Journal profile · Multiple
Literacy
ISSN 1741-4350 · eISSN 1741-4369 · Wiley-Blackwell
Literacy: CAS Zone 3 · Education (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 1.84; hybrid open access; APC about USD 3,470; median 193 days to acceptance (59 articles, last 24 months); acceptance rate 13% (journal website); 31 articles in 2025; indexed in SSCI, AHCI and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Literacy is published by Wiley-Blackwell and is in Zone 3 of Education in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Literacy, Media, and Education, Reading and Literacy Development and Child Development and Digital Technology, together about 36.2% of its articles. Its main subfields are Education. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Literacy is the official journal of the United Kingdom Literacy Association (formerly the United Kingdom Reading Association), the professional association for teachers of literacy. Literacy is a refereed journal for those interested in the study and development of literacy. Its readership comprises practitioners, teacher educators, researchers and both undergraduate and graduate students. Literacy offers educators a forum for debate through scrutinising research evidence, reflecting on analysed accounts of innovative practice and examining recent policy developments.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Multiple
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named United Kingdom 21, Canada 9, United States 7, Australia 3, Ireland 3 (48 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Literacy, Media, and EducationArts and Humanities19%
- Reading and Literacy DevelopmentPsychology9.8%
- Child Development and Digital TechnologySocial Sciences7.4%
- Multilingual Education and PolicySocial Sciences7.2%
- Digital Storytelling and EducationHealth Professions6%
- EFL/ESL Teaching and LearningArts and Humanities4.2%
- Education Systems and PolicySocial Sciences4.1%
- Education and Technology IntegrationSocial Sciences3.7%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Education Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Education | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Language & Linguistics | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Linguistics | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Education & Educational Research | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Education Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Education | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Education & Educational Research | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Linguistics | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Language & Linguistics | Zone 2 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Education Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Education | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Language & Linguistics | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Education & Educational Research | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Linguistics | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
Database indexing
SSCIAHCIScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
Web of SciencePsycINFOERICCurrent ContentsPublisher website
Other: EBSCO, ProQuest
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor
- 1.84LetPub ·
- Impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 2Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 3.7LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher) 2025
- 3.7Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.6LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 1.39LetPub ·
- h-index
- 48OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 265OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 1.41OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 5%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 77.11%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 20LetPub ·
- Articles per year (publisher) 2025
- 25Publisher website ·
- Downloads per year (publisher) 2025
- 139,931Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 914 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 35 | 21 | 4 |
| 2025 | 31 | 25 | 30 |
| 2024 | 37 | 31 | 111 |
| 2023 | 51 | 34 | 277 |
| 2022 | 47 | 19 | 298 |
| 2021 | 33 | 10 | 204 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with Crossref · to
193 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 145 days – 257 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 18 days (59 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 217 days
- Sample
- 59 articles with submission and acceptance dates (66 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Acceptance rate (publisher) 2025
- 13%Publisher website ·
- Submission to first decision 2025
- 11 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to acceptance 2025
- 143 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication 2025
- 18 daysPublisher website ·
- Peer review
- Double-anonymous peer reviewPublisher website · model-extracted
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAlex | USD 3,470 / EUR 2,900 / GBP 2,330 | — | — |
A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare5 items from the author guidelines
- Manuscript length
- ≤ 6,000 words
- Reference style
- Harvard
- First submission
- Free format: the journal's layout is not required
- Highlights
- Optional
- Graphical abstract
- Optional
Article types accepted4
- book reviewArticle Type Description Word Limit Abstract Original Article Reports of recent research findings or conceptual analyses in the field of language and literacy t…Length not stated
- original articleArticle Type Description Word Limit Abstract Original Article Reports of recent research findings or conceptual analyses in the field of language and literacy t…Length not stated
- review articleArticle Type Description Word Limit Abstract Original Article Reports of recent research findings or conceptual analyses in the field of language and literacy t…Length not stated
- short reviewArticle Type Description Word Limit Abstract Original Article Reports of recent research findings or conceptual analyses in the field of language and literacy t…Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Data availability, Open access, Peer review, Preprints
- AI use Disclosing the use of artificial intelligence (AI)
If you or your co-authors have used Artificial Intelligence Generated Content (AIGC) tools such as ChatGPT and others based on large language models (LLMs) to develop any portion of a manuscript, their use must be described transparently and in detail in the Methods section.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Authorship Authorship
All listed authors should have contributed to the manuscript substantially and have agreed to the final submitted version.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Data availability Data Sharing and Data Availability
Data sharing: encourages and peer reviews data sharing Model summary
This journal encourages and peer reviews data sharing. Review Wiley’s Data Sharing policy where you will be able to see and select the data availability statement that is right for your submission.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access
ORCID required for submitting author Model summary
Literacy requires the submitting author (only) to provide an ORCID iD when submitting a manuscript.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Submission and Peer Review Process
New submissions should be made via the Wiley Authors submission portal. You may check the status of your submission at any time by logging on to submission.wiley.com and clicking the “My Submissions” button. For technical help with the submission system, please review our FAQs or contact submissionhelp@wiley.com. Literacy is a refereed journal for those interested in the study and development of l…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints
Preprint policy: considers preprints, allows posting submitted version to preprint server Model summary
This journal will consider for review articles previously available as preprints.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Wiley-Blackwell
- ISSN
- 1741-4350
- Electronic ISSN
- 1741-4369
- Society / sponsor
- United Kingdom Literacy Association
- Latest issue on the website
- Volume 60, Issue 3 (September 2026)
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Literacy
What CAS zone is Literacy in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Literacy is in Zone 3 of Education, and in Zone 3 of the minor category Language & Linguistics / Linguistics / Education & Educational Research. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 3 of Education. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Literacy?
The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 1.84; CiteScore 3.7, h-index 48.
How long does peer review take at Literacy?
Based on the dates recorded on 59 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 193 days (interquartile range 145–257 days); the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 13% (2025). Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Literacy?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Manuscript length: ≤ 6,000 words; Reference style: Harvard; First submission: Free format: the journal's layout is not required; Highlights: Optional; Graphical abstract: Optional. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Literacy based?
Of the 48 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United Kingdom (21), Canada (9) and United States (7). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Literacy?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Literacy is indexed in SSCI, AHCI and Scopus. The journal's website also lists Web of Science, PsycINFO, ERIC and Current Contents; that list has not been checked against each database.
Is Literacy open access, and what is the APC?
Literacy is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 3,470.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .