Journal profile · Multiple

Teaching Theology and Religion

ISSN 1368-4868 · eISSN 1467-9647 · Wiley-Blackwell

Teaching Theology and Religion: CAS Zone 4 · Philosophy (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 0.3 (journal website); hybrid open access; APC about USD 2,900; median 189 days to acceptance (43 articles, last 24 months); acceptance rate 44% (journal website); 28 articles in 2025; indexed in ESCI and Scopus.

Impact factor0.3From the journal's website, 2025 value
CAS zoneZone 4 · Philosophy2025 upgraded edition, major category · 2026 Xinrui edition Zone 4 · Philosophy
Review time189 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · 43 articles, last 24 months · Crossref
APCUSD 2,900Hybrid journal: charged only for open-access articles
Acceptance44%From the journal's website (2025)
Articles per year282025 · OpenAlex count

Scope

Aims, scope and focus

Teaching Theology and Religion is published by Wiley-Blackwell and is in Zone 4 of Philosophy in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Religious Education and Schools, Biblical Studies and Interpretation and Religion, Society, and Development, together about 39.4% of its articles. Its main subfields are Sociology and Political Science. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)

Teaching Theology & Religion is divided into four primary subsections:1. ArticlesPrimary articles range from 4,000 to 7,000 words, or longer (15 to 25 pages, double-spaced). These articles raise pedagogical issues that are relevant to religion or theology classrooms or institutions at the higher-education level. Articles can focus on a particular pedagogical challenge or present a course review to introduce teaching a particular religion or topic that serves as a resource for other educators. Strong submissions attend to at least one of the four areas described above. Articles may situate concepts within the wider field of scholarship on teaching. Articles are subject to anonymous peer-review.2. Teaching and Learning in ActionThis section provides shorter (around 3,000 words) and more immediately accessible essays that address concrete issues in classroom teaching practice. These manuscripts are subject to internal editorial review and are also sent out for blind peer-review depending on the nature of the manuscript.3. Teaching NoteManuscripts in this section are short 400-word descriptions of a successful teaching strategy that could be reproduced by another instructor. Submissions should include the following headings: 1) context (students, institution, course), 2) pedagogical purpose, 3) the strategy itself, and 4) why and how it was effective. A successful Teaching Note allows the reader to go beyond the author's narrow context and course.4. ReviewsAuthors may submit unsolicited reviews of books related to any aspect of teaching and learning in theology and religion. Reviews must include all publication data and are around 800-1200 words. Authors interested in reviewing a book that has not already been reviewed may contact the co-editors to have a review copy sent. Reviews of learning technology that has been used in the religious studies or theological classroom are also accepted.

From the journal's Aims & Scope

Research area (LetPub): Multiple

Editor-in-chief Kyle Schiefelbein-GuerreroPublisher website

Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate

  1. Religious Education and SchoolsSocial Sciences24.6%
  2. Biblical Studies and InterpretationArts and Humanities7.7%
  3. Religion, Society, and DevelopmentSocial Sciences7.1%
  4. Education and Critical Thinking DevelopmentSocial Sciences5.7%
  5. Theological Perspectives and PracticesSocial Sciences5.6%
  6. Religion and Society InteractionsSocial Sciences5.5%
  7. American Constitutional Law and PoliticsSocial Sciences4.8%
  8. Media, Religion, Digital CommunicationArts and Humanities4.4%

Rankings & indexing

CAS ranking and database indexing

CAS Journal Ranking

CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Philosophy Zone 4
LevelCategoryZone
MajorPhilosophyZone 4
MinorEducation & Educational ResearchZone 4
MinorReligionZone 4

Top journal: noReview journal: no

CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Philosophy Zone 4
LevelCategoryZone
MajorPhilosophyZone 4
MinorEducation & Educational ResearchZone 4
MinorReligionZone 4

Top journal: noReview journal: not marked

CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

Database indexing

ESCIScopusLetPub

International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub

Indexing the journal's website claims

Web of ScienceERICPublisher website

Other: EBSCO, ProQuest

As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.

Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.

Metrics

Impact metrics and publication volume

Impact

Impact factor (publisher)
0.3Publisher website ·
Impact factor (publisher) 2025
0.3Publisher website ·
CiteScore 2026-06
0.5LetPub ·
CiteScore (publisher)
0.5Publisher website ·
CiteScore (publisher) 2025
0.5Publisher website ·
SJR 2026-06
0.21LetPub ·
SNIP 2026-06
0.39LetPub ·
h-index
26OpenAlex ·
i10-index
116OpenAlex ·
2-year mean citedness
0.74OpenAlex ·
Self-citation rate
33.3%LetPub ·
Share of gold OA articles
33.93%LetPub ·

Volume

Articles per year
16LetPub ·
Articles per year (publisher) 2025
18Publisher website ·
Downloads per year (publisher) 2025
32,548Publisher website ·

Articles by year OpenAlex count · 1,679 in total · the current year is incomplete

YearArticlesOpen accessCitations
20261780
2025281621
2024321736
2023282024
202225517
202135183

Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.

Review & acceptance

Review time and acceptance

Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with Crossref · to

189 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 133 days – 302 days

Acceptance to online
median 16 days (43 articles)
Submission to online
median 203 days
Sample
43 articles with submission and acceptance dates (50 in the window); the latest was accepted on

Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".

Other sources

Acceptance rate (publisher)
44%Publisher website ·
Acceptance rate (publisher) 2025
44%Publisher website ·
Submission to first decision
39 daysPublisher website ·
Submission to first decision 2025
39 daysPublisher website ·
Submission to acceptance 2025
131 daysPublisher website ·
Acceptance to publication 2025
17 daysPublisher website ·
Peer review
Double anonymous peer reviewPublisher website

Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.

Fees & open access

APC and open-access policy

Hybrid open accessLetPub

A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.

SourceAPCFee waiverLicenseObserved
OpenAlexUSD 2,900 / EUR 2,400 / GBP 1,930——
Publisher websiteYes, amount not published——

A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.

The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.

Submission

Article types and submission policies (journal website)

What to prepare4 items from the author guidelines
Abstract
100–150 words
Keywords
7
Manuscript length
≤ 7,000 words
Reference style
Chicago
Publisher website · model-extracted, each line checked against the text
Article types accepted5, with length limits
  1. articlesPrimary articles range from 4,000 to 7,000 words, or longer (15 to 25 pages, double-spaced).Length not stated
  2. reviewand learning in theology and religion. Reviews must include all publication data and are around 800 to 1200 words. Authors interested in reviewing a book that h…main text ≤ 1,200 words
  3. reviewsAuthors may submit unsolicited reviews of books related to any aspect of teaching and learning in theology and religion. Reviews must include all publication da…Length not stated
  4. teaching and learning in actionThis section provides shorter (around 3,000 words) and more immediately accessible essays that address concrete issues in classroom teaching practice.Length not stated
  5. teaching noteManuscripts in this section are short 400-word descriptions of a successful teaching strategy that could be reproduced by another instructor.Length not stated
Publisher website
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAuthorship, Conflicts of interest, Data availability, Publication ethics, Peer review, Plagiarism
Authorship Authorship

The list of authors should accurately illustrate who contributed to the work and how. All those listed as authors should qualify for authorship according to the following criteria: Have made substantial contributions to conception and design, or acquisition of data, or analysis and interpretation of data; and Been involved in drafting the manuscript or revising it critically for important intellec…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Conflicts of interest Conflict of Interest

The journal requires that all authors disclose any potential sources of conflict of interest. Any interest or relationship, financial or otherwise that might be perceived as influencing an author's objectivity is considered a potential source of conflict of interest. These must be disclosed when directly relevant or directly related to the work that the authors describe in their manuscript. Potent…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Data availability Data Sharing and Data Accessibility

Please review Wiley’s policy here. This journal encourages data sharing.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Publication ethics 4. EDITORIAL POLICIES AND ETHICAL CONSIDERATIONS

Peer Review and Acceptance The acceptance criteria for all papers are the quality and originality of the research and its significance to journal readership. Except where otherwise stated, manuscripts are double-blind peer reviewed. Papers will only be sent to review if the Editors determine that the paper meets the appropriate quality and relevance requirements. In-house submissions, i.e. papers …

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Peer review Peer Review and Acceptance

COPE member Model summary

The acceptance criteria for all papers are the quality and originality of the research and its significance to journal readership. Except where otherwise stated, manuscripts are double-blind peer reviewed. Papers will only be sent to review if the Editors determine that the paper meets the appropriate quality and relevance requirements. In-house submissions, i.e. papers authored by Editors or Edit…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Plagiarism

iThenticate CrossCheck Model summary

Note this journal uses iThenticate’s CrossCheck software to detect instances of overlapping and similar text in submitted manuscripts.

Source ↗Publisher website ·

Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.

Profile

Publication details and official links

Publisher
Wiley-Blackwell
ISSN
1368-4868
Electronic ISSN
1467-9647
Latest issue on the website
Volume 29, Issue 1 (June 2026)
Official links

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about Teaching Theology and Religion

What CAS zone is Teaching Theology and Religion in?

In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Teaching Theology and Religion is in Zone 4 of Philosophy, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Education & Educational Research / Religion. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 4 of Philosophy. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.

What is the impact factor of Teaching Theology and Religion?

The journal's website gives an impact factor of 0.3 (2025); this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 0.5, h-index 26.

How long does peer review take at Teaching Theology and Religion?

Based on the dates recorded on 43 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 189 days (interquartile range 133–302 days); the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 44% (2025). Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.

What are the manuscript requirements of Teaching Theology and Religion?

According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: 100–150 words; Keywords: 7; Manuscript length: ≤ 7,000 words; Reference style: Chicago. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.

Which databases index Teaching Theology and Religion?

According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Teaching Theology and Religion is indexed in ESCI and Scopus. The journal's website also lists Web of Science and ERIC; that list has not been checked against each database.

Is Teaching Theology and Religion open access, and what is the APC?

Teaching Theology and Religion is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 2,900.

Sources and updates

The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .