Journal profile · Medicine-Orthopedics and Sports Medicine
Journal of Orthopaedics and Traumatology
ISSN 1590-9921 · eISSN 1590-9999 · Springer International Publishing · ITALY · Founded 2000
Journal of Orthopaedics and Traumatology: CAS Zone 2 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 4.43; fully open access; APC about USD 3,290; median 119 days to acceptance (99 articles, last 24 months); 80 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Journal of Orthopaedics and Traumatology is published by Springer International Publishing and is in Zone 2 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Total Knee Arthroplasty Outcomes, Orthopaedic implants and arthroplasty and Bone fractures and treatments, together about 32.3% of its articles. Its main subfields are Surgery. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
The Journal of Orthopaedics and Traumatology, the official open access peer-reviewed journal of the Italian Society of Orthopaedics and Traumatology, publishes original papers reporting basic or clinical research in the field of orthopaedic and traumatologic surgery, as well as systematic reviews, brief communications, case reports and letters to the Editor. Narrative instructional reviews and commentaries to original articles may be commissioned by Editors from eminent colleagues. The Journal of Orthopaedics and Traumatology aims to be an international forum for the communication and exchange of ideas concerning the various aspects of orthopaedics and musculoskeletal trauma.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Medicine-Orthopedics and Sports Medicine
Editor-in-chief Fabrizio RiveraPublisher website
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named Italy 42, United States 8, Germany 3, Switzerland 3, United Kingdom 2 (66 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Total Knee Arthroplasty OutcomesMedicine12.8%
- Orthopaedic implants and arthroplastyMedicine11.5%
- Bone fractures and treatmentsMedicine8%
- Shoulder Injury and TreatmentMedicine7.3%
- Orthopedic Infections and TreatmentsMedicine6.1%
- Hip and Femur FracturesMedicine6.1%
- Knee injuries and reconstruction techniquesMedicine5.7%
- Orthopedic Surgery and RehabilitationMedicine4.6%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 2
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Orthopedics | Zone 2 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 2
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Orthopedics | Zone 2 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Medicine Zone 2
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Orthopedics | Zone 2 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
Database indexing
SCIEScopusDOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
MEDLINEEmbaseCASCurrent ContentsPublisher website
Other: Google Scholar, EBSCO, ProQuest, Dimensions, CNKI, Baidu, Naver, OCLC, Portico, CLOCKSS, Semantic Scholar
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor
- 4.43LetPub ·
- Impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 4.5Publisher website ·
- 5-year impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 4.6Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 6.5LetPub ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 1.48LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 2.02LetPub ·
- h-index
- 71OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 595OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 4.1OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 8.9%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 99.52%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 80LetPub ·
- Downloads per year (publisher) 2025
- 804,100Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 1,269 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 66 | 66 | 11 |
| 2025 | 80 | 80 | 242 |
| 2024 | 70 | 70 | 633 |
| 2023 | 62 | 62 | 909 |
| 2022 | 59 | 59 | 1,274 |
| 2021 | 56 | 56 | 976 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with Crossref · to
119 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 93 days – 173 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 26 days (99 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 149 days
- Sample
- 99 articles with submission and acceptance dates (172 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 13 weeksLetPub ·
- Submission to first decision
- 19 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 13 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Double anonymous peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | EUR 2,790 / USD 3,290 / GBP 2,390 | Yes | CC BY, CC BY-NC-ND | |
| OpenAlex | USD 3,190 / EUR 2,690 / GBP 2,290 | — | — | |
| LetPub | GBP 2,090 / USD 2,990 / EUR 2,490 | Yes | — | |
| Publisher website | GBP 2,390 / USD 3,290 / EUR 2,790 | — | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
Open calls for papers1, by deadline
Publisher websiteWhat to prepare2 items from the author guidelines
- Reference style
- Vancouver
- Suggested reviewers
- Optional
Article types accepted6
- brief communicationFormatting guidelines for specific article types can be found below. Brief communication Case report Letter to the Editor Original article Narrative Review Syst…Length not stated
- case reportFormatting guidelines for specific article types can be found below. Brief communication Case report Letter to the Editor Original article Narrative Review Syst…Length not stated
- letter to the editorFormatting guidelines for specific article types can be found below. Brief communication Case report Letter to the Editor Original article Narrative Review Syst…Length not stated
- narrative reviewFormatting guidelines for specific article types can be found below. Brief communication Case report Letter to the Editor Original article Narrative Review Syst…Length not stated
- original articleFormatting guidelines for specific article types can be found below. Brief communication Case report Letter to the Editor Original article Narrative Review Syst…Length not stated
- systematic reviewFormatting guidelines for specific article types can be found below. Brief communication Case report Letter to the Editor Original article Narrative Review Syst…Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteData availability, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review
- Data availability Formatting the 'Availability of data and materials' section of your manuscript
Data sharing strongly encouraged or required; deposit in public repositories where appropriate. Model summary
The following format for the 'Availability of data and materials section of your manuscript should be used:
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright Licensing and copyright
Creative Commons licences Open access articles in Springer Nature journals are published under Creative Commons licences. These provide an industry-standard framework to support easy re-use of open access material. Under Creative Commons licences, authors retain copyright of their articles. Journal of Orthopaedics and Traumatology articles are published open access under a CC BY-NC-ND (Creative Co…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Benefits of open access
Publishing open access (OA) offers a number of benefits, including greater reach and readership for your work: Cited more 1.6x more citations of OA articles than non-OA articles across all subjects Downloaded more 4x more downloads of OA articles than non-OA articles Greater impact 2.5x more Altmetric attention. OA articles attracted 1.9x more news mentions and 1.2x more policy mentions Open acces…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer review policy
Peer review is the process used to evaluate the quality of a manuscript before publication. Independent researchers in the relevant field assess submitted manuscripts to check their validity and robustness. Their feedback guides editors in making publication decisions. Typically, two or more experts evaluate each manuscript based on three main criteria: scientific robustness: is the research metho…
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Springer International Publishing
- Country or region
- ITALY
- Language
- English
- Founded
- 2000
- ISSN
- 1590-9921
- Electronic ISSN
- 1590-9999
- Society / sponsor
- Italian Society of Orthopaedics and Traumatology
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗DOAJ
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Author guidelines ↗LetPub
- Aims & Scope ↗LetPub
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
- APC information ↗DOAJ
- Fee waivers ↗DOAJ
- Open access statement ↗DOAJ
- License & copyright ↗DOAJ
- Peer review process ↗LetPub
- Editorial board ↗LetPub
- Plagiarism policy ↗DOAJ
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Journal of Orthopaedics and Traumatology
What CAS zone is Journal of Orthopaedics and Traumatology in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Journal of Orthopaedics and Traumatology is in Zone 2 of Medicine, and in Zone 2 of the minor category Orthopedics. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 2 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Journal of Orthopaedics and Traumatology?
The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 4.43; CiteScore 6.5, h-index 71.
How long does peer review take at Journal of Orthopaedics and Traumatology?
Based on the dates recorded on 99 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 119 days (interquartile range 93–173 days); authors report an average review time of about 13 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Journal of Orthopaedics and Traumatology?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Reference style: Vancouver; Suggested reviewers: Optional. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Journal of Orthopaedics and Traumatology based?
Of the 66 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are Italy (42), United States (8) and Germany (3). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Journal of Orthopaedics and Traumatology?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Journal of Orthopaedics and Traumatology is indexed in SCIE, Scopus and DOAJ. The journal's website also lists MEDLINE, Embase, CAS and Current Contents; that list has not been checked against each database.
Is Journal of Orthopaedics and Traumatology open access, and what is the APC?
Journal of Orthopaedics and Traumatology is a fully open-access journal. APC about USD 3,290.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, DOAJ, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .