Journal profile · EDUCATION & EDUCATIONAL RESEARCH
Independent Journal of Teaching and Learning
ISSN 1818-9687 · eISSN 2519-5670
Independent Journal of Teaching and Learning: CAS Zone 4 · Education (2025 upgraded edition); diamond open access (no APC); no APC; 31 articles in 2025; indexed in ESCI.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Independent Journal of Teaching and Learning is in Zone 4 of Education in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Teacher Education and Leadership Studies, Online and Blended Learning and Educational Theory and Curriculum Studies, together about 26.4% of its articles. Its main subfields are Education. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
The Independent Journal of Teaching and Learning (The IJTL) is an education-focused journal, aimed at making a difference to educators at the primary, secondary and tertiary levels. Providing a scholarly forum for academics and education practitioners to share research on teaching and learning. It publishes original contributions of interest to researchers and practitioners in the field of education. The IJTL is intended to be a resource for education practitioners and researchers as it aims to provide useful, research based resources and provide a scholarly forum for academics and education practitioners to share in research on educational practices and teaching and learning at various levels. The following contributions are considered for publication: Research-based empirical, reflective or synoptic articles that would be of interest to education practitioners; Discussion or advocacy papers suitable for publication, articles for publication in a section entitled practitioners corner; The journal accepts Doctoral Abstracts, which include the link to the full text thesis from researchers that have graduated with a PhD/Doctorate in Education in the last two years. These are not peer reviewed and are published in a separate section of the journal. The journal focuses on education as a discipline, however, articles that focus on education as a discipline, that may be applied or manifest in a range of disciplines are welcomed.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): EDUCATION & EDUCATIONAL RESEARCH
Editor-in-chief Dolina DowlingPublisher website
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named South Africa 5, United States 1 (6 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Teacher Education and Leadership StudiesSocial Sciences9.9%
- Online and Blended LearningSocial Sciences9.3%
- Educational Theory and Curriculum StudiesSocial Sciences7.1%
- Innovative Teaching and Learning MethodsPsychology6%
- Higher Education and EmployabilitySocial Sciences5.5%
- Global Educational Policies and ReformsSocial Sciences5%
- Mobile Learning in EducationComputer Science5%
- Online Learning and AnalyticsComputer Science4.4%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Education Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Education | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Education & Educational Research | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Education Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Education | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Education & Educational Research | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
Database indexing
ESCIDOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
Web of ScienceSciELOPublisher website
Other: Google Scholar, Crossref, DHET, EBSCOhost
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- h-index
- 7OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 3OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 2.45OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 20%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 19.61%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 16LetPub ·
- Articles per year (publisher)
- 2,024Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 122 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 12 | 12 | 0 |
| 2025 | 31 | 31 | 106 |
| 2024 | 56 | 56 | 137 |
| 2023 | 21 | 21 | 54 |
| 2022 | 2 | 2 | 6 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 24 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Double anonymous peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access and authors pay no article processing charge.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | No APC | No | CC BY |
Other charges and waivers (author guidelines)
- Other fees
- No other fees
- Page charges
- No page charges
- Submission fee
- No submission fee
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare8 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 150 words
- Manuscript length
- ≤ 6,000 words
- Reference style
- APA
- Templates
- Word
- Suggested reviewers
- Optional
- Highlights
- Optional
- Graphical abstract
- Optional
- Cover letter
- Required
Article types accepted5
- book reviewsBook reviews that comprise a clear and concise evaluation of recently published books.Length not stated
- discussion or advocacy papersDiscussion or advocacy papers suitable for publication, articles for publication in a section entitled 'Practitioner's Corner';Length not stated
- doctoral abstractsThe journal also publishes Doctoral abstracts in the section ‘Doctoral Corner’.Length not stated
- research-based empirical, reflective or synoptic articlesResearch-based empirical, reflective or synoptic articles that would be of interest to education practitioners;Length not stated
- review articlesReview articles that critically examine research carried out in a specific field;Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteLicense & copyright, Peer review, Self-archiving
- License & copyright Copyright Notice
Copyright arrangements The IJTL is a platinum open-access journal that appreciates and supports open-access principles, enhances academic freedom, promotes wider dissemination and collaboration, and supports ethical publishing practices. Therefore, The Independent Institute of Education (Pty) Ltd remains the journal articles' publisher while the copyright remains with the author/s of the article/s…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review
Doctoral Abstracts are not peer reviewed and are published in a separate section of the journal. Model summary
The journal accepts Doctoral Abstracts, which include the link to the full text thesis from researchers that have graduated with a PhD/Doctorate in Education in the last two years. These are not peer reviewed and are published in a separate section of the journal.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Self-archiving Self-archiving Policy
Over and above The IIE repository, we do allow for archiving in other institutional repositories.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- ISSN
- 1818-9687
- Electronic ISSN
- 2519-5670
- Official links
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Independent Journal of Teaching and Learning
What CAS zone is Independent Journal of Teaching and Learning in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Independent Journal of Teaching and Learning is in Zone 4 of Education, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Education & Educational Research. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 4 of Education. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What are the manuscript requirements of Independent Journal of Teaching and Learning?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 150 words; Manuscript length: ≤ 6,000 words; Reference style: APA; Templates: Word; Suggested reviewers: Optional; Highlights: Optional; Graphical abstract: Optional; Cover letter: Required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Independent Journal of Teaching and Learning based?
Of the 6 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are South Africa (5) and United States (1). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Independent Journal of Teaching and Learning?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Independent Journal of Teaching and Learning is indexed in ESCI and DOAJ. The journal's website also lists Web of Science and SciELO; that list has not been checked against each database.
Is Independent Journal of Teaching and Learning open access, and what is the APC?
Independent Journal of Teaching and Learning is a diamond open-access journal (no APC). It charges no article processing charge.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex, DOAJ; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .