Journal profile · Engineering, Biomedical

Journal of NeuroEngineering and Rehabilitation

ISSN 1743-0003 · BioMed Central · ENGLAND · Monthly · Founded 2004

Journal of NeuroEngineering and Rehabilitation: CAS Zone 1 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition, Top journal); impact factor 6; fully open access; APC about USD 4,190; median 184 days to acceptance (117 articles, last 24 months); community-reported acceptance: fairly easy; 316 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE and Scopus.

Impact factor6Latest value listed by LetPub
CAS zoneZone 1 · Medicine2025 upgraded edition, major category · Top journal · 2026 Xinrui edition Zone 2 · Medicine
Review time184 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · 117 articles, last 24 months · Crossref
APCUSD 4,190Fully open access
AcceptanceFairly easyCommunity average
Articles per year3162025 · OpenAlex count

Scope

Aims, scope and focus

Journal of NeuroEngineering and Rehabilitation is published by BioMed Central and is in Zone 1 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition, Top journal). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Stroke Rehabilitation and Recovery, Balance, Gait, and Falls Prevention and Muscle activation and electromyography studies, together about 43.3% of its articles. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)

Journal of NeuroEngineering and Rehabilitation considers manuscripts on all aspects of research resulting from cross-fertilization of the fields of neuroscience, biomedical engineering, and physical medicine and rehabilitation. JNER provides a forum for researchers and clinicians interested in understanding the way neuroscience and biomedical engineering are continuing to reshape physical medicine, rehabilitation, and human movement augmentation. JNER hosts the introduction of new methods and the discussion of their clinical implications, and offers an opportunity to publish articles relevant to the intersection of these three fields.

From the journal's Aims & Scope

Research area (LetPub): Engineering, Biomedical

Editor-in-chief Mario MantoPublisher website

Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate

  1. Stroke Rehabilitation and RecoveryMedicine18.9%
  2. Balance, Gait, and Falls PreventionHealth Professions13.2%
  3. Muscle activation and electromyography studiesEngineering11.2%
  4. Prosthetics and Rehabilitation RoboticsEngineering10.3%
  5. Motor Control and AdaptationNeuroscience7.6%
  6. EEG and Brain-Computer InterfacesNeuroscience4.8%
  7. Transcranial Magnetic Stimulation StudiesNeuroscience4.6%
  8. Cerebral Palsy and Movement DisordersMedicine4.5%

Rankings & indexing

CAS ranking and database indexing

CAS Journal Ranking

CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 1
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 1
MinorRehabilitationZone 1
MinorEngineering, BiomedicalZone 2
MinorNeurosciencesZone 2

Top journal: yesReview journal: no

CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 2
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 2
MinorEngineering, BiomedicalZone 2
MinorNeurosciencesZone 2
MinorRehabilitationZone 1

Top journal: yesReview journal: not marked

CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Medicine Zone 2
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 2
MinorRehabilitationZone 1
MinorEngineering, BiomedicalZone 2
MinorNeurosciencesZone 2

Top journal: noReview journal: no

Database indexing

SCIEScopusDOAJLetPub

International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub

Indexing the journal's website claims

MEDLINEEmbaseCASPublisher website

Other: Google Scholar, ProQuest, Dimensions, CNKI, Baidu, Naver, OCLC, Portico, CLOCKSS

As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.

Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.

Metrics

Impact metrics and publication volume

Impact

Impact factor
6LetPub ·
Impact factor (publisher) 2025
6Publisher website ·
5-year impact factor (publisher) 2025
6.9Publisher website ·
CiteScore 2026-06
8.6LetPub ·
SJR 2026-06
1.2LetPub ·
SNIP 2026-06
1.93LetPub ·
h-index
75LetPub ·
h-index
163OpenAlex ·
i10-index
1,938OpenAlex ·
2-year mean citedness
6.04OpenAlex ·
Self-citation rate
5%LetPub ·
Share of gold OA articles
100%LetPub ·

Volume

Articles per year
306LetPub ·
Downloads per year (publisher) 2025
3,600,000Publisher website ·

Articles by year OpenAlex count · 2,866 in total · the current year is incomplete

YearArticlesOpen accessCitations
2026312312124
20253163161,910
20242342343,172
20231701703,883
20221461464,549
20211861868,072

Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.

Review & acceptance

Review time and acceptance

Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with Crossref · to

184 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 120 days – 261 days

Acceptance to online
median 17 days (117 articles)
Submission to online
median 211 days
Sample
117 articles with submission and acceptance dates (686 in the window); the latest was accepted on

Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".

Other sources

Average review time (community reports)
about 24 monthsLetPub ·
Average acceptance (community reports)
Fairly easyLetPub ·
Submission to first decision
7 daysPublisher website ·
Submission to publication (journal-reported)
about 32 weeksDOAJ ·
Peer review
Single anonymous peer reviewDOAJ

Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.

Fees & open access

APC and open-access policy

Fully open accessDOAJ

Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).

SourceAPCFee waiverLicenseObserved
DOAJEUR 3,290 / USD 4,190 / GBP 2,890YesCC BY, CC BY-NC-ND
OpenAlexUSD 3,990 / EUR 3,190 / GBP 2,790——
LetPubGBP 2,590 / USD 3,690 / EUR 2,990Yes—
Publisher websiteGBP 2,890 / USD 4,190 / EUR 3,290——

The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.

Submission

Article types and submission policies (journal website)

Open calls for papers2, by deadline
  1. International Conference on Rehabilitation Robotics (ICORR) 2027Deadline
  2. Engineering TMS-Based Neurorehabilitation: Innovations for Functional Restoration in Neurological DisordersDeadline
Publisher website
What to prepare2 items from the author guidelines
Reference style
Numbered, in order of citation
Suggested reviewers
Optional
Publisher website · model-extracted, each line checked against the text
Article types accepted5
  1. brief reportResearch articles Comment Methodology Reviews Brief ReportLength not stated
  2. commentResearch articles Comment Methodology Reviews Brief ReportLength not stated
  3. methodologyResearch articles Comment Methodology Reviews Brief ReportLength not stated
  4. research articlesResearch articles Comment Methodology Reviews Brief ReportLength not stated
  5. reviewsResearch articles Comment Methodology Reviews Brief ReportLength not stated
Publisher website
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAuthorship, Data availability, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review
Authorship

Manuscripts may only be submitted by an author, not a third party. Model summary

Please note that a manuscript can only be submitted by an author of the manuscript and may not be submitted by a third party.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Data availability Formatting the 'Availability of data and materials' section of your manuscript

Data availability: datasets should be deposited in public repositories or presented in the paper or supporting files, in machine-readable format; an 'Availability of data and materials' section is required. Model summary

The following format for the 'Availability of data and materials section of your manuscript should be used:

Source ↗Publisher website ·
License & copyright Licensing and copyright

Open access articles published under CC BY-NC-ND or CC BY licences; authors retain copyright. Model summary

Creative Commons licences Open access articles in Springer Nature journals are published under Creative Commons licences. These provide an industry-standard framework to support easy re-use of open access material. Under Creative Commons licences, authors retain copyright of their articles. Journal of NeuroEngineering and Rehabilitation articles are published open access under a CC BY-NC-ND (Creat…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Open access Benefits of open access

Publishing open access (OA) offers a number of benefits, including greater reach and readership for your work: Cited more 1.6x more citations of OA articles than non-OA articles across all subjects Downloaded more 4x more downloads of OA articles than non-OA articles Greater impact 2.5x more Altmetric attention. OA articles attracted 1.9x more news mentions and 1.2x more policy mentions Open acces…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Peer review Peer review policy

Peer review is the process used to evaluate the quality of a manuscript before publication. Independent researchers in the relevant field assess submitted manuscripts to check their validity and robustness. Their feedback guides editors in making publication decisions. Typically, two or more experts evaluate each manuscript based on three main criteria: scientific robustness: is the research metho…

Source ↗Publisher website ·

Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.

Profile

Publication details and official links

Publisher
BioMed Central
Country or region
ENGLAND
Language
English
Frequency
Monthly
Founded
2004
ISSN
1743-0003
Official links

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about Journal of NeuroEngineering and Rehabilitation

What CAS zone is Journal of NeuroEngineering and Rehabilitation in?

In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Journal of NeuroEngineering and Rehabilitation is in Zone 1 of Medicine, and in Zone 1 of the minor category Rehabilitation / Engineering, Biomedical / Neurosciences; it is a Top journal. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 2 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.

What is the impact factor of Journal of NeuroEngineering and Rehabilitation?

The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 6; CiteScore 8.6, h-index 163.

How long does peer review take at Journal of NeuroEngineering and Rehabilitation?

Based on the dates recorded on 117 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 184 days (interquartile range 120–261 days); authors report an average review time of about 24 months; the community-reported acceptance is “Fairly easy”. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.

What are the manuscript requirements of Journal of NeuroEngineering and Rehabilitation?

According to the journal's author guidelines: Reference style: Numbered, in order of citation; Suggested reviewers: Optional. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.

Which databases index Journal of NeuroEngineering and Rehabilitation?

According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Journal of NeuroEngineering and Rehabilitation is indexed in SCIE, Scopus and DOAJ. The journal's website also lists MEDLINE, Embase and CAS; that list has not been checked against each database.

Is Journal of NeuroEngineering and Rehabilitation open access, and what is the APC?

Journal of NeuroEngineering and Rehabilitation is a fully open-access journal. APC about USD 4,190.

Sources and updates

The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, DOAJ, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .