Journal profile · Medicine-Orthopedics and Sports Medicine
EFORT Open Reviews
ISSN 2058-5241 · British Editorial Society of Bone and Joint Surgery · ENGLAND
EFORT Open Reviews: CAS Zone 2 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 4.52; fully open access; APC about USD 3,000; review about 13 weeks (community reports); 93 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
EFORT Open Reviews is published by British Editorial Society of Bone and Joint Surgery and is in Zone 2 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Orthopaedic implants and arthroplasty, Total Knee Arthroplasty Outcomes and Orthopedic Infections and Treatments, together about 34.9% of its articles. Its main subfields are Surgery. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
EFORT Open Reviews is an open-access journal, publishing high-quality instructional review articles across the whole field of orthopaedics and traumatology. Peer-reviewed articles from international experts summarize current knowledge and practice in orthopaedics, with the aim of providing systematic coverage of the field. It is an authoritative resource for educating trainees and supports practising orthopaedic surgeons by keeping them informed on the latest clinical and scientific advances. EFORT Open Reviews is the official journal of the European Federation of National Associations of Orthopaedics and Traumatology (EFORT) and is published in partnership by Bioscientifica.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Medicine-Orthopedics and Sports Medicine
Editor-in-chief Pierre HoffmeyerPublisher website
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Orthopaedic implants and arthroplastyMedicine13%
- Total Knee Arthroplasty OutcomesMedicine12.7%
- Orthopedic Infections and TreatmentsMedicine9.2%
- Shoulder Injury and TreatmentMedicine7.2%
- Orthopedic Surgery and RehabilitationMedicine5.5%
- Bone fractures and treatmentsMedicine5.2%
- Knee injuries and reconstruction techniquesMedicine4.3%
- Foot and Ankle SurgeryMedicine4.1%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 2
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Orthopedics | Zone 1 |
Top journal: noReview journal: yes
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 2
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Orthopedics | Zone 1 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Medicine Zone 2
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Orthopedics | Zone 2 |
Top journal: noReview journal: yes
Database indexing
SCIEScopusDOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor
- 4.52LetPub ·
- Impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 5.7Publisher website ·
- 5-year impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 7.3Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 7.3LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher) 2025
- 21Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 1.63LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 2.53LetPub ·
- h-index
- 81OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 624OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 4.96OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 2.2%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 99.3%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 90LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 971 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 96 | 96 | 40 |
| 2025 | 93 | 93 | 448 |
| 2024 | 110 | 110 | 995 |
| 2023 | 92 | 92 | 1,675 |
| 2022 | 82 | 82 | 1,886 |
| 2021 | 123 | 123 | 4,251 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 13 weeksLetPub ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 13 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Double anonymous peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | USD 3,000 / GBP 2,250 / EUR 2,500 | Yes | CC BY, CC BY-NC, CC BY-NC-ND | |
| OpenAlex | EUR 1,500 / GBP 1,350 / USD 1,800 | — | — | |
| LetPub | EUR 1,500 / GBP 1,350 / USD 1,800 | Yes | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare5 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 250 words
- Keywords
- ≥ 3
- Manuscript length
- ≤ 4,000 words
- Reference style
- Vancouver
- Cover letter
- Required
Article types accepted6, with length limits
- meta-analysisReview Articles Review Articles should summarise the current state of understanding on a topic within the fields of orthopaedics and traumatology. The journal’s…Length not stated
- reviewReview Articles Review Articles should summarise the current state of understanding on a topic within the fields of orthopaedics and traumatology. The journal’s…Length not stated
- review articleReview Articles Review Articles should summarise the current state of understanding on a topic within the fields of orthopaedics and traumatology. The journal’s…main text ≤ 4,000 words
- review articlesReview Articles should summarise the current state of understanding on a topic within the fields of orthopaedics and traumatology.Length not stated
- systematic reviewReview Articles Review Articles should summarise the current state of understanding on a topic within the fields of orthopaedics and traumatology. The journal’s…main text ≤ 250 words
- systematic reviewsEOR publishes systematic reviews, which are more extensive analyses that critically assess all published studies on a topic, according to clearly defined search…Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAuthorship, Publication ethics, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Plagiarism, Trial registration / reporting guidelines
- Authorship Authorship
Each article should have a maximum of 6 authors, and each author must have contributed substantially to the review. The corresponding author provides final approval for publication. Each author is required to complete an ICMJE conflict of interest form prior to publication
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Publication ethics
COPE member Model summary
EFORT Open Reviews is a member of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE).
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright Copyright
CC-BY-NC license Model summary
EFORT Open Reviews publishes manuscripts under a Creative Commons Attribution Non-Commercial license (CC-BY-NC) as standard, which allows others to re-use the work without permission so long as the work is properly referenced and the use is non-commercial. For more information, please visit http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc/4.0/ If you are in receipt of funding and your funder requires pub…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Open Access
Information on APCs, funder compliance, and your open access options. Read more about Open Access
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Double-anonymous peer-review
Double-anonymous peer review Model summary
EFORT Open Reviews practices double-anonymous peer-review, where both The authors are unaware of the identity of the reviewers, and The reviewers are unaware of the identity of the authors. To ensure anonymity, authors must take care to omit any identifying details from their submitted manuscript. These identifying details can be added back into the manuscript after acceptance. Guidance for prepar…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Plagiarism Plagiarism screening
Plagiarism screening Model summary
EFORT Open Reviews takes issues of plagiarism, copyright infringement and other breaches of best practice seriously. All submitted articles are screened using duplication-checking software, and we reserve the right to reject or retract any articles that are found to have plagiarised other work or reproduced copyright material without permission. This extends to reproducing sections of other works …
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Trial registration / reporting guidelines PRISMA
Systematic Reviews must meet the requirements of the PRISMA guidelines for systematic reviews and meta-analyses. Authors are required to complete the PRISMA checklist and submit this with their manuscript. You can find the checklist here. Authors should include a statement confirming adherence to the PRISMA guidelines in the abstract and the 'Materials & Methods' section of their manuscript. An ex…
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- British Editorial Society of Bone and Joint Surgery
- Country or region
- ENGLAND
- Language
- English
- ISSN
- 2058-5241
- Society / sponsor
- European Federation of National Associations of Orthopaedics and Traumatology
- Latest issue on the website
- Volume 11, Issue 9 (September 2026)
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗DOAJ
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Author guidelines ↗DOAJ
- Aims & Scope ↗DOAJ
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
- APC information ↗DOAJ
- Fee waivers ↗DOAJ
- Open access statement ↗DOAJ
- License & copyright ↗DOAJ
- Peer review process ↗DOAJ
- Editorial board ↗DOAJ
- Plagiarism policy ↗DOAJ
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about EFORT Open Reviews
What CAS zone is EFORT Open Reviews in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, EFORT Open Reviews is in Zone 2 of Medicine, and in Zone 1 of the minor category Orthopedics. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 2 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of EFORT Open Reviews?
The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 4.52; CiteScore 7.3, h-index 81.
How long does peer review take at EFORT Open Reviews?
Authors report an average review time of about 13 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of EFORT Open Reviews?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 250 words; Keywords: ≥ 3; Manuscript length: ≤ 4,000 words; Reference style: Vancouver; Cover letter: Required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Which databases index EFORT Open Reviews?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, EFORT Open Reviews is indexed in SCIE, Scopus and DOAJ.
Is EFORT Open Reviews open access, and what is the APC?
EFORT Open Reviews is a fully open-access journal. APC about USD 3,000.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, DOAJ, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .