Journal profile · Peripheral Vascular Disease

Thrombosis Research

ISSN 0049-3848 · eISSN 1879-2472 · Elsevier Ltd · UNITED STATES · Monthly

Thrombosis Research: CAS Zone 3 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 3.37; hybrid open access; APC about USD 4,080; median 84 days to acceptance (114 articles, last 24 months); community-reported acceptance: about 95%; 245 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE and Scopus.

Impact factor3.37Latest value listed by LetPub
CAS zoneZone 3 · Medicine2025 upgraded edition, major category · 2026 Xinrui edition Zone 3 · Medicine
Review time84 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · 114 articles, last 24 months · PubMed
APCUSD 4,080Hybrid journal: charged only for open-access articles
Acceptanceabout 95%Community average
Articles per year2452025 · OpenAlex count

Scope

Aims, scope and focus

Thrombosis Research is published by Elsevier Ltd and is in Zone 3 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Blood Coagulation and Thrombosis Mechanisms, Venous Thromboembolism Diagnosis and Management and Platelet Disorders and Treatments, together about 40% of its articles. Its main subfields are Hematology. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)

Vascular Obstruction, Hemorrhage and Hemostasis Affiliated journal to the North American Thrombosis Forum (NATF) and the Hemostasis and Thrombosis Research Society (HTRS)Thrombosis Research is an international journal with a goal of rapid dissemination of new information on thrombosis, hemostasis, and vascular biology to advance science and clinical care. The journal publishes peer-reviewed original research, along with reviews, editorials, and opinions and critics. Both basic and clinical studies are published. Publication of research which will lead to novel approaches in diagnosis, therapy, prognosis and prevention of thrombotic and hemorrhagic diseases is given high priority.

From the journal's Aims & Scope

Research area (LetPub): Peripheral Vascular Disease

Editor-in-chief Shannon BatesPublisher website

Editorial board by country: 2 in mainland China (about 2%); most named Canada 17, United States 15, Italy 11, Netherlands 7, Japan 4 (85 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·

Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate

  1. Blood Coagulation and Thrombosis MechanismsMedicine15.2%
  2. Venous Thromboembolism Diagnosis and ManagementMedicine15%
  3. Platelet Disorders and TreatmentsMedicine9.8%
  4. Blood properties and coagulationMedicine9%
  5. Antiplatelet Therapy and Cardiovascular DiseasesMedicine6.7%
  6. Atrial Fibrillation Management and OutcomesMedicine5.9%
  7. Heparin-Induced Thrombocytopenia and ThrombosisMedicine4.4%
  8. Protease and Inhibitor MechanismsBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology4.3%

Rankings & indexing

CAS ranking and database indexing

CAS Journal Ranking

CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 3
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 3
MinorHematologyZone 2
MinorPeripheral Vascular DiseaseZone 3

Top journal: noReview journal: no

CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 3
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 3
MinorHematologyZone 2
MinorPeripheral Vascular DiseaseZone 3

Top journal: noReview journal: not marked

CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Medicine Zone 3
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 3
MinorHematologyZone 3
MinorPeripheral Vascular DiseaseZone 3

Top journal: noReview journal: no

Database indexing

SCIEScopusLetPub

International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub

Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.

Metrics

Impact metrics and publication volume

Impact

Impact factor
3.37LetPub ·
Impact factor (publisher)
3.4Publisher website ·
CiteScore 2026-06
5.8LetPub ·
CiteScore (publisher)
5.8Publisher website ·
SJR 2026-06
1.05LetPub ·
SNIP 2026-06
1.07LetPub ·
h-index
102LetPub ·
h-index
173OpenAlex ·
i10-index
9,378OpenAlex ·
2-year mean citedness
2.67OpenAlex ·
Self-citation rate
2.9%LetPub ·
Share of gold OA articles
28.64%LetPub ·

Volume

Articles per year
158LetPub ·

Articles by year OpenAlex count · 20,243 in total · the current year is incomplete

YearArticlesOpen accessCitations
20262196253
202524586432
20243091411,581
20232731272,148
20223881543,634
20214621784,701

Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.

Review & acceptance

Review time and acceptance

Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with PubMed · to

84 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 57 days – 126 days

Acceptance to online
median 2 days (114 articles)
Submission to online
median 86 days
Sample
114 articles with submission and acceptance dates (503 in the window); the latest was accepted on

Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".

Other sources

Average review time (community reports)
about 1 monthLetPub ·
Average acceptance (community reports)
95%LetPub ·
Submission to first decision
2 daysPublisher website ·
First decision after review
35 daysPublisher website ·
Submission to acceptance
79 daysPublisher website ·
Acceptance to publication
4 daysPublisher website ·
Peer review
Single anonymous peer reviewPublisher website

Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.

Fees & open access

APC and open-access policy

Hybrid open accessLetPub

A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.

SourceAPCFee waiverLicenseObserved
OpenAlexUSD 4,080 / EUR 3,820 / GBP 3,270 / JPY 506,040——
Publisher websiteUSD 3,490——

A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.

The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.

Submission

Article types and submission policies (journal website)

What to prepare6 items from the author guidelines
Abstract
≤ 250 words
Keywords
1–7
Manuscript length
≤ 6,000 words
Reference style
Numbered, in order of citation
First submission
Free format: the journal's layout is not required
Highlights
Required
Publisher website · model-extracted, each line checked against the text
Article types accepted15
  1. correspondenceFull Length Articles are reports of original work. (5-6,000 words)Review Articles constitute a literature review of a particular area and can be clinical or con…Length not stated
  2. correspondence (letters-to-the-editor)Correspondence (Letters-to-the-Editor) are contributions which should be concerned with matters of interest to researchers in our field.Length not stated
  3. editorialFull Length Articles are reports of original work. (5-6,000 words)Review Articles constitute a literature review of a particular area and can be clinical or con…Length not stated
  4. editorialsEditorials provide comments on matters significant to the readers of Thrombosis Research. (1,500 words)Length not stated
  5. full length articlesFull Length Articles are reports of original work. (5-6,000 words)Length not stated
  6. letterFull Length Articles are reports of original work. (5-6,000 words)Review Articles constitute a literature review of a particular area and can be clinical or con…Length not stated
  7. letters to the editorFull Length Articles are reports of original work. (5-6,000 words)Review Articles constitute a literature review of a particular area and can be clinical or con…Length not stated
  8. literature reviewFull Length Articles are reports of original work. (5-6,000 words)Review Articles constitute a literature review of a particular area and can be clinical or con…Length not stated
  9. news items and announcementsIn addition to the above categories various News Items and Announcements will also be considered (500 words)Length not stated
  10. opinionFull Length Articles are reports of original work. (5-6,000 words)Review Articles constitute a literature review of a particular area and can be clinical or con…Length not stated
  11. reports of scientific meetingsReports of Scientific Meetings are published from time-to-time.Length not stated
  12. review articleFull Length Articles are reports of original work. (5-6,000 words)Review Articles constitute a literature review of a particular area and can be clinical or con…Length not stated
  13. review articlesReview Articles constitute a literature review of a particular area and can be clinical or concentrate on a basic science topic.Length not stated
  14. short reviewFull Length Articles are reports of original work. (5-6,000 words)Review Articles constitute a literature review of a particular area and can be clinical or con…Length not stated
  15. supplement issuesSupplement issues may cover various topics in the field of thrombosis and hemostasis.Length not stated
Publisher website
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Conflicts of interest, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Preprints
AI use Declaration of generative AI use

Authors must declare the use of generative AI tools in the manuscript preparation process upon submission of the paper.Generative AI and AI-assisted technologies (“AI tools”) have been rapidly adopted in research and scholarly publishing, offering significant benefits while requiring clear standards for responsible and transparent use.Authors preparing a manuscript for this journal may use AI tool…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Authorship Group authorship

Group authorship refers to the attribution of an article to a defined and named group of authors whose members have contributed to the work. Examples include research consortia, clinical trial groups, collaborative networks, task forces or working groups, expert panels or consensus groups, and participatory research groups. Group authorship must be declared on the title page at submission. When av…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Conflicts of interest Declaration of competing interests

All authors must disclose any financial and personal relationships with other people or organizations that could inappropriately influence or bias their work. Examples of potential competing interests include:EmploymentConsultanciesStock ownershipHonorariaPaid expert testimonyPatent applications or registrationsGrants or any other fundingAffiliation with the journal as an Editor or Advisory Board …

Source ↗Publisher website ·
License & copyright License options

Authors will be offered open access user license options which will determine how you, and third parties, can reuse your open access article. We advise that you review these options and any funding body license requirements before selecting a license option.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Open access Open access

We refer you to our open access information page to learn about open access options for this journal.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Peer review Peer review

Single anonymized peer review Model summary

This journal follows a single anonymized review process. Your submission will initially be assessed by our editors. If your submission is deemed suitable, it will typically be sent to be reviewed by a minimum of two reviewers for an independent expert assessment of the scientific quality. The decision as to whether your article is accepted or rejected for publication will be made by our editors.Re…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Preprints Preprints

Preprint sharingAuthors may share preprints in line with Elsevier's article sharing policy. Sharing preprints, such as on a preprint server, will not count as prior publication.We advise you to read our policy on multiple, redundant or concurrent publication. In support of Open Science, this journal offers its authors a free preprint posting service on SSRN, Elsevier’s preprint and early research …

Source ↗Publisher website ·

Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.

Profile

Publication details and official links

Publisher
Elsevier Ltd
Country or region
UNITED STATES
Language
Multi-Language
Frequency
Monthly
ISSN
0049-3848
Electronic ISSN
1879-2472
Official links

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about Thrombosis Research

What CAS zone is Thrombosis Research in?

In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Thrombosis Research is in Zone 3 of Medicine, and in Zone 2 of the minor category Hematology / Peripheral Vascular Disease. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 3 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.

What is the impact factor of Thrombosis Research?

The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 3.37; CiteScore 5.8, h-index 173.

How long does peer review take at Thrombosis Research?

Based on the dates recorded on 114 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 84 days (interquartile range 57–126 days); authors report an average review time of about 1 month; the community-reported acceptance is “about 95%”. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.

What are the manuscript requirements of Thrombosis Research?

According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 250 words; Keywords: 1–7; Manuscript length: ≤ 6,000 words; Reference style: Numbered, in order of citation; First submission: Free format: the journal's layout is not required; Highlights: Required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.

Where are the editorial board members of Thrombosis Research based?

Of the 85 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 2 (about 2%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are Canada (17), United States (15) and Italy (11). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.

Which databases index Thrombosis Research?

According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Thrombosis Research is indexed in SCIE and Scopus.

Is Thrombosis Research open access, and what is the APC?

Thrombosis Research is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 4,080.

Sources and updates

The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .