Journal profile · DERMATOLOGY

Clinical Cosmetic and Investigational Dentistry

ISSN 1179-1357 · Dove Medical Press · United Kingdom

Clinical Cosmetic and Investigational Dentistry: CAS Zone 4 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 2.3 (journal website); fully open access; APC about USD 3,565; median 76 days to acceptance (103 articles, last 24 months); acceptance rate 38% (journal website); 60 articles in 2025; indexed in ESCI and Scopus.

Impact factor2.3From the journal's website, 2025 value
CAS zoneZone 4 · Medicine2025 upgraded edition, major category · 2026 Xinrui edition Zone 3 · Medicine
Review time76 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · 103 articles, last 24 months · PubMed
APCUSD 3,565Fully open access
Acceptance38%From the journal's website
Articles per year602025 · OpenAlex count

Scope

Aims, scope and focus

Clinical Cosmetic and Investigational Dentistry is published by Dove Medical Press and is in Zone 4 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Dental materials and restorations, Dental Health and Care Utilization and Oral microbiology and periodontitis research, together about 30% of its articles. Its main subfields are Orthodontics and Oral Surgery. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)

Editor-in-Chief: Dr Christopher E Okunseri Clinical, Cosmetic and Investigational Dentistry is an international, peer-reviewed, open access journal focusing on the latest clinical and experimental research in dentistry with specific emphasis on cosmetic interventions. Innovative developments in dental materials, techniques and devices that improve outcomes and patient satisfaction, and preference will be highlighted. Clinical, Cosmetic and Investigational Dentistry will no longer consider meta-analyses for publication. The following constitutes some of the topics that will be covered: Research and development into novel dental materials Development of new drugs and optimal use of existing agents in dentistry New developments in cosmetic dentistry Techniques, instrumentation and devices Surgery and orthodontics Preventive care & patient education Patient preference, acceptability, satisfaction Economic evaluations and public health policy The journal welcomes submitted papers covering original research, basic science, clinical studies, reviews & evaluations, guidelines, expert opinion and commentary, case reports and extended reports. Updated 16 July 2025

From the journal's Aims & Scope

Research area (LetPub): DERMATOLOGY

Editor-in-chief Christopher E OkunseriPublisher website

Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named United States 16, United Kingdom 8, Brazil 5, Germany 4, Switzerland 4 (51 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·

Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate

  1. Dental materials and restorationsDentistry12.5%
  2. Dental Health and Care UtilizationDentistry8.9%
  3. Oral microbiology and periodontitis researchDentistry8.6%
  4. Endodontics and Root Canal TreatmentsDentistry7.3%
  5. Dental Implant Techniques and OutcomesDentistry7%
  6. Dental Erosion and TreatmentDentistry6.6%
  7. Dental Radiography and ImagingDentistry6.4%
  8. Dental Research and COVID-19Dentistry5.8%

Rankings & indexing

CAS ranking and database indexing

CAS Journal Ranking

CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 4
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 4
MinorDentistry, Oral Surgery & MedicineZone 4

Top journal: noReview journal: no

CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 3
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 3
MinorDentistry, Oral Surgery & MedicineZone 3

Top journal: noReview journal: not marked

CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

JCR / CiteScore quartiles on the journal's website

Publisher-reported: JCR figures are Clarivate's and CiteScore figures Scopus's to confirm; both are a different system from the CAS zones.Publisher website

Database indexing

ESCIScopusDOAJLetPub

International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub

Indexing the journal's website claims

SJR, CiteScore, Impact FactorPublisher website

As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.

Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.

Metrics

Impact metrics and publication volume

Impact

Impact factor (publisher) 2025
2.3Publisher website ·
5-year impact factor (publisher)
3Publisher website ·
CiteScore 2026-06
3LetPub ·
CiteScore (publisher) 2025
1.14Publisher website ·
SJR 2026-06
0.5LetPub ·
SNIP 2026-06
1.14LetPub ·
h-index
50OpenAlex ·
i10-index
261OpenAlex ·
2-year mean citedness
1.89OpenAlex ·
Self-citation rate
5.6%LetPub ·
Share of gold OA articles
99.27%LetPub ·

Volume

Articles per year
59LetPub ·
Downloads per year (publisher)
104,953Publisher website ·

Articles by year OpenAlex count · 600 in total · the current year is incomplete

YearArticlesOpen accessCitations
202652524
20256060115
20245252191
20233636292
20223636473
20216060927

Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.

Review & acceptance

Review time and acceptance

Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with PubMed · to

76 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 60 days – 99 days

Acceptance to online
median 13 days (103 articles)
Submission to online
median 98 days
Sample
103 articles with submission and acceptance dates (123 in the window); the latest was accepted on

Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".

Other sources

Average review time (community reports)
about 16 weeksLetPub ·
Acceptance rate (publisher)
38%Publisher website ·
Desk decision
47 daysPublisher website ·
Submission to publication (journal-reported)
about 16 weeksDOAJ ·
Peer review
Single anonymous peer reviewDOAJ

Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.

Fees & open access

APC and open-access policy

Fully open accessDOAJ

Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).

SourceAPCFee waiverLicenseObserved
DOAJUSD 3,565YesCC BY, CC BY-NC
OpenAlexUSD 2,320——
LetPubUSD 2,990Yes—

The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.

Submission

Article types and submission policies (journal website)

Article types accepted2
  1. case reportAuthors may use these detailed descriptions of different paper types accepted by Dove Medical Press (case reports, reviews, etc) to decide how to label their pa…Length not stated
  2. reviewAuthors may use these detailed descriptions of different paper types accepted by Dove Medical Press (case reports, reviews, etc) to decide how to label their pa…Length not stated
Publisher website
Policy excerpts from the journal's websitePlagiarism
Plagiarism

All submitted manuscripts are checked for plagiarism using Crossref Similarity Check (powered by iThenticate). Model summary

Please be aware that Dove Medical Press checks ALL submitted manuscripts for plagiarism. We use Crossref Similarity Check (powered by iThenticate).

Source ↗Publisher website ·

Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.

Profile

Publication details and official links

Publisher
Dove Medical Press
Country or region
United Kingdom
Language
English
ISSN
1179-1357
Official links

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about Clinical Cosmetic and Investigational Dentistry

What CAS zone is Clinical Cosmetic and Investigational Dentistry in?

In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Clinical Cosmetic and Investigational Dentistry is in Zone 4 of Medicine, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Dentistry, Oral Surgery & Medicine. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 3 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.

What is the impact factor of Clinical Cosmetic and Investigational Dentistry?

The journal's website gives an impact factor of 2.3 (2025); this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 3, h-index 50.

How long does peer review take at Clinical Cosmetic and Investigational Dentistry?

Based on the dates recorded on 103 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 76 days (interquartile range 60–99 days); authors report an average review time of about 16 weeks; the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 38%. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.

Where are the editorial board members of Clinical Cosmetic and Investigational Dentistry based?

Of the 51 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (16), United Kingdom (8) and Brazil (5). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.

Which databases index Clinical Cosmetic and Investigational Dentistry?

According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Clinical Cosmetic and Investigational Dentistry is indexed in ESCI, Scopus and DOAJ.

Is Clinical Cosmetic and Investigational Dentistry open access, and what is the APC?

Clinical Cosmetic and Investigational Dentistry is a fully open-access journal. APC about USD 3,565.

Sources and updates

The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex, DOAJ; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .