Journal profile · Surgery

International Journal of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery

ISSN 0901-5027 · eISSN 1399-0020 · Churchill Livingstone · SCOTLAND · Bimonthly · Founded 1986

International Journal of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery: CAS Zone 3 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 2.37; hybrid open access; APC about USD 4,160; median 259 days to acceptance (127 articles, last 24 months); community-reported acceptance: about 50%; 1,318 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE and Scopus.

Impact factor2.37Latest value listed by LetPub
CAS zoneZone 3 · Medicine2025 upgraded edition, major category · 2026 Xinrui edition Zone 3 · Medicine
Review time259 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · 127 articles, last 24 months · PubMed
APCUSD 4,160Hybrid journal: charged only for open-access articles
Acceptanceabout 50%Community average
Articles per year1,3182025 · OpenAlex count

Scope

Aims, scope and focus

International Journal of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery is published by Churchill Livingstone and is in Zone 3 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Facial Trauma and Fracture Management, Cleft Lip and Palate Research and Oral and Maxillofacial Pathology, together about 23.4% of its articles. Its main subfields are Oral Surgery. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)

The International Journal of Oral & Maxillofacial Surgery is one of the leading journals in oral and maxillofacial surgery in the world. The Journal publishes papers of the highest scientific merit and widest possible scope on work in oral and maxillofacial surgery and supporting specialties.The Journal is divided into sections, ensuring every aspect of oral and maxillofacial surgery is covered fully through a range of invited review articles, leading clinical and research articles, technical notes, abstracts, case reports and others. The sections include:• Congenital and craniofacial deformities • Orthognathic Surgery/Aesthetic facial surgery • Trauma • TMJ disorders • Head and neck oncology • Reconstructive surgery • Implantology/Dentoalveolar surgery • Clinical Pathology • Oral Medicine • Research and emerging technologiesSpeedy reviewing and electronic processing means that articles are published as rapidly as possible. Accepted articles are published rapidly online first, and the web site,www.ijoms.com is an important resource for the field.

From the journal's Aims & Scope

Research area (LetPub): Surgery

Editor-in-chief Nabil SammanPublisher website

Editorial board by country: 3 in mainland China (about 14%); most named United States 4, Germany 4, Mainland China 3, Hong Kong, China 3, Malaysia 2 (22 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·

Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate

  1. Facial Trauma and Fracture ManagementMedicine8.4%
  2. Cleft Lip and Palate ResearchBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology7.7%
  3. Oral and Maxillofacial PathologyDentistry7.3%
  4. Craniofacial Disorders and TreatmentsBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology6.8%
  5. Dental Implant Techniques and OutcomesDentistry6.8%
  6. Dental Radiography and ImagingDentistry6.6%
  7. Reconstructive Surgery and Microvascular TechniquesMedicine6%
  8. Temporomandibular Joint DisordersHealth Professions5.9%

Rankings & indexing

CAS ranking and database indexing

CAS Journal Ranking

CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 3
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 3
MinorDentistry, Oral Surgery & MedicineZone 3
MinorSurgeryZone 3

Top journal: noReview journal: no

CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 3
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 3
MinorDentistry, Oral Surgery & MedicineZone 3
MinorSurgeryZone 3

Top journal: noReview journal: not marked

CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Medicine Zone 3
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 3
MinorDentistry, Oral Surgery & MedicineZone 3
MinorSurgeryZone 3

Top journal: noReview journal: no

Database indexing

SCIEScopusLetPub

International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub

Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.

Metrics

Impact metrics and publication volume

Impact

Impact factor
2.37LetPub ·
Impact factor (publisher)
2.5Publisher website ·
CiteScore 2026-06
5.3LetPub ·
CiteScore (publisher)
5.3Publisher website ·
SJR 2026-06
0.79LetPub ·
SNIP 2026-06
1.53LetPub ·
h-index
90LetPub ·
h-index
152OpenAlex ·
i10-index
4,981OpenAlex ·
2-year mean citedness
0.62OpenAlex ·
Self-citation rate
4%LetPub ·
Share of gold OA articles
18.18%LetPub ·

Volume

Articles per year
135LetPub ·

Articles by year OpenAlex count · 18,381 in total · the current year is incomplete

YearArticlesOpen accessCitations
20262687945
20251,31870377
202421450697
2023746273951
2022273522,286
2021247712,937

Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.

Review & acceptance

Review time and acceptance

Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with PubMed · to

259 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 179 days – 318 days

Acceptance to online
median 13 days (127 articles)
Submission to online
median 272 days
Sample
127 articles with submission and acceptance dates (527 in the window); the latest was accepted on

Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".

Other sources

Average review time (community reports)
about 6 monthsLetPub ·
Average acceptance (community reports)
50%LetPub ·
Submission to acceptance
249 daysPublisher website ·

Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.

Fees & open access

APC and open-access policy

Hybrid open accessLetPub

A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.

SourceAPCFee waiverLicenseObserved
OpenAlexUSD 4,160 / EUR 3,890 / GBP 3,330 / JPY 515,960——
Publisher websiteUSD 4,220——

A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.

Other charges and waivers (author guidelines)

Page charges
USD 3,300

The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.

Submission

Article types and submission policies (journal website)

What to prepare1 items from the author guidelines
Cover letter
Required
Publisher website · model-extracted, each line checked against the text
Article types accepted16, with length limits
  1. animal studyAnimal Study: no more than 3000 words and 40 references.Length not stated
  2. book reviewsbook reviewsLength not stated
  3. case reportThe following contributions will be accepted for publication. Please take careful note of the maximum length where applicable. Overlength articles will be retur…main text ≤ 1,500 words
  4. case reportscase reports: no more than 1500 words, 10 references and 2 figuresLength not stated
  5. clinical papersclinical papers: no more than 3000 words and 30 referencesLength not stated
  6. editorialThe following contributions will be accepted for publication. Please take careful note of the maximum length where applicable. Overlength articles will be retur…Length not stated
  7. editorialseditorials (only if commissioned by the editor)Length not stated
  8. general announcementsgeneral announcements.Length not stated
  9. iaoms announcementsIAOMS announcementsLength not stated
  10. letters to the editorletters to the editor: please see detailed guidelines provided at the end of the main guide for authorsLength not stated
  11. research papermore than 3000 words and 30 references research papers: no more than 3000 words and 40 references review papers: no limit on length or numbmain text ≤ 3,000 words
  12. research papersresearch papers: no more than 3000 words and 40 referencesLength not stated
  13. reviewThe following contributions will be accepted for publication. Please take careful note of the maximum length where applicable. Overlength articles will be retur…main text ≤ 3,000 words
  14. review papersreview papers: no limit on length or number of referencesLength not stated
  15. technical noteThe following contributions will be accepted for publication. Please take careful note of the maximum length where applicable. Overlength articles will be retur…main text ≤ 1,500 words
  16. technical notestechnical notes (surgical techniques, new instruments, technical innovations): no more than 1500 words, 10 references and 2 figuresLength not stated
Publisher website
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Conflicts of interest, Data availability, Publication ethics, Open access, Peer review
AI use Declaration of generative AI in scientific writing

The below guidance only refers to the writing process, and not to the use of AI tools to analyse and draw insights from data as part of the research process. Where authors use generative artificial intelligence (AI) and AI-assisted technologies in the writing process, authors should only use these technologies to improve readability and language. Applying the technology should be done with human o…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Authorship Authorship

No authorship changes after acceptance. Model summary

All authors should have made substantial contributions to all of the following: (1) the conception and design of the study, or acquisition of data, or analysis and interpretation of data (2) drafting the article or revising it critically for important intellectual content (3) final approval of the version to be submitted. Upon submission, you will be required to complete and upload the Author cont…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Conflicts of interest Conflict of interest

At the end of the main text, all authors must disclose any financial and personal relationships with other people or organisations that could inappropriately influence (bias) their work. Examples of potential conflicts of interest include employment, consultancies, stock ownership, honoraria, paid expert testimony, patent applications/registrations, and grants or other funding. If an author has no…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Data availability

Supports Mendeley Data deposition. Model summary

This journal supports Mendeley Data, enabling you to deposit any research data (including raw and processed data, video, code, software, algorithms, protocols, and methods) associated with your manuscript in a free-to-use, open access repository.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Publication ethics

Original, unpublished work not under simultaneous submission. Model summary

A paper is accepted for publication on the understanding that it has not been submitted simultaneously to another journal, has been read and approved by all authors, and that the work has not been published before.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Open access Open access

Open access option available after acceptance. Model summary

This journal offers you the option of making your article freely available to all via the ScienceDirect platform. To prevent any conflict of interest, you can only make this choice after receiving notification that your article has been accepted for publication. The fee of $3,300 excludes taxes and other potential author fees such as color charges. In some cases, institutions and funding bodies ha…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Peer review

STROBE guidelines for observational/case cohort studies and case series. Model summary

Observational or Case Cohort Studies, as well as Case Series must be presented in conformance with STROBE guidelines

Source ↗Publisher website ·

Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.

Profile

Publication details and official links

Publisher
Churchill Livingstone
Country or region
SCOTLAND
Language
English
Frequency
Bimonthly
Founded
1986
ISSN
0901-5027
Electronic ISSN
1399-0020
Official links

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about International Journal of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery

What CAS zone is International Journal of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery in?

In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, International Journal of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery is in Zone 3 of Medicine, and in Zone 3 of the minor category Dentistry, Oral Surgery & Medicine / Surgery. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 3 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.

What is the impact factor of International Journal of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery?

The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 2.37; CiteScore 5.3, h-index 152.

How long does peer review take at International Journal of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery?

Based on the dates recorded on 127 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 259 days (interquartile range 179–318 days); authors report an average review time of about 6 months; the community-reported acceptance is “about 50%”. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.

Where are the editorial board members of International Journal of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery based?

Of the 22 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 3 (about 14%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (4), Germany (4) and Mainland China (3). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.

Which databases index International Journal of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery?

According to LetPub and DOAJ records, International Journal of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery is indexed in SCIE and Scopus.

Is International Journal of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery open access, and what is the APC?

International Journal of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 4,160.

Sources and updates

The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .