Journal profile · Dentistry-Oral Surgery

Journal of Stomatology Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery

ISSN 2468-7855 · Elsevier BV · Netherlands

Journal of Stomatology Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery: CAS Zone 4 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 2.32; hybrid open access; APC about USD 2,990; median 69 days to acceptance (117 articles, last 24 months); 342 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE and Scopus.

The journal's website announces a move to full open access: We are pleased to announce that from January 1, 2027, Journal of Stomatology Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery will become a fully open access journal, with all articles freely available to readers worldwide. Source ↗Publisher website ·

Impact factor2.32Latest value listed by LetPub
CAS zoneZone 4 · Medicine2025 upgraded edition, major category · 2026 Xinrui edition Zone 4 · Medicine
Review time69 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · 117 articles, last 24 months · PubMed
APCUSD 2,990Hybrid journal: charged only for open-access articles
Acceptance—No reports yet
Articles per year3422025 · OpenAlex count

Scope

Aims, scope and focus

Journal of Stomatology Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery is published by Elsevier BV and is in Zone 4 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Orthodontics and Dentofacial Orthopedics, Dental Radiography and Imaging and Facial Trauma and Fracture Management, together about 25.4% of its articles. Its main subfields are Oral Surgery. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)

The Journal of Stomatology Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery is an e-only gold open access journal that publishes peer-reviewed high-quality research papers and techniques dedicated to enhancing surgical expertise in all fields relevant to oral and maxillofacial surgery, plastic and reconstructive surgery of the face, oral surgery and medicine, dentofacial and maxillofacial orthopedics: (guest) editorials, original articles, reviews, technical notes, case reports, images, letters to the editor and guidelines. Original articles include clinical or laboratory investigations and clinical or equipment reports. Reviews include narrative reviews, systematic reviews and meta-analyses.J Stomatol Oral Maxillofac Surg is indexed in the main international databases and is accessible worldwide.The journal is the official publication of the French Society of Stomatology Maxillofacial Surgery and Oral Surgery (Societe Francaise de Stomatologie Chirurgie Maxillo-Faciale et de Chirurgie Orale - SFSCMFCO).

From the journal's Aims & Scope

Research area (LetPub): Dentistry-Oral Surgery

Editor-in-chief Narcisse ZwetyengaPublisher website

Editorial board by country: 1 in mainland China (about 3%); most named France 13, Switzerland 4, Brazil 4, Sweden 2, Türkiye 2 (34 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·

Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate

  1. Orthodontics and Dentofacial OrthopedicsDentistry9.9%
  2. Dental Radiography and ImagingDentistry8.8%
  3. Facial Trauma and Fracture ManagementMedicine6.7%
  4. Temporomandibular Joint DisordersHealth Professions6.5%
  5. Dental Implant Techniques and OutcomesDentistry6.3%
  6. Oral and Maxillofacial PathologyDentistry6.1%
  7. Cleft Lip and Palate ResearchBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology5.8%
  8. Head and Neck Cancer StudiesMedicine4.8%

Rankings & indexing

CAS ranking and database indexing

CAS Journal Ranking

CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 4
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 4
MinorDentistry, Oral Surgery & MedicineZone 4

Top journal: noReview journal: no

CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 4
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 4
MinorDentistry, Oral Surgery & MedicineZone 4

Top journal: noReview journal: not marked

CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Medicine Zone 3
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 3
MinorDentistry, Oral Surgery & MedicineZone 4

Top journal: noReview journal: no

Database indexing

SCIEScopusLetPub

International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub

Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.

Metrics

Impact metrics and publication volume

Impact

Impact factor
2.32LetPub ·
Impact factor (publisher)
2.4Publisher website ·
CiteScore 2026-06
3.4LetPub ·
CiteScore (publisher)
3.4Publisher website ·
SJR 2026-06
0.66LetPub ·
SNIP 2026-06
1.15LetPub ·
h-index
16LetPub ·
h-index
44OpenAlex ·
i10-index
475OpenAlex ·
2-year mean citedness
1.89OpenAlex ·
Self-citation rate
8.3%LetPub ·
Share of gold OA articles
13.03%LetPub ·

Volume

Articles per year
311LetPub ·

Articles by year OpenAlex count · 2,390 in total · the current year is incomplete

YearArticlesOpen accessCitations
20262856446
202534260419
2024368961,415
2023317921,869
2022261882,315
2021168641,898

Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.

Review & acceptance

Review time and acceptance

Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with PubMed · to

69 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 42 days – 111 days

Acceptance to online
median 1 days (117 articles)
Submission to online
median 70 days
Sample
117 articles with submission and acceptance dates (777 in the window); the latest was accepted on

Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".

Other sources

Submission to first decision
3 daysPublisher website ·
First decision after review
31 daysPublisher website ·
Submission to acceptance
66 daysPublisher website ·
Acceptance to publication
2 daysPublisher website ·
Peer review
Single anonymous peer reviewPublisher website

Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.

Fees & open access

APC and open-access policy

Hybrid open accessLetPub

A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.

SourceAPCFee waiverLicenseObserved
OpenAlexUSD 2,990 / EUR 2,730 / GBP 2,390 / JPY 370,850——

A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.

The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.

Submission

Article types and submission policies (journal website)

What to prepare2 items from the author guidelines
Abstract
≤ 250 words
Manuscript length
≤ 3,500 words
Publisher website · model-extracted, each line checked against the text
Article types accepted14, with length limits
  1. (guest) editorialsJ Stomatol Oral Maxillofac Surg publishes (guest) editorials, original articles, reviews, technical notes, case reports, images, letters to the editor, guidelin…Length not stated
  2. case reportno more than 250 words and 6 keywords. Case reports and Technical notes These articles should not exceed 2000 words of text, 6 tables and figures (total) and 15…main text ≤ 2,000 words
  3. case reportsJ Stomatol Oral Maxillofac Surg publishes (guest) editorials, original articles, reviews, technical notes, case reports, images, letters to the editor, guidelin…Length not stated
  4. editorialPlease adhere to the following maximum word and reference counts when submitting manuscripts. The word count excludes References, Tables, Figures captions and S…Length not stated
  5. guidelinesJ Stomatol Oral Maxillofac Surg publishes (guest) editorials, original articles, reviews, technical notes, case reports, images, letters to the editor, guidelin…Length not stated
  6. imagesJ Stomatol Oral Maxillofac Surg publishes (guest) editorials, original articles, reviews, technical notes, case reports, images, letters to the editor, guidelin…Length not stated
  7. letters to the editorJ Stomatol Oral Maxillofac Surg publishes (guest) editorials, original articles, reviews, technical notes, case reports, images, letters to the editor, guidelin…Length not stated
  8. original articlePlease adhere to the following maximum word and reference counts when submitting manuscripts. The word count excludes References, Tables, Figures captions and S…main text ≤ 3,500 words
  9. original articlesJ Stomatol Oral Maxillofac Surg publishes (guest) editorials, original articles, reviews, technical notes, case reports, images, letters to the editor, guidelin…Length not stated
  10. research paperPlease adhere to the following maximum word and reference counts when submitting manuscripts. The word count excludes References, Tables, Figures captions and S…Length not stated
  11. reviewPlease adhere to the following maximum word and reference counts when submitting manuscripts. The word count excludes References, Tables, Figures captions and S…main text ≤ 4,000 words
  12. review articlePlease adhere to the following maximum word and reference counts when submitting manuscripts. The word count excludes References, Tables, Figures captions and S…Length not stated
  13. reviewsJ Stomatol Oral Maxillofac Surg publishes (guest) editorials, original articles, reviews, technical notes, case reports, images, letters to the editor, guidelin…Length not stated
  14. technical notesJ Stomatol Oral Maxillofac Surg publishes (guest) editorials, original articles, reviews, technical notes, case reports, images, letters to the editor, guidelin…Length not stated
Publisher website
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Conflicts of interest, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Preprints
AI use Declaration of generative AI use

Authors must declare the use of generative AI tools in the manuscript preparation process upon submission of the paper.Generative AI and AI-assisted technologies (“AI tools”) have been rapidly adopted in research and scholarly publishing, offering significant benefits while requiring clear standards for responsible and transparent use.Authors preparing a manuscript for this journal may use AI tool…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Authorship Authorship

By adhering to the authorship requirements stated above, authors meet the International Committee of Medical Journal Editors (ICMJE) criteria [updated version January 2024] on authorship.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Conflicts of interest Declaration of competing interests

All authors must disclose any financial and personal relationships with other people or organizations that could inappropriately influence or bias their work. Examples of potential competing interests include:EmploymentConsultanciesStock ownershipHonorariaPaid expert testimonyPatent applications or registrationsGrants or any other fundingAffiliation with the journal as an Editor or Advisory Board …

Source ↗Publisher website ·
License & copyright License options

Authors will be offered open access user license options which will determine how you, and third parties, can reuse your open access article. We advise that you review these options and any funding body license requirements before selecting a license option.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Open access Open access

We refer you to our open access information page to learn about open access options for this journal.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Peer review Peer review

Single anonymized review process. Model summary

This journal follows a single anonymized review process. Your submission will initially be assessed by our editors. If your submission is deemed suitable, it will typically be sent to be reviewed by a minimum of two reviewers for an independent expert assessment of the scientific quality. The decision as to whether your article is accepted or rejected for publication will be made by our editors.Re…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Preprints Preprints

Preprint sharing allowed. Model summary

Preprint sharingAuthors may share preprints in line with Elsevier's article sharing policy. Sharing preprints, such as on a preprint server, will not count as prior publication.We advise you to read our policy on multiple, redundant or concurrent publication. In support of Open Science, this journal offers its authors a free preprint posting service on SSRN, Elsevier’s preprint and early research …

Source ↗Publisher website ·

Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.

Profile

Publication details and official links

Publisher
Elsevier BV
Country or region
Netherlands
Language
English
ISSN
2468-7855
Society / sponsor
French Society of Stomatology Maxillofacial Surgery and Oral Surgery
Official links

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about Journal of Stomatology Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery

What CAS zone is Journal of Stomatology Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery in?

In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Journal of Stomatology Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery is in Zone 4 of Medicine, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Dentistry, Oral Surgery & Medicine. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 4 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.

What is the impact factor of Journal of Stomatology Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery?

The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 2.32; CiteScore 3.4, h-index 44.

How long does peer review take at Journal of Stomatology Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery?

Based on the dates recorded on 117 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 69 days (interquartile range 42–111 days). Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.

What are the manuscript requirements of Journal of Stomatology Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery?

According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 250 words; Manuscript length: ≤ 3,500 words. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.

Where are the editorial board members of Journal of Stomatology Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery based?

Of the 34 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 1 (about 3%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are France (13), Switzerland (4) and Brazil (4). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.

Which databases index Journal of Stomatology Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery?

According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Journal of Stomatology Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery is indexed in SCIE and Scopus.

Is Journal of Stomatology Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery open access, and what is the APC?

Journal of Stomatology Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 2,990.

Sources and updates

The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .