Journal profile · Public, Environmental & Occupational Health
Journal of School Health
ISSN 0022-4391 · eISSN 1746-1561 · Wiley-Blackwell · UNITED STATES · Monthly · Founded 1937
Journal of School Health: CAS Zone 4 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 1.83; hybrid open access; APC about USD 3,570; median 177 days to acceptance (103 articles, last 24 months); community-reported acceptance: easy; 142 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE, SSCI and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Journal of School Health is published by Wiley-Blackwell and is in Zone 4 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are School Health and Nursing Education, Obesity, Physical Activity, Diet and Child and Adolescent Health, together about 44.7% of its articles. Its main subfields are General Health Professions. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Journal of School Health is published 12 times a year on behalf of the American School Health Association. It addresses practice, theory, and research related to the health and well-being of school-aged youth. The journal is a top-tiered resource for professionals who work toward providing students with the programs, services, and environment they need for good health and academic success.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Public, Environmental & Occupational Health
Editor-in-chief Nancy BrenerPublisher website
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- School Health and Nursing EducationHealth Professions31.1%
- Obesity, Physical Activity, DietMedicine8.3%
- Child and Adolescent HealthHealth Professions5.4%
- Diverse Scientific and Economic StudiesEconomics, Econometrics and Finance4.3%
- Adolescent Sexual and Reproductive HealthHealth Professions4.1%
- Pediatric health and respiratory diseasesHealth Professions3.8%
- Human auditory perception and evaluationEngineering3.8%
- Public Health Policies and EducationHealth Professions3.8%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Education & Educational Research | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Education, Scientific Disciplines | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Health Care Sciences & Services | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Public, Environmental & Occupational Health | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Education & Educational Research | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Education, Scientific Disciplines | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Health Care Sciences & Services | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Public, Environmental & Occupational Health | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Education & Educational Research | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Education, Scientific Disciplines | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Health Care Sciences & Services | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Public, Environmental & Occupational Health | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
Database indexing
SCIESSCIScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
Web of ScienceMEDLINEPubMedCAB AbstractsCINAHLERICCurrent ContentsPublisher website
Other: EBSCO, ProQuest
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor
- 1.83LetPub ·
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 1.8Publisher website ·
- Impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 1.8Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 3.6LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher)
- 3.6Publisher website ·
- CiteScore (publisher) 2025
- 3.6Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.67LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.87LetPub ·
- h-index
- 75LetPub ·
- h-index
- 137OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 2,533OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 1.32OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 5.6%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 45.54%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 100LetPub ·
- Articles per year (publisher) 2025
- 114Publisher website ·
- Downloads per year (publisher) 2025
- 453,112Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 13,336 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 154 | 103 | 28 |
| 2025 | 142 | 84 | 161 |
| 2024 | 122 | 82 | 363 |
| 2023 | 139 | 105 | 773 |
| 2022 | 170 | 78 | 1,476 |
| 2021 | 156 | 52 | 1,769 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with Crossref · to
177 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 135 days – 224 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 15 days (103 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 194 days
- Sample
- 103 articles with submission and acceptance dates (298 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Average review time (community reports)
- 6–12 weeksLetPub ·
- Average acceptance (community reports)
- EasyLetPub ·
- Acceptance rate (publisher)
- 14%Publisher website ·
- Acceptance rate (publisher) 2025
- 14%Publisher website ·
- Submission to first decision
- 10 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to first decision 2025
- 10 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to acceptance 2025
- 160 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication 2025
- 14 daysPublisher website ·
- Peer review
- Single anonymous peer reviewPublisher website
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAlex | USD 3,570 / EUR 3,010 / GBP 2,380 | — | — | |
| Publisher website | Yes, amount not published | — | — |
A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare2 items from the author guidelines
- Reference style
- AMA
- Not considered
- preprint
Article types accepted13
- commentariesCommentaries. Commentaries include position papers, viewpoints, point-counterpoint papers, analyses of current or controversial issues, and creative, insightful…Length not stated
- commentaryResearch Articles. Research articles present original quantitative, qualitative, or mixed-methods research or evaluation findings. These original findings shoul…Length not stated
- letters to the editorResearch Articles. Research articles present original quantitative, qualitative, or mixed-methods research or evaluation findings. These original findings shoul…Length not stated
- literature reviewResearch Articles. Research articles present original quantitative, qualitative, or mixed-methods research or evaluation findings. These original findings shoul…Length not stated
- literature review articlesLiterature Review Articles. Literature review articles may include integrative reviews (ie. narrative or traditional literature reviews), scoping and systematic…Length not stated
- perspectiveResearch Articles. Research articles present original quantitative, qualitative, or mixed-methods research or evaluation findings. These original findings shoul…Length not stated
- practitioner’s perspective articlesPractitioner’s Perspective Articles. Practitioner Perspective articles identify and describe promising policy and practice in school health.Length not stated
- research articleResearch Articles. Research articles present original quantitative, qualitative, or mixed-methods research or evaluation findings. These original findings shoul…Length not stated
- research articlesResearch Articles. Research articles present original quantitative, qualitative, or mixed-methods research or evaluation findings.Length not stated
- reviewResearch Articles. Research articles present original quantitative, qualitative, or mixed-methods research or evaluation findings. These original findings shoul…Length not stated
- systematic reviewResearch Articles. Research articles present original quantitative, qualitative, or mixed-methods research or evaluation findings. These original findings shoul…Length not stated
- theoretical or conceptual articlesTheoretical or Conceptual Articles. Theoretical or conceptual articles introduce new theories, models, and concepts; provide professional critiques of existing …Length not stated
- viewpointResearch Articles. Research articles present original quantitative, qualitative, or mixed-methods research or evaluation findings. These original findings shoul…Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Peer review, Preprints
- AI use
AI use must be disclosed in Methods Model summary
If you or your co-authors have used Artificial Intelligence Generated Content (AIGC) tools such as ChatGPT and others based on large language models (LLMs) to develop any portion of a manuscript, their use must be described transparently and in detail in the Methods section.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Overview of the Peer Review Process
Single-blind peer review Model summary
This journal operates under a single-blind peer review model. Papers will only be sent to review if the Editor-in-Chief determines that the paper meets the appropriate quality and relevance requirements. The initial review by the Editor-in-Chief typically takes 1-2 weeks. Manuscripts forwarded for full peer review typically receive a decision within 60-75 days from the submission date. Decisions i…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints
Preprints not accepted Model summary
This journal does not accept articles previously published on preprint servers.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Wiley-Blackwell
- Country or region
- UNITED STATES
- Language
- English
- Frequency
- Monthly
- Founded
- 1937
- ISSN
- 0022-4391
- Electronic ISSN
- 1746-1561
- Society / sponsor
- American School Health Association
- Latest issue on the website
- Volume 96, Issue 10 (October 2026)
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Submission system ↗LetPub
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Journal of School Health
What CAS zone is Journal of School Health in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Journal of School Health is in Zone 4 of Medicine, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Education & Educational Research / Education, Scientific Disciplines / Health Care Sciences & Services / Public, Environmental & Occupational Health. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 3 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Journal of School Health?
The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 1.83; CiteScore 3.6, h-index 137.
How long does peer review take at Journal of School Health?
Based on the dates recorded on 103 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 177 days (interquartile range 135–224 days); authors report an average review time of 6–12 weeks; the community-reported acceptance is “Easy”; the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 14% (2025). Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
Which databases index Journal of School Health?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Journal of School Health is indexed in SCIE, SSCI and Scopus. The journal's website also lists Web of Science, MEDLINE, PubMed, CAB Abstracts, CINAHL, ERIC and Current Contents; that list has not been checked against each database.
Is Journal of School Health open access, and what is the APC?
Journal of School Health is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 3,570.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .