Journal profile · EDUCATION & EDUCATIONAL RESEARCH

Industry and Higher Education

ISSN 0950-4222 · eISSN 2043-6858 · SAGE

Industry and Higher Education: CAS Zone 4 · Education (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 1.8 (journal website); hybrid open access; APC about USD 3,650; review about 254 days (submission to acceptance, publisher); acceptance rate 56.9% (journal website); 67 articles in 2025; indexed in ESCI and Scopus.

Impact factor1.8From the journal's website, latest value
CAS zoneZone 4 · Education2025 upgraded edition, major category · 2026 Xinrui edition Zone 3 · Education
Review time254 daysPublisher-reported, submission to acceptance
APCUSD 3,650Hybrid journal: charged only for open-access articles
Acceptance56.9%From the journal's website
Articles per year672025 · OpenAlex count

Scope

Aims, scope and focus

Industry and Higher Education is published by SAGE and is in Zone 4 of Education in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Entrepreneurship Studies and Influences, Higher Education and Employability and Innovation and Knowledge Management, together about 39.6% of its articles. Its main subfields are Management of Technology and Innovation. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)

Industry and Higher Education is dedicated to the relationships between business and industry and higher education institutions. With a strong emphasis on practical aspects, the journal covers organizational, economic, political, legal, and social issues relating to … | View full journal description This journal is a member of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE).

From the journal's Aims & Scope

Research area (LetPub): EDUCATION & EDUCATIONAL RESEARCH

Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named United Kingdom 16, United States 9, Italy 4, Australia 3, Netherlands 3 (54 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·

Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate

  1. Entrepreneurship Studies and InfluencesBusiness, Management and Accounting16.9%
  2. Higher Education and EmployabilitySocial Sciences13.1%
  3. Innovation and Knowledge ManagementBusiness, Management and Accounting9.6%
  4. Higher Education Governance and DevelopmentSocial Sciences8.4%
  5. University-Industry-Government Innovation ModelsBusiness, Management and Accounting6.9%
  6. Higher Education Learning PracticesSocial Sciences5.9%
  7. Engineering Education and Curriculum DevelopmentEngineering4.1%
  8. Regional Development and PolicySocial Sciences3.6%

Rankings & indexing

CAS ranking and database indexing

CAS Journal Ranking

CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Education Zone 4
LevelCategoryZone
MajorEducationZone 4
MinorEducation & Educational ResearchZone 4

Top journal: noReview journal: no

CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Education Zone 3
LevelCategoryZone
MajorEducationZone 3
MinorEducation & Educational ResearchZone 3

Top journal: noReview journal: not marked

CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

Database indexing

ESCIScopusLetPub

International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub

Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.

Metrics

Impact metrics and publication volume

Impact

Impact factor (publisher)
1.8Publisher website ·
5-year impact factor (publisher)
2.3Publisher website ·
CiteScore 2026-06
7.2LetPub ·
SJR 2026-06
0.71LetPub ·
SNIP 2026-06
1.53LetPub ·
h-index
54OpenAlex ·
i10-index
495OpenAlex ·
2-year mean citedness
1.78OpenAlex ·
Self-citation rate
11.1%LetPub ·
Share of gold OA articles
31.15%LetPub ·

Volume

Articles per year
67LetPub ·
Articles per year (publisher)
3Publisher website ·

Articles by year OpenAlex count · 2,531 in total · the current year is incomplete

YearArticlesOpen accessCitations
20261284433
20256728133
20246340293
20235734504
20227024863
202176331,888

Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.

Review & acceptance

Review time and acceptance

Publisher-reported review time from the journal's website

254 dayssubmission to acceptance

The publisher's own definition applies; dates from this journal's articles in the last 24 months are not available yet, so the publisher's figure is used.

Figures by source

Acceptance rate (publisher)
56.9%Publisher website ·
Submission to first decision
1 daysPublisher website ·
Submission to acceptance
254 daysPublisher website ·
Acceptance to publication
11 daysPublisher website ·
Peer review
Double anonymous peer reviewPublisher website

Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.

Fees & open access

APC and open-access policy

Hybrid open accessLetPub

A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.

SourceAPCFee waiverLicenseObserved
OpenAlexUSD 3,650 / GBP 2,676——
Publisher websiteYes, amount not published——

A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.

Other charges and waivers (author guidelines)

Colour charges
No colour charges
Page charges
No page charges
Submission fee
No submission fee

The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.

Submission

Article types and submission policies (journal website)

What to prepare5 items from the author guidelines
Abstract
≤ 200 words
Manuscript length
≤ 8,000 words
Reference style
Harvard
First submission
Free format: the journal's layout is not required
Cover letter
Required
Publisher website · model-extracted, each line checked against the text
Article types accepted8, with length limits
  1. case studies of specific ventures or programmesOther contributions include opinion or 'viewpoint' pieces (1,500-3,000 words); case studies of specific ventures or programmes (1,500-3,000 words); brief factua…Length not stated
  2. case studyPapers should be between 4,000 and 8,000 words long. These should be analytical and evaluative in approach and not simply descriptive. Other contributions inclu…main text ≤ 3,000 words
  3. letterPapers should be between 4,000 and 8,000 words long. These should be analytical and evaluative in approach and not simply descriptive. Other contributions inclu…Length not stated
  4. letters to the editorsOther contributions include opinion or 'viewpoint' pieces (1,500-3,000 words); case studies of specific ventures or programmes (1,500-3,000 words); brief factua…Length not stated
  5. opinionPapers should be between 4,000 and 8,000 words long. These should be analytical and evaluative in approach and not simply descriptive. Other contributions inclu…main text ≤ 3,000 words
  6. opinion or 'viewpoint' piecesOther contributions include opinion or 'viewpoint' pieces (1,500-3,000 words); case studies of specific ventures or programmes (1,500-3,000 words); brief factua…Length not stated
  7. papersPapers should be between 4,000 and 8,000 words long. These should be analytical and evaluative in approach and not simply descriptive.Length not stated
  8. viewpointPapers should be between 4,000 and 8,000 words long. These should be analytical and evaluative in approach and not simply descriptive. Other contributions inclu…Length not stated
Publisher website
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAuthorship, Data availability, Publication ethics, Open access, Peer review, Plagiarism, Preprints, Trial registration / reporting guidelines
Authorship Authorship

Please view our authorship policies, which includes information on criteria for authorship, who should be the corresponding author and more. Please note that AI chatbots, for example ChatGPT, should not be listed as authors. For more information see the policy on Use of ChatGPT and generative AI tools.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Data availability Data availability

The Journal is committed to facilitating openness, transparency and reproducibility of research, and has the following research data sharing policy. For more information, including FAQs please visit the Sage Research Data policy pages. Subject to appropriate ethical and legal considerations, authors are encouraged to: Share your research data in a relevant public data repository Include a data ava…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Publication ethics Ethical considerations

Please include your ethics approval statements under this heading, even if you have already included ethics approval information in your methods section. If ethical approval was not required, you need to explicitly state this. All papers reporting studies involving human participants, human data or human tissue must state that the relevant Ethics Committee or Institutional Review Board approved th…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Open access Publishing fees and open access

There are no fees payable to submit or publish in this journal. Figures supplied in colour will appear in colour online regardless of whether or not these illustrations are reproduced in colour in the printed version. For specifically requested colour reproduction in print, you will receive information regarding the costs from Sage after receipt of your accepted article. Optional open access publi…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Peer review Peer review policy

Double anonymized peer review Model summary

The following summary describes the peer review process for this journal: Identity transparency:Double anonymised Reviewer interacts with: Editor Review information published: None Your manuscript will undergo an initial evaluation. If it does not conform to the requirements laid out in these guidelines, it will be returned to you for amendments prior to peer review. Manuscripts may be desk reject…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Plagiarism Plagiarism

The journal and Sage take issues of copyright infringement, plagiarism or other breaches of best practice in publication very seriously. Please read Sage's complete policy on plagiarism and the actions we may take.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Preprints Preprints

The journal will consider submissions of manuscripts that have been posted on preprint servers. Please enter the preprint DOI in the designated field when submitting your manuscript. We advise that you inform the Journal Editorial office about your posted preprint at submission. Note that you should not post an updated version of your manuscript on a preprint server while it is being peer reviewed…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Trial registration / reporting guidelines Clinical trial registration

The journal endorses the ICMJE requirement that clinical trials are registered in a WHO-approved public trials registry at or before the time of first participant enrollment. However, consistent with the AllTrials campaign, retrospectively registered trials will be considered if the justification for late registration is acceptable. The trial registry name and URL, and registration number must be …

Source ↗Publisher website ·

Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.

Profile

Publication details and official links

Publisher
SAGE
ISSN
0950-4222
Electronic ISSN
2043-6858
Official links

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about Industry and Higher Education

What CAS zone is Industry and Higher Education in?

In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Industry and Higher Education is in Zone 4 of Education, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Education & Educational Research. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 3 of Education. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.

What is the impact factor of Industry and Higher Education?

The journal's website gives an impact factor of 1.8; this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 7.2, h-index 54.

How long does peer review take at Industry and Higher Education?

The publisher reports about 254 days (submission to acceptance); the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 56.9%. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.

What are the manuscript requirements of Industry and Higher Education?

According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 200 words; Manuscript length: ≤ 8,000 words; Reference style: Harvard; First submission: Free format: the journal's layout is not required; Cover letter: Required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.

Where are the editorial board members of Industry and Higher Education based?

Of the 54 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United Kingdom (16), United States (9) and Italy (4). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.

Which databases index Industry and Higher Education?

According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Industry and Higher Education is indexed in ESCI and Scopus.

Is Industry and Higher Education open access, and what is the APC?

Industry and Higher Education is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 3,650.

Sources and updates

The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .