Journal profile · EDUCATION & EDUCATIONAL RESEARCH

Journal of Unschooling and Alternative Learning

ISSN 1916-8128 · Nipissing University · Canada

Journal of Unschooling and Alternative Learning: CAS Zone 4 · Education (2025 upgraded edition); diamond open access (no APC); no APC; review about 30 weeks (community reports); 4 articles a year; indexed in ESCI.

Impact factor—No published value
CAS zoneZone 4 · Education2025 upgraded edition, major category · 2026 Xinrui edition Zone 4 · Education
Review timeabout 30 weeksCommunity average
APCNo APCDiamond open access (no APC)
Acceptance—No reports yet
Articles per year4LetPub annual count

Scope

Aims, scope and focus

This journal seeks to bring together an international community of scholars exploring the topic of unschooling and alternative learning, which espouses learner centered democratic approaches to learning. JUAL is also a space to reveal the limitations of mainstream schooling. JUAL understands learner centered democratic education as individuals deciding their own curriculum, and participating in the governance of their school-if they are in one. Some examples of learner centered democratic possibilities are unschooling, Sudbury Valley , Fairhaven , the Albany Free School , and the Beach School in Toronto . In terms of unschooling, we view it as a self-directed learning approach to learning.

From the journal's Aims & Scope

Research area (LetPub): EDUCATION & EDUCATIONAL RESEARCH

Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named Canada 8, United States 5, United Kingdom 1, Israel 1 (15 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·

Rankings & indexing

CAS ranking and database indexing

CAS Journal Ranking

CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Education Zone 4
LevelCategoryZone
MajorEducationZone 4
MinorEducation & Educational ResearchZone 4

Top journal: noReview journal: no

CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Education Zone 4
LevelCategoryZone
MajorEducationZone 4
MinorEducation & Educational ResearchZone 4

Top journal: noReview journal: not marked

CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

Database indexing

ESCIDOAJLetPub

International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub

Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.

Metrics

Impact metrics and publication volume

Impact

h-index
0OpenAlex ·
i10-index
0OpenAlex ·
2-year mean citedness
0OpenAlex ·
Self-citation rate
0%LetPub ·
Share of gold OA articles
0%LetPub ·

Volume

Articles per year
4LetPub ·

Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.

Review & acceptance

Review time and acceptance

Average review time (community reports)
about 30 weeksLetPub ·
Submission to publication (journal-reported)
about 30 weeksDOAJ ·
Peer review
Double anonymous peer reviewDOAJ

Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.

Fees & open access

APC and open-access policy

Diamond open access (no APC)DOAJ

Every article is open access and authors pay no article processing charge.

SourceAPCFee waiverLicenseObserved
DOAJNo APCNoCC BY-NC-ND
LetPubNo APCNo—
Publisher websiteNo APC——

Other charges and waivers (author guidelines)

Submission fee
No submission fee

The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.

Submission

Article types and submission policies (journal website)

What to prepare9 items from the author guidelines
Manuscript length
≤ 7,000 words
Reference style
APA
Templates
Word
First submission
Free format: the journal's layout is not required
Suggested reviewers
Required
Highlights
Required
Graphical abstract
Required
Cover letter
Required
Not considered
book reviews; review essays
Publisher website · model-extracted, each line checked against the text
Article types accepted7, with length limits
  1. articlesArticles should not exceed 7,000 words (including quotations, notes, and references)Length not stated
  2. book review2,000 words; discussions, 1,500 words; book reviews and research notes, 1,000 words. Articles are peer-reviewed, but book reviews and review esmain text ≤ 1,000 words
  3. book reviewsbook reviews and research notes, 1,000 wordsLength not stated
  4. discussionsdiscussions, 1,500 wordsLength not stated
  5. research notesbook reviews and research notes, 1,000 wordsLength not stated
  6. reviewing quotations, notes, and references); review essays, 2,000 words; discussions, 1,500 words; book reviews and research notes,main text ≤ 2,000 words
  7. review essaysreview essays, 2,000 wordsLength not stated
Publisher website
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAuthorship, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review
Authorship

Authors hold copyright Model summary

JUAL allows the author(s) to hold copyright without restrictions and to retain publishing rights without restrictions.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
License & copyright Creative Common Licence

Creative Commons BY-NC-ND license Model summary

Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs CC BY-NC-ND This license is the most restrictive of our six main licenses, only allowing others to download your works and share them with others as long as they credit you, but they can’t change them in any way or use them commercially. (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/)

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Open access Open Access Statement

Open access based on Bethesda Statement Model summary

JUAL is an open access Journal based on the Bethesda Statement on Open Access Publishing.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Peer review Review Process for Papers

Double blind peer review Model summary

The paper submitted will be subjected to a double blind peer review.

Source ↗Publisher website ·

Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.

Profile

Publication details and official links

Publisher
Nipissing University
Country or region
Canada
Language
English
ISSN
1916-8128
Official links

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about Journal of Unschooling and Alternative Learning

What CAS zone is Journal of Unschooling and Alternative Learning in?

In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Journal of Unschooling and Alternative Learning is in Zone 4 of Education, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Education & Educational Research. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 4 of Education. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.

How long does peer review take at Journal of Unschooling and Alternative Learning?

Authors report an average review time of about 30 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.

What are the manuscript requirements of Journal of Unschooling and Alternative Learning?

According to the journal's author guidelines: Manuscript length: ≤ 7,000 words; Reference style: APA; Templates: Word; First submission: Free format: the journal's layout is not required; Suggested reviewers: Required; Highlights: Required; Graphical abstract: Required; Cover letter: Required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.

Where are the editorial board members of Journal of Unschooling and Alternative Learning based?

Of the 15 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are Canada (8), United States (5) and United Kingdom (1). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.

Which databases index Journal of Unschooling and Alternative Learning?

According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Journal of Unschooling and Alternative Learning is indexed in ESCI and DOAJ.

Is Journal of Unschooling and Alternative Learning open access, and what is the APC?

Journal of Unschooling and Alternative Learning is a diamond open-access journal (no APC). It charges no article processing charge.

Sources and updates

The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, DOAJ, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .