Journal profile · Pathology
Journal of Cutaneous Pathology
ISSN 0303-6987 · eISSN 1600-0560 · Wiley-Blackwell Publishing Ltd · DENMARK · Monthly · Founded 1974
Journal of Cutaneous Pathology: CAS Zone 4 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 1.18; hybrid open access; APC about USD 3,570; median 172 days to acceptance (97 articles, last 24 months); community-reported acceptance: easy; 167 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Journal of Cutaneous Pathology is published by Wiley-Blackwell Publishing Ltd and is in Zone 4 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Cancer and Skin Lesions, Cutaneous lymphoproliferative disorders research and Cutaneous Melanoma Detection and Management, together about 31.2% of its articles. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Journal of Cutaneous Pathology publishes manuscripts broadly relevant to diseases of the skin and mucosae, with the aims of advancing scientific knowledge regarding dermatopathology and enhancing the communication between clinical practitioners and research scientists. Original scientific manuscripts on diagnostic and experimental cutaneous pathology are especially desirable. Timely, pertinent review articles also will be given high priority. Manuscripts based on light, fluorescence, and electron microscopy, histochemistry, immunology, molecular biology, and genetics, as well as allied sciences, are all welcome, provided their principal focus is on cutaneous pathology. Publication time will be kept as short as possible, ensuring that articles will be quickly available to all interested in this speciality.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Pathology
Editor-in-chief Adam I. RubinPublisher website
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named United States 54, United Kingdom 1, Germany 1, France 1, Italy 1 (61 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Cancer and Skin LesionsMedicine11.9%
- Cutaneous lymphoproliferative disorders researchMedicine11.2%
- Cutaneous Melanoma Detection and ManagementMedicine8.1%
- Nonmelanoma Skin Cancer StudiesMedicine5.8%
- Nail Diseases and TreatmentsMedicine5.7%
- Genetic and rare skin diseases.Biochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology5.6%
- Autoimmune Bullous Skin DiseasesMedicine5.5%
- Vascular Tumors and AngiosarcomasMedicine4.2%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Dermatology | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Pathology | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Dermatology | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Pathology | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Dermatology | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Pathology | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
Database indexing
SCIEScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
MEDLINEPubMedCAB AbstractsCurrent ContentsPublisher website
Other: EBSCO
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor
- 1.18LetPub ·
- Impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 1.2Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 2.7LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher) 2025
- 2.7Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.51LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.88LetPub ·
- h-index
- 69LetPub ·
- h-index
- 111OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 3,808OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 1.2OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 8.3%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 20.82%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 124LetPub ·
- Articles per year (publisher) 2025
- 142Publisher website ·
- Downloads per year (publisher) 2025
- 375,829Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 7,971 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 182 | 98 | 27 |
| 2025 | 167 | 82 | 181 |
| 2024 | 203 | 109 | 455 |
| 2023 | 208 | 113 | 823 |
| 2022 | 196 | 47 | 973 |
| 2021 | 269 | 45 | 1,966 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with Crossref · to
172 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 129 days – 229 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 15 days (98 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 197 days
- Sample
- 97 articles with submission and acceptance dates (379 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Average review time (community reports)
- 3–8 weeksLetPub ·
- Average acceptance (community reports)
- EasyLetPub ·
- Acceptance rate (publisher) 2025
- 21%Publisher website ·
- Submission to first decision 2025
- 27 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to acceptance 2025
- 174 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication 2025
- 13 daysPublisher website ·
- Peer review
- Double anonymous peer reviewPublisher website
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAlex | USD 3,570 / EUR 3,000 / GBP 2,380 | — | — | |
| Publisher website | Yes, amount not published | — | — |
A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare2 items from the author guidelines
- First submission
- Free format: the journal's layout is not required
- Cover letter
- Optional
Article types accepted7, with length limits
- brief communicationii. Brief Communication This format is for concisely reporting new research findings or novel clinicopathologic observations.Length not stated
- case reportd under the sub-headings: Introduction, Case Report(s), Discussion, Acknowledgments, and References Word limit: 1,400 words maximum (excluding abstract, referen…main text ≤ 1,400 words
- case studyiii. Case Study This format is for publishing single cases or small series having novel scientific content and/or exceptional teaching value.Length not stated
- notes & commentsvi. Notes & Comments Brief remarks commenting on material previously published in the journal will be considered for publication in this section.Length not stated
- original articlei. Original Article This format is for publishing original research studies.Length not stated
- perspectiveiv. Perspective This format is a forum for broad perspectives in cutaneous pathology, including discussion of current controversies, historical insights, and in…Length not stated
- reviewv. Review This format is for publishing in-depth reviews and analyses of evolving topics in cutaneous pathology.Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAuthorship, Conflicts of interest, Data availability, Publication ethics, Peer review, Preprints
- Authorship Authorship
Please refer to the journal’s authorship policy the Editorial Policies and Ethical Considerations section for details on eligibility for author listing.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Conflicts of interest Conflict of Interest Statement
Authors will be asked to provide a conflict of interest statement during the submission process. For details on what to include in this section, see the section ‘Conflict of Interest’ in the Editorial Policies and Ethical Considerations section below. Submitting authors should ensure they liaise with all co-authors to confirm agreement with the final statement.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Data availability Expects Data Sharing
Expects data sharing Model summary
Please review Wiley’s policy here. This journal expects and peer review data sharing.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Publication ethics Publication Ethics
COPE member Model summary
This journal is a member of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE). Note this journal uses iThenticate’s CrossCheck software to detect instances of overlapping and similar text in submitted manuscripts. Read Wiley'sTop 10 Publishing Ethics Tips for Authors here. Wiley’s Publication Ethics Guidelines can be found here.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer Review and Acceptance
Double-blind peer review Model summary
The acceptance criteria for all papers are the quality and originality of the research and its significance to our readership. Manuscripts are double-blind peer reviewed. Papers will only be sent to review if the Editor-in-Chief determines that the paper meets the appropriate quality and relevance requirements.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints
Preprint policy allows preprint-posted articles Model summary
This journal accepts articles previously published on preprint servers.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Wiley-Blackwell Publishing Ltd
- Country or region
- DENMARK
- Language
- English
- Frequency
- Monthly
- Founded
- 1974
- ISSN
- 0303-6987
- Electronic ISSN
- 1600-0560
- Society / sponsor
- American Society of Dermatopathology
- Latest issue on the website
- Volume 53, Issue 10 (October 2026)
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Submission system ↗LetPub
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Journal of Cutaneous Pathology
What CAS zone is Journal of Cutaneous Pathology in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Journal of Cutaneous Pathology is in Zone 4 of Medicine, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Dermatology / Pathology. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 4 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Journal of Cutaneous Pathology?
The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 1.18; CiteScore 2.7, h-index 111.
How long does peer review take at Journal of Cutaneous Pathology?
Based on the dates recorded on 97 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 172 days (interquartile range 129–229 days); authors report an average review time of 3–8 weeks; the community-reported acceptance is “Easy”; the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 21% (2025). Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Journal of Cutaneous Pathology?
According to the journal's author guidelines: First submission: Free format: the journal's layout is not required; Cover letter: Optional. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Journal of Cutaneous Pathology based?
Of the 61 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (54), United Kingdom (1) and Germany (1). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Journal of Cutaneous Pathology?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Journal of Cutaneous Pathology is indexed in SCIE and Scopus. The journal's website also lists MEDLINE, PubMed, CAB Abstracts and Current Contents; that list has not been checked against each database.
Is Journal of Cutaneous Pathology open access, and what is the APC?
Journal of Cutaneous Pathology is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 3,570.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .