal web site receives in excess of 150,000 visitors per annum from the global North and South and successfully combines quality contributions from academia and civil society. Journal editor Stephen McCloskey can be contacted at stephen@centreforglobaleducation.com.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): EDUCATION & EDUCATIONAL RESEARCH
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named Canada 5, United Kingdom 2, Ireland 2, India 1, Australia 1 (13 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Tourism, Volunteerism, and DevelopmentSocial Sciences16.7%
- Global Education and MulticulturalismSocial Sciences14.6%
- Global Educational Policies and ReformsSocial Sciences10.4%
- Sustainability in Higher EducationSocial Sciences8.3%
- Sustainable Development and Environmental PolicyEnvironmental Science4.2%
- Adult and Continuing Education TopicsSocial Sciences4.2%
- Religious Education and SchoolsSocial Sciences4.2%
- Urban Planning and GovernanceSocial Sciences2.1%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Education Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Education | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Education & Educational Research | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Education Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Education | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Education & Educational Research | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
Database indexing
ESCIScopusDOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 1.5LetPub ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.35LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.64LetPub ·
- h-index
- 3OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 0OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 0OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 25%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 1.67%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 19LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 21 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 1 | 1 | 0 |
| 2024 | 1 | 1 | 0 |
| 2023 | 2 | 2 | 0 |
| 2021 | 1 | 1 | 0 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 4 weeksLetPub ·
- Peer review
- Peer reviewLetPub
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| LetPub | No APC | No | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
Article types accepted7, with length limits
- focus articlesFocus articles are peer reviewed, between 5,000 and 6,000 words, and should have a strong critical and theoretical analysis of their topic.Length not stated
- perspectivend theoretical analysis of their topic. Perspectives articles which are 3,000 – 5,000 words in length and more descriptive, addressing an aspect of devmain text ≤ 5,000 words
- perspectives articlesPerspectives articles which are 3,000 – 5,000 words in length and more descriptive, addressing an aspect of development education practice.Length not stated
- review articlesues related to DE policy and practice. Review articles are 1,000-2,000 words in length and offer an opinion of a new book, film, teachinmain text ≤ 2,000 words
- review articlesReview articles are 1,000-2,000 words in length and offer an opinion of a new book, film, teaching resource or online site on development issues.Length not stated
- viewpointpect of development education practice. Viewpoint articles which are 2,000 – 4,000 words in length and opinion pieces on burning issues related to Dmain text ≤ 4,000 words
- viewpoint articlesViewpoint articles which are 2,000 – 4,000 words in length and opinion pieces on burning issues related to DE policy and practice.Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteOpen access
- Open access
Peer reviewed, bi-annual, open access journal published by the Centre for Global Education. Model summary
Policy and Practice is a peer reviewed, bi-annual, open access journal published by the Centre for Global Education, a non-governmental development organisation based in Belfast.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Centre for Global Education
- Country or region
- United Kingdom
- Language
- English
- ISSN
- 1748-135X
- Electronic ISSN
- 2053-4272
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗LetPub
- Author guidelines ↗LetPub
- Aims & Scope ↗LetPub
- Peer review process ↗LetPub
- Editorial board ↗LetPub
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Policy & Practice-A Development Education Review
What CAS zone is Policy & Practice-A Development Education Review in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Policy & Practice-A Development Education Review is in Zone 4 of Education, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Education & Educational Research. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 4 of Education. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
How long does peer review take at Policy & Practice-A Development Education Review?
Authors report an average review time of about 4 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
Where are the editorial board members of Policy & Practice-A Development Education Review based?
Of the 13 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are Canada (5), United Kingdom (2) and Ireland (2). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Policy & Practice-A Development Education Review?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Policy & Practice-A Development Education Review is indexed in ESCI, Scopus and DOAJ.
Is Policy & Practice-A Development Education Review open access, and what is the APC?
Policy & Practice-A Development Education Review is a fully open-access journal. It charges no article processing charge.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .