Journal profile · PERIPHERAL VASCULAR DISEASE
Atherosclerosis Plus
ISSN 2667-0895 · Elsevier · Netherlands
Atherosclerosis Plus: CAS Zone 4 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 3.35; fully open access; APC about USD 2,910; median 75 days to acceptance (79 articles, last 24 months); 54 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Atherosclerosis Plus is published by Elsevier and is in Zone 4 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Lipoproteins and Cardiovascular Health, Diabetes, Cardiovascular Risks, and Lipoproteins and Atherosclerosis and Cardiovascular Diseases, together about 45.9% of its articles. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Previously published as Atherosclerosis Supplements .Atherosclerosis Plus is supported by the European Atherosclerosis Society.Atherosclerosis Plus publishes both original research and review papers that address the key aspects of atherosclerosis, including its pathogenesis and genetic basis, its risk factors (e.g. dyslipidemia and lipid related disorders, hypertension, obesity, diabetes), and the impact of lifestyle modifications (e.g., smoking, diet, physical activity) and nutritional and pharmacological interventions aimed at the primary and secondary prevention of cardiovascular diseases and related conditions. Types of papers that can be submitted for consideration by the Editorial Board include Original Research Papers, Brief Communications, Case Reports, and Review Articles. Finally, the journal periodically publishes special theme issues devoted to areas of current interest.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): PERIPHERAL VASCULAR DISEASE
Editor-in-chief Nicola FerriPublisher website
Editorial board by country: 1 in mainland China (about 3%); most named Italy 11, Netherlands 7, United States 6, Greece 3, United Kingdom 2 (37 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Lipoproteins and Cardiovascular HealthMedicine25.7%
- Diabetes, Cardiovascular Risks, and LipoproteinsMedicine12.7%
- Atherosclerosis and Cardiovascular DiseasesImmunology and Microbiology7.5%
- Cholesterol and Lipid MetabolismMedicine5%
- Diverse Scientific and Economic StudiesEconomics, Econometrics and Finance4.8%
- Cancer, Lipids, and MetabolismBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology4.4%
- Lipid metabolism and disordersMedicine4.2%
- Human auditory perception and evaluationEngineering4.2%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Peripheral Vascular Disease | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Peripheral Vascular Disease | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Peripheral Vascular Disease | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
Database indexing
SCIEScopusDOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor
- 3.35LetPub ·
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 3.4Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 3.7LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher)
- 3.7Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.72LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.76LetPub ·
- h-index
- 17OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 37OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 1.61OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 0%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 100%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 31LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 321 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 66 | 66 | 12 |
| 2025 | 54 | 54 | 58 |
| 2024 | 54 | 54 | 210 |
| 2023 | 44 | 44 | 252 |
| 2022 | 56 | 56 | 235 |
| 2021 | 46 | 46 | 259 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with PubMed · to
75 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 57 days – 104 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 5 days (79 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 83 days
- Sample
- 79 articles with submission and acceptance dates (83 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 11 weeksLetPub ·
- Submission to first decision
- 8 daysPublisher website ·
- First decision after review
- 32 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to acceptance
- 77 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication
- 2 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 12 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Single anonymous peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | USD 2,910 | Yes | CC BY, CC BY-NC, CC BY-NC-ND | |
| OpenAlex | USD 2,440 / EUR 2,280 / GBP 1,950 / JPY 302,630 | — | — | |
| LetPub | USD 2,050 | Yes | — | |
| Publisher website | USD 2,980 | — | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
Open calls for papers1, by deadline
Publisher websiteWhat to prepare7 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 250 words
- Keywords
- 1–7
- Reference style
- Numbered, in order of citation
- Suggested reviewers
- Optional
- Highlights
- Required
- Graphical abstract
- Optional
- Not considered
- case reports
Article types accepted4
- brief communicationsTypes of papers that can be submitted for consideration by the Editorial Board include Original Research Papers, Brief Communications, Case Reports, and Review …Length not stated
- case reportsTypes of papers that can be submitted for consideration by the Editorial Board include Original Research Papers, Brief Communications, Case Reports, and Review …Length not stated
- original research papersTypes of papers that can be submitted for consideration by the Editorial Board include Original Research Papers, Brief Communications, Case Reports, and Review …Length not stated
- review articlesTypes of papers that can be submitted for consideration by the Editorial Board include Original Research Papers, Brief Communications, Case Reports, and Review …Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Conflicts of interest, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Preprints
- AI use Declaration of generative AI use
Authors must declare the use of generative AI tools in the manuscript preparation process upon submission of the paper.Generative AI and AI-assisted technologies (“AI tools”) have been rapidly adopted in research and scholarly publishing, offering significant benefits while requiring clear standards for responsible and transparent use.Authors preparing a manuscript for this journal may use AI tool…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Authorship Group authorship
Abstract limit 250 words Model summary
Group authorship refers to the attribution of an article to a defined and named group of authors whose members have contributed to the work. Examples include research consortia, clinical trial groups, collaborative networks, task forces or working groups, expert panels or consensus groups, and participatory research groups. Group authorship must be declared on the title page at submission. When av…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Conflicts of interest Declaration of competing interests
All authors must disclose any financial and personal relationships with other people or organizations that could inappropriately influence or bias their work. Examples of potential competing interests include:EmploymentConsultanciesStock ownershipHonorariaPaid expert testimonyPatent applications or registrationsGrants or any other fundingAffiliation with the journal as an Editor or Advisory Board …
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright License options
Authors will be offered open access user license options which will determine how you, and third parties, can reuse your open access article. We advise that you review these options and any funding body license requirements before selecting a license option.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Open access
We refer you to our open access information page to learn about open access options for this journal.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer review
Single anonymized review process Model summary
This journal follows a single anonymized review process. Your submission will initially be assessed by our editors. If your submission is deemed suitable, it will typically be sent to be reviewed by a minimum of two reviewers for an independent expert assessment of the scientific quality. The decision as to whether your article is accepted or rejected for publication will be made by our editors.Re…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints Preprints
Preprint sharing allowed Model summary
Preprint sharingAuthors may share preprints in line with Elsevier's article sharing policy. Sharing preprints, such as on a preprint server, will not count as prior publication.We advise you to read our policy on multiple, redundant or concurrent publication. In support of Open Science, this journal offers its authors a free preprint posting service on SSRN, Elsevier’s preprint and early research …
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Elsevier
- Country or region
- Netherlands
- Language
- English
- ISSN
- 2667-0895
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗DOAJ
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Author guidelines ↗DOAJ
- Aims & Scope ↗DOAJ
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
- APC information ↗DOAJ
- Fee waivers ↗DOAJ
- Open access statement ↗DOAJ
- License & copyright ↗DOAJ
- Peer review process ↗DOAJ
- Editorial board ↗DOAJ
- Plagiarism policy ↗DOAJ
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Atherosclerosis Plus
What CAS zone is Atherosclerosis Plus in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Atherosclerosis Plus is in Zone 4 of Medicine, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Peripheral Vascular Disease. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 3 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Atherosclerosis Plus?
The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 3.35; CiteScore 3.7, h-index 17.
How long does peer review take at Atherosclerosis Plus?
Based on the dates recorded on 79 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 75 days (interquartile range 57–104 days); authors report an average review time of about 11 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Atherosclerosis Plus?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 250 words; Keywords: 1–7; Reference style: Numbered, in order of citation; Suggested reviewers: Optional; Highlights: Required; Graphical abstract: Optional. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Atherosclerosis Plus based?
Of the 37 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 1 (about 3%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are Italy (11), Netherlands (7) and United States (6). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Atherosclerosis Plus?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Atherosclerosis Plus is indexed in SCIE, Scopus and DOAJ.
Is Atherosclerosis Plus open access, and what is the APC?
Atherosclerosis Plus is a fully open-access journal. APC about USD 2,910.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex, DOAJ; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .