Journal profile · ORTHOPEDICS
Arthroplasty
ISSN 2524-7948 · BMC · United Kingdom
Arthroplasty: CAS Zone 3 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 4.8 (journal website); fully open access; APC about USD 2,890; median 94 days to acceptance (97 articles, last 24 months); 66 articles in 2025; indexed in ESCI and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Arthroplasty is published by BMC and is in Zone 3 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Total Knee Arthroplasty Outcomes, Orthopaedic implants and arthroplasty and Orthopedic Infections and Treatments, together about 64.3% of its articles. Its main subfields are Surgery. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Arthroplasty aims at publishing latest research advances and clinical developments in the management of joint diseases and recovery. The articles published are subjected to rigorous peer-review and the international editorial board is committed to maintaining high quality standard and providing efficient publishing experience. Arthroplasty publishes original articles and reviews concerning joint replacement or the treatment of its complications, including clinical applications, surgical experience and prosthetic design. The journal will especially focus on the novel advances in the field of arthroplasty, including new technologies, biomaterials, prosthetic design etc.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): ORTHOPEDICS
Editor-in-chief Daniel J. BerryPublisher website
Editorial board by country: 41 in mainland China (about 38%); most named Mainland China 41, United States 11, South Korea 11, United Kingdom 6, Japan 6 (109 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Total Knee Arthroplasty OutcomesMedicine27.6%
- Orthopaedic implants and arthroplastyMedicine24.8%
- Orthopedic Infections and TreatmentsMedicine11.9%
- Hip and Femur FracturesMedicine5.1%
- Knee injuries and reconstruction techniquesMedicine3.4%
- Osteoarthritis Treatment and MechanismsMedicine2.9%
- Hip disorders and treatmentsMedicine2.9%
- Shoulder Injury and TreatmentMedicine2.1%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Orthopedics | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 2
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Orthopedics | Zone 2 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Orthopedics | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
Database indexing
ESCIScopusDOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
EmbaseCASPublisher website
Other: Google Scholar, ProQuest, Dimensions, CNKI, Baidu, Naver, OCLC, Portico, CLOCKSS, Semantic Scholar
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 4.8Publisher website ·
- 5-year impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 4Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 7.1LetPub ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 1.55LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 1.81LetPub ·
- h-index
- 29OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 143OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 3.66OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 6.2%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 100%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 64LetPub ·
- Downloads per year (publisher) 2025
- 392,800Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 419 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 72 | 72 | 23 |
| 2025 | 66 | 66 | 205 |
| 2024 | 62 | 62 | 503 |
| 2023 | 65 | 65 | 1,254 |
| 2022 | 53 | 53 | 1,065 |
| 2021 | 45 | 45 | 491 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with Crossref · to
94 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 76 days – 117 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 36 days (97 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 134 days
- Sample
- 97 articles with submission and acceptance dates (149 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 15 weeksLetPub ·
- Submission to first decision
- 12 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 15 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Single anonymous peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | EUR 2,390 / USD 2,890 / GBP 2,090 | Yes | CC BY | |
| OpenAlex | USD 2,790 / EUR 2,290 / GBP 1,990 | — | — | |
| LetPub | GBP 1,890 / USD 2,690 / EUR 2,190 | Yes | — | |
| Publisher website | GBP 2,090 / USD 2,890 / EUR 2,390 | — | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
Article types accepted4
- case reportFormatting guidelines for specific article types can be found below. Research Review Perspective Case ReportLength not stated
- perspectiveFormatting guidelines for specific article types can be found below. Research Review Perspective Case ReportLength not stated
- researchFormatting guidelines for specific article types can be found below. Research Review Perspective Case ReportLength not stated
- reviewFormatting guidelines for specific article types can be found below. Research Review Perspective Case ReportLength not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteData availability, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review
- Data availability Formatting the 'Availability of data and materials' section of your manuscript
Data availability strongly encouraged or required; deposit in public repositories or include in paper/supporting files. Model summary
The following format for the 'Availability of data and materials section of your manuscript should be used:
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright Licensing and copyright
Open access under CC BY licence (Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International). Model summary
Creative Commons licences Open access articles in Springer Nature journals are published under Creative Commons licences. These provide an industry-standard framework to support easy re-use of open access material. Under Creative Commons licences, authors retain copyright of their articles. Arthroplasty articles are published open access under a CC BY licence (Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 Inte…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Benefits of open access
Publishing open access (OA) offers a number of benefits, including greater reach and readership for your work: Cited more 1.6x more citations of OA articles than non-OA articles across all subjects Downloaded more 4x more downloads of OA articles than non-OA articles Greater impact 2.5x more Altmetric attention. OA articles attracted 1.9x more news mentions and 1.2x more policy mentions Open acces…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer review policy
Peer review is the process used to evaluate the quality of a manuscript before publication. Independent researchers in the relevant field assess submitted manuscripts to check their validity and robustness. Their feedback guides editors in making publication decisions. Typically, two or more experts evaluate each manuscript based on three main criteria: scientific robustness: is the research metho…
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- BMC
- Country or region
- United Kingdom
- Language
- English
- ISSN
- 2524-7948
- Society / sponsor
- Arthroplasty Society in Asia
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗DOAJ
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Author guidelines ↗LetPub
- Aims & Scope ↗LetPub
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
- APC information ↗DOAJ
- Fee waivers ↗DOAJ
- Open access statement ↗DOAJ
- License & copyright ↗DOAJ
- Peer review process ↗LetPub
- Editorial board ↗LetPub
- Plagiarism policy ↗DOAJ
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Arthroplasty
What CAS zone is Arthroplasty in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Arthroplasty is in Zone 3 of Medicine, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Orthopedics. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 2 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Arthroplasty?
The journal's website gives an impact factor of 4.8 (2025); this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 7.1, h-index 29.
How long does peer review take at Arthroplasty?
Based on the dates recorded on 97 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 94 days (interquartile range 76–117 days); authors report an average review time of about 15 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
Where are the editorial board members of Arthroplasty based?
Of the 109 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 41 (about 38%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are Mainland China (41), United States (11) and South Korea (11). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Arthroplasty?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Arthroplasty is indexed in ESCI, Scopus and DOAJ. The journal's website also lists Embase and CAS; that list has not been checked against each database.
Is Arthroplasty open access, and what is the APC?
Arthroplasty is a fully open-access journal. APC about USD 2,890.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, DOAJ, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .