Journal profile · Pathology
Journal of Comparative Pathology
ISSN 0021-9975 · eISSN 1532-3129 · W.B. Saunders Ltd · ENGLAND · Bimonthly · Founded 1965
Journal of Comparative Pathology: CAS Zone 4 · Agricultural & Forestry Sciences (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 1.12; hybrid open access; APC about USD 3,520; median 97 days to acceptance (97 articles, last 24 months); community-reported acceptance: easy (Elsevier website: 35%); 447 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Journal of Comparative Pathology is published by W.B. Saunders Ltd and is in Zone 4 of Agricultural & Forestry Sciences in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Veterinary Oncology Research, Microbial infections and disease research and Virus-based gene therapy research, together about 31.3% of its articles. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
The Journal of Comparative Pathology is an English (UK) language, international, peer-reviewed journal that exists to publish articles reporting research and original scientific findings relevant to the pathology and pathogenesis of diseases of domesticated and other vertebrate animals. Articles on diseases of humans are also appropriate but only if they present features of special interest when viewed against the general background of vertebrate pathology. In addition, Journal of Comparative Pathology may publish Short Papers that are reports of small, completed investigations, new techniques or case descriptions. Please note, case reports of single animals will be accepted only if they make a highly significant contribution to knowledge and if this contribution is not clearly evident, they will be rejected at the desk stage. The journal also publishes, by invitation, full Review Articles and minireview Articles on topics of broad interest from authors with acknowledged expertise in their field.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Pathology
Editor-in-chief M. P. DagleishPublisher website
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named United Kingdom 17, Germany 5, Italy 4, United States 2, Netherlands 2 (41 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Veterinary Oncology ResearchMedicine15.1%
- Microbial infections and disease researchImmunology and Microbiology8.8%
- Virus-based gene therapy researchBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology7.3%
- Animal Virus Infections StudiesAgricultural and Biological Sciences6.5%
- Infectious Diseases and MycologyVeterinary5.3%
- Herpesvirus Infections and TreatmentsMedicine4.4%
- Animal Disease Management and EpidemiologyAgricultural and Biological Sciences4.1%
- Vector-Borne Animal DiseasesAgricultural and Biological Sciences3.8%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Agricultural & Forestry Sciences Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Agricultural & Forestry Sciences | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Pathology | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Veterinary Sciences | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Agricultural & Forestry Sciences Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Agricultural & Forestry Sciences | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Pathology | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Veterinary Sciences | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Agricultural & Forestry Sciences Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Agricultural & Forestry Sciences | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Pathology | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Veterinary Sciences | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
Database indexing
SCIEScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor
- 1.12LetPub ·
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 1.2Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 2LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher)
- 2Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.48LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.77LetPub ·
- h-index
- 65LetPub ·
- h-index
- 111OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 3,040OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 0.37OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 8.3%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 36%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 67LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 8,299 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 70 | 36 | 4 |
| 2025 | 447 | 82 | 55 |
| 2024 | 258 | 50 | 230 |
| 2023 | 270 | 66 | 345 |
| 2022 | 210 | 40 | 381 |
| 2021 | 102 | 32 | 505 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with PubMed · to
97 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 73 days – 154 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 13 days (96 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 117 days
- Sample
- 97 articles with submission and acceptance dates (151 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Average review time (community reports)
- 4–8 weeksLetPub ·
- Average acceptance (community reports)
- 35%LetPub ·
- Submission to first decision
- 2 daysPublisher website ·
- First decision after review
- 39 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to acceptance
- 100 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication
- 19 daysPublisher website ·
- Peer review
- Single anonymous peer reviewPublisher website
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAlex | USD 3,520 / EUR 3,290 / GBP 2,820 / JPY 436,590 | — | — | |
| Publisher website | USD 3,520 | — | — |
A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare2 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 250 words
- Manuscript length
- ≤ 2,000 words
Article types accepted3
- case reportFor case reports you are required to follow CARE guidelines and provide the CARE checklist at manuscript submission.Read the CARE guidelinesFollow the CARE chec…Length not stated
- review articleReview articleThe journal also publishes, by invitation, full review articles and mini review articles on topics of broad interest from authors with acknowledge…Length not stated
- short paperShort paperWould normally not exceed a word limit of 2000 (excluding title, abstract and references) and should include no more than four supportive figures or …Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Conflicts of interest, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Preprints
- AI use Declaration of generative AI use
Authors must declare the use of generative AI tools in the manuscript preparation process upon submission of the paper.Generative AI and AI-assisted technologies (“AI tools”) have been rapidly adopted in research and scholarly publishing, offering significant benefits while requiring clear standards for responsible and transparent use.Authors preparing a manuscript for this journal may use AI tool…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Authorship Group authorship
Group authorship refers to the attribution of an article to a defined and named group of authors whose members have contributed to the work. Examples include research consortia, clinical trial groups, collaborative networks, task forces or working groups, expert panels or consensus groups, and participatory research groups. Group authorship must be declared on the title page at submission. When av…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Conflicts of interest Declaration of competing interests
All authors must disclose any financial and personal relationships with other people or organizations that could inappropriately influence or bias their work. Examples of potential competing interests include:EmploymentConsultanciesStock ownershipHonorariaPaid expert testimonyPatent applications or registrationsGrants or any other fundingAffiliation with the journal as an Editor or Advisory Board …
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright License options
Authors will be offered open access user license options which will determine how you, and third parties, can reuse your open access article. We advise that you review these options and any funding body license requirements before selecting a license option.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Open access
We refer you to our open access information page to learn about open access options for this journal.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer review
Single anonymized review process Model summary
This journal follows a single anonymized review process. Your submission will initially be assessed by our editors. If your submission is deemed suitable, it will typically be sent to be reviewed by a minimum of two reviewers for an independent expert assessment of the scientific quality. The decision as to whether your article is accepted or rejected for publication will be made by our editors.Re…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints Preprints
Preprint sharing allowed Model summary
Preprint sharingAuthors may share preprints in line with Elsevier's article sharing policy. Sharing preprints, such as on a preprint server, will not count as prior publication.We advise you to read our policy on multiple, redundant or concurrent publication.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- W.B. Saunders Ltd
- Country or region
- ENGLAND
- Language
- English
- Frequency
- Bimonthly
- Founded
- 1965
- ISSN
- 0021-9975
- Electronic ISSN
- 1532-3129
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Journal of Comparative Pathology
What CAS zone is Journal of Comparative Pathology in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Journal of Comparative Pathology is in Zone 4 of Agricultural & Forestry Sciences, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Pathology / Veterinary Sciences. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 4 of Agricultural & Forestry Sciences. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Journal of Comparative Pathology?
The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 1.12; CiteScore 2, h-index 111.
How long does peer review take at Journal of Comparative Pathology?
Based on the dates recorded on 97 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 97 days (interquartile range 73–154 days); authors report an average review time of 4–8 weeks; the community-reported acceptance is “Easy (Elsevier website: 35%)”. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Journal of Comparative Pathology?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 250 words; Manuscript length: ≤ 2,000 words. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Journal of Comparative Pathology based?
Of the 41 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United Kingdom (17), Germany (5) and Italy (4). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Journal of Comparative Pathology?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Journal of Comparative Pathology is indexed in SCIE and Scopus.
Is Journal of Comparative Pathology open access, and what is the APC?
Journal of Comparative Pathology is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 3,520.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .