Journal profile · EDUCATION & EDUCATIONAL RESEARCH
Journal of Education-US
ISSN 0022-0574 · eISSN 2515-5741 · Boston University, School of Education
Journal of Education-US: CAS Zone 4 · Education (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 1.8 (journal website); hybrid open access; APC about USD 3,650; review about 61 days (first decision after review, publisher); acceptance rate 7.4% (journal website); 49 articles in 2025; indexed in ESCI and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Journal of Education-US is published by Boston University, School of Education and is in Zone 4 of Education in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Human auditory perception and evaluation, Educational Robotics and Engineering and Education Systems and Policy, together about 23% of its articles. Its main subfields are Education. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
The oldest educational publication in the country, the Journal of Education’s mission is to disseminate knowledge that informs practice in PK-12, higher, and professional education. A refereed publication, the Journal offers three issues each calendar year.. The Journal publishes original research reports, explications of theory, and reflections. This journal is a member of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE). View full journal description This journal is a member of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE).
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): EDUCATION & EDUCATIONAL RESEARCH
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named United States 66, Australia 2, Canada 1, Türkiye 1, Cyprus 1 (71 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Human auditory perception and evaluationEngineering10.2%
- Educational Robotics and EngineeringComputer Science6.5%
- Education Systems and PolicySocial Sciences6.3%
- Educational Leadership and PracticesSocial Sciences6.1%
- Diverse Education Studies and ReformsSocial Sciences5.1%
- Teacher Education and Leadership StudiesSocial Sciences4.8%
- Diverse Scientific and Economic StudiesEconomics, Econometrics and Finance4.7%
- Education and Critical Thinking DevelopmentSocial Sciences4.6%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Education Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Education | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Education & Educational Research | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Education Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Education | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Education & Educational Research | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
Database indexing
ESCIScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 1.8Publisher website ·
- 5-year impact factor (publisher)
- 1.5Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 4.1LetPub ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.54LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 1.1LetPub ·
- h-index
- 74OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 522OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 1.11OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 5.6%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 21.69%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 47LetPub ·
- Articles per year (publisher)
- 3Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 47,768 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 26 | 7 | 4 |
| 2025 | 49 | 15 | 55 |
| 2024 | 14 | 8 | 40 |
| 2023 | 22 | 6 | 204 |
| 2022 | 56 | 10 | 344 |
| 2021 | 114 | 9 | 1,045 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with PubMed · to
Too few articlesOnly 1 articles from the last 24 months carry both submission and acceptance dates, too few for a median
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Figures by source
- Acceptance rate (publisher)
- 7.4%Publisher website ·
- Submission to first decision
- 5 daysPublisher website ·
- First decision after review
- 61 daysPublisher website ·
- Peer review
- Double-anonymous peer reviewPublisher website · model-extracted
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAlex | USD 3,650 / GBP 2,676 | — | — |
A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare3 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 100 words
- Reference style
- APA
- First submission
- Free format: the journal's layout is not required
Article types accepted2
- book reviewTwo types of manuscripts will be considered: a) Reports of Original Research and b) Explications of Theory. Please note, the Journal is no longer accepting unso…Length not stated
- original researchTwo types of manuscripts will be considered: a) Reports of Original Research and b) Explications of Theory. Please note, the Journal is no longer accepting unso…Length not stated
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Boston University, School of Education
- ISSN
- 0022-0574
- Electronic ISSN
- 2515-5741
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Journal of Education-US
What CAS zone is Journal of Education-US in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Journal of Education-US is in Zone 4 of Education, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Education & Educational Research. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 4 of Education. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Journal of Education-US?
The journal's website gives an impact factor of 1.8; this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 4.1, h-index 74.
How long does peer review take at Journal of Education-US?
The publisher reports about 61 days (first decision after review); the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 7.4%. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Journal of Education-US?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 100 words; Reference style: APA; First submission: Free format: the journal's layout is not required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Journal of Education-US based?
Of the 71 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (66), Australia (2) and Canada (1). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Journal of Education-US?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Journal of Education-US is indexed in ESCI and Scopus.
Is Journal of Education-US open access, and what is the APC?
Journal of Education-US is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 3,650.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .