Journal profile · Psychiatry
Psychiatry and Clinical Neurosciences
ISSN 1323-1316 · eISSN 1440-1819 · Wiley-Blackwell Publishing Ltd · JAPAN · Bimonthly · Founded 1995
Psychiatry and Clinical Neurosciences: CAS Zone 2 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 5.91; hybrid open access; APC about USD 3,240; median 122 days to acceptance (81 articles, last 24 months); community-reported acceptance: fairly easy; 180 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Psychiatry and Clinical Neurosciences is published by Wiley-Blackwell Publishing Ltd and is in Zone 2 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Epilepsy research and treatment, Schizophrenia research and treatment and Neuroscience and Neuropharmacology Research, together about 28.3% of its articles. Its main subfields are Psychiatry and Mental health. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
PCN is published 12 online issues a year by JSPN in all fields of psychiatry and related clinical or translational neurosciences in the following categories: Review Articles, Regular Articles, Letters to the Editor and Research Letters. All manuscripts will be peer reviewed by anonymous reviewers, an Editorial Board Member and the Editor. Manuscripts are accepted for publication according to their quality, originality and significance to our readership on the understanding that they have not been published or submitted for publication elsewhere and have been approved by each author. Manuscripts can be submitted online.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Psychiatry
Editor-in-chief Tadafumi KatoPublisher website
Editorial board by country: 1 in mainland China (about 2%); most named Japan 34, United States 2, United Kingdom 2, Germany 2, Italy 2 (52 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Epilepsy research and treatmentMedicine11.1%
- Schizophrenia research and treatmentMedicine9.6%
- Neuroscience and Neuropharmacology ResearchNeuroscience7.6%
- Attention Deficit Hyperactivity DisorderMedicine5.8%
- Sleep and Wakefulness ResearchNeuroscience4.8%
- Bipolar Disorder and TreatmentMedicine4.5%
- Functional Brain Connectivity StudiesNeuroscience4.3%
- Treatment of Major DepressionMedicine4.1%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 2
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Clinical Neurology | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Neurosciences | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Psychiatry | Zone 2 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 2
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Clinical Neurology | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Neurosciences | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Psychiatry | Zone 2 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Medicine Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Clinical Neurology | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Neurosciences | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Psychiatry | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
Database indexing
SCIEScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
MEDLINEPubMedEmbasePsycINFOCASCurrent ContentsPublisher website
Other: EBSCO, ProQuest
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor
- 5.91LetPub ·
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 5.9Publisher website ·
- Impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 5.9Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 9.1LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher)
- 9.1Publisher website ·
- CiteScore (publisher) 2025
- 9.1Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 1.71LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 1.55LetPub ·
- h-index
- 66LetPub ·
- h-index
- 122OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 2,743OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 2.59OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 5.1%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 55.56%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 88LetPub ·
- Articles per year (publisher) 2025
- 138Publisher website ·
- Downloads per year (publisher) 2025
- 1,118,541Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 7,688 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 132 | 75 | 43 |
| 2025 | 180 | 115 | 430 |
| 2024 | 137 | 113 | 691 |
| 2023 | 157 | 138 | 1,276 |
| 2022 | 193 | 81 | 2,205 |
| 2021 | 136 | 79 | 1,090 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with Crossref · to
122 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 66 days – 155 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 18 days (82 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 139 days
- Sample
- 81 articles with submission and acceptance dates (322 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Average review time (community reports)
- 6–12 weeksLetPub ·
- Average acceptance (community reports)
- Fairly easyLetPub ·
- Acceptance rate (publisher)
- 14%Publisher website ·
- Acceptance rate (publisher) 2025
- 14%Publisher website ·
- Submission to first decision
- 3 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to first decision 2025
- 3 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to acceptance 2025
- 110 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication 2025
- 22 daysPublisher website ·
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAlex | USD 3,240 / EUR 2,750 / GBP 2,430 | — | — |
A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare4 items from the author guidelines
- Keywords
- ≤ 5
- Manuscript length
- ≤ 7,500 words
- First submission
- Free format: the journal's layout is not required
- Graphical abstract
- Optional
Article types accepted8, with length limits
- commentaryArticle Type Description Word Limit Abstract / Structure Keywords Other Requirements Review Article Important information on a topic of general interest to psyc…Length not stated
- editorialThe Editor will ask authors of a manuscript to revise it, if it is judged to require alterations through its review process. The Editor reserves the right to re…Length not stated
- guidelineGuideline Articles providing evidence-based recommendations to guide research, clinical practice or policy. Consulting with editor. Yes250 words, unstructured (…abstract ≤ 250 words
- letterArticle Type Description Word Limit Abstract / Structure Keywords Other Requirements Review Article Important information on a topic of general interest to psyc…Length not stated
- letter to the editorArticle Type Description Word Limit Abstract / Structure Keywords Other Requirements Review Article Important information on a topic of general interest to psyc…Length not stated
- original researchArticle Type Description Word Limit Abstract / Structure Keywords Other Requirements Review Article Important information on a topic of general interest to psyc…Length not stated
- regular articleArticle Type Description Word Limit Abstract / Structure Keywords Other Requirements Review Article Important information on a topic of general interest to psyc…Length not stated
- review articleArticle Type Description Word Limit Abstract / Structure Keywords Other Requirements Review Article Important information on a topic of general interest to psyc…Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Publication ethics, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Preprints, Self-archiving
- AI use Artificial Intelligence Generated Content
Artificial Intelligence Generated Content (AIGC) tools—such as ChatGPT and others based on large language models (LLMs)—cannot be considered capable of initiating an original piece of research without direction by human authors. They also cannot be accountable for a published work or for research design, which is a generally held requirement of authorship, nor do they have legal standing or the ab…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Publication ethics Ethical Considerations
The journal is committed to integrity in scientific research and recognizes the importance of maintaining the highest ethical standards.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright 3. COPYRIGHT, LICENSING AND OPEN ACCESS
If your paper is accepted, the author identified as the formal corresponding author for the paper will receive an email prompting them to login into Author Services; where via the Wiley Author Licensing Service (WALS) they will be able to complete the license agreement on behalf of all authors on the paper.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access 3. COPYRIGHT, LICENSING AND OPEN ACCESS
If your paper is accepted, the author identified as the formal corresponding author for the paper will receive an email prompting them to login into Author Services; where via the Wiley Author Licensing Service (WALS) they will be able to complete the license agreement on behalf of all authors on the paper.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review The Neuroscience Peer Review Consortium
Member of Neuroscience Peer Review Consortium (NPRC); forwarded reviews accepted. Model summary
PCN is a member of the Neuroscience Peer Review Consortium (NPRC). The NPRC has been formed to reduce the time expended and, in particular, the duplication of effort by, and associated burden on reviewers involved in the peer review of original neuroscience research papers. It is an alliance of neuroscience journals that have agreed to accept manuscript reviews from other Consortium journals. By r…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints Preprint policy
Preprint policy: journal reviews preprint manuscripts; authors may post submitted version to preprint server at any time. Model summary
This journal is willing to review manuscripts previously available as preprints. Authors may also post the submitted version of a manuscript to a preprint server at any time. Authors are requested to update any pre-publication versions with a link to the final published article.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Self-archiving Self-Archiving Definitions and Policies
Note that the journal’s standard copyright agreement allows for self-archiving of different versions of the article under specific conditions.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Wiley-Blackwell Publishing Ltd
- Country or region
- JAPAN
- Language
- English
- Frequency
- Bimonthly
- Founded
- 1995
- ISSN
- 1323-1316
- Electronic ISSN
- 1440-1819
- Society / sponsor
- Japanese Society of Psychiatry and Neurology
- Latest issue on the website
- Volume 80, Issue 9 (September 2026)
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Submission system ↗LetPub
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Psychiatry and Clinical Neurosciences
What CAS zone is Psychiatry and Clinical Neurosciences in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Psychiatry and Clinical Neurosciences is in Zone 2 of Medicine, and in Zone 2 of the minor category Clinical Neurology / Neurosciences / Psychiatry. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 2 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Psychiatry and Clinical Neurosciences?
The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 5.91; CiteScore 9.1, h-index 122.
How long does peer review take at Psychiatry and Clinical Neurosciences?
Based on the dates recorded on 81 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 122 days (interquartile range 66–155 days); authors report an average review time of 6–12 weeks; the community-reported acceptance is “Fairly easy”; the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 14% (2025). Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Psychiatry and Clinical Neurosciences?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Keywords: ≤ 5; Manuscript length: ≤ 7,500 words; First submission: Free format: the journal's layout is not required; Graphical abstract: Optional. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Psychiatry and Clinical Neurosciences based?
Of the 52 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 1 (about 2%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are Japan (34), United States (2) and United Kingdom (2). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Psychiatry and Clinical Neurosciences?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Psychiatry and Clinical Neurosciences is indexed in SCIE and Scopus. The journal's website also lists MEDLINE, PubMed, Embase, PsycINFO, CAS and Current Contents; that list has not been checked against each database.
Is Psychiatry and Clinical Neurosciences open access, and what is the APC?
Psychiatry and Clinical Neurosciences is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 3,240.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .