Journal profile · PSYCHOLOGY, EDUCATIONAL
School Psychology International
ISSN 0143-0343 · eISSN 1461-7374 · SAGE
School Psychology International: CAS Zone 4 · Psychology (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 3.19; hybrid open access; APC about USD 3,650; review about 265 days (submission to acceptance, publisher); acceptance rate 7.2% (journal website); 36 articles in 2025; indexed in SSCI and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
School Psychology International is published by SAGE and is in Zone 4 of Psychology in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Child and Adolescent Psychosocial and Emotional Development, Educational and Psychological Assessments and Early Childhood Education and Development, together about 40.8% of its articles. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Published six times a year, School Psychology International highlights the concerns of those who provide quality mental health, educational, therapeutic and support services to schools and their communities throughout the world. It offers articles reflecting high quality academic research in the field as well as examples of proven best practice. View full journal description This journal is a member of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE).
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): PSYCHOLOGY, EDUCATIONAL
Editor-in-chief Sally Grapin MontclairPublisher website
Editorial board by country: 6 in mainland China (about 8%); most named United States 33, Mainland China 6, South Africa 4, Australia 3, Hong Kong, China 2 (73 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Child and Adolescent Psychosocial and Emotional DevelopmentPsychology16.3%
- Educational and Psychological AssessmentsPsychology12.3%
- Early Childhood Education and DevelopmentSocial Sciences12.2%
- Bullying, Victimization, and AggressionPsychology7.7%
- Counseling Practices and SupervisionPsychology5.6%
- Behavioral and Psychological StudiesPsychology5.6%
- Parental Involvement in EducationSocial Sciences5.4%
- Family and Disability Support ResearchPsychology3.7%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Psychology Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Psychology | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Psychology, Educational | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Psychology Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Psychology | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Psychology, Educational | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Psychology Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Psychology | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Psychology, Educational | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
Database indexing
SSCIScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor
- 3.19LetPub ·
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 3.2Publisher website ·
- 5-year impact factor (publisher)
- 3.3Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 4.3LetPub ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.94LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 1.13LetPub ·
- h-index
- 94OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 855OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 1.62OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 6.2%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 18.07%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 35LetPub ·
- Articles per year (publisher)
- 3Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 1,995 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 22 | 5 | 7 |
| 2025 | 36 | 10 | 41 |
| 2024 | 16 | 11 | 72 |
| 2023 | 35 | 15 | 356 |
| 2022 | 52 | 13 | 427 |
| 2021 | 32 | 10 | 553 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Publisher-reported review time from the journal's website
265 dayssubmission to acceptance
The publisher's own definition applies; dates from this journal's articles in the last 24 months are not available yet, so the publisher's figure is used.
Figures by source
- Acceptance rate (publisher)
- 7.2%Publisher website ·
- Submission to first decision
- 8 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to acceptance
- 265 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication
- 33 daysPublisher website ·
- Peer review
- Double anonymous peer reviewPublisher website
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAlex | USD 3,650 / GBP 2,676 | — | — | |
| Publisher website | Yes, amount not published | — | — |
A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
Article types accepted6
- editorialView our Special Collections currently accepting submissions. Please visit the Sage Journal Author Gateway for guidance on producing visual and/or video abstrac…Length not stated
- letterView our Special Collections currently accepting submissions. Please visit the Sage Journal Author Gateway for guidance on producing visual and/or video abstrac…Length not stated
- literature reviewView our Special Collections currently accepting submissions. Please visit the Sage Journal Author Gateway for guidance on producing visual and/or video abstrac…Length not stated
- original researchView our Special Collections currently accepting submissions. Please visit the Sage Journal Author Gateway for guidance on producing visual and/or video abstrac…Length not stated
- perspectiveView our Special Collections currently accepting submissions. Please visit the Sage Journal Author Gateway for guidance on producing visual and/or video abstrac…Length not stated
- review articleView our Special Collections currently accepting submissions. Please visit the Sage Journal Author Gateway for guidance on producing visual and/or video abstrac…Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAuthorship, Data availability, Publication ethics, Open access, Peer review, Plagiarism, Preprints, Trial registration / reporting guidelines
- Authorship Author contributions
You will be asked to list the contribution of each author as part of the submission process. Please include the Author Contributions heading within your submission after the Acknowledgements section. The information you give on submission will then show under the Author Contributions heading later at the proofing stage.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Data availability Data availability
The Journal is committed to facilitating openness, transparency and reproducibility of research, and has the following research data sharing policy. For more information, including FAQs please visit the Sage Research Data policy pages. Subject to appropriate ethical and legal considerations, authors are encouraged to: Share your research data in a relevant public data repository Include a data ava…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Publication ethics Ethical considerations
Please include your ethics approval statements under this heading, even if you have already included ethics approval information in your methods section. If ethical approval was not required, you need to explicitly state this. All papers reporting studies involving human participants, human data or human tissue must state that the relevant Ethics Committee or Institutional Review Board approved th…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Publishing fees and open access
There are no fees payable to submit or publish in this journal. Figures submitted in color will be published in color in the online version of the journal at no cost. For specifically requested colour reproduction in print, you will receive information regarding the costs from Sage after receipt of your accepted article. Optional open access publishing is available for a fee via the Sage Choice pr…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer review policy
Double anonymized peer review Model summary
The following summary describes the peer review process for this journal: Identity transparency: Double-anonymized Reviewer interacts with: Editor Review information published: None Your manuscript will undergo an initial evaluation. If it does not conform to the requirements laid out in these guidelines, it will be returned to you for amendments prior to peer review. Manuscripts may be desk rejec…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Plagiarism Plagiarism
The journal and Sage take issues of copyright infringement, plagiarism or other breaches of best practice in publication very seriously. Please read Sage's complete policy on plagiarism and the actions we may take.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints Preprints
Preprints not accepted Model summary
The journal does not accept submissions of manuscripts that have been posted on preprint servers.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Trial registration / reporting guidelines Reporting guidelines
Your manuscript must follow the relevant EQUATOR Network reporting guidelines, depending on the type of study. The EQUATOR wizard can help identify the appropriate guideline. You will need to upload the appropriate checklist with your submission. Other resources can be found at NLM’s Research Reporting Guidelines and Initiatives.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- SAGE
- ISSN
- 0143-0343
- Electronic ISSN
- 1461-7374
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about School Psychology International
What CAS zone is School Psychology International in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, School Psychology International is in Zone 4 of Psychology, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Psychology, Educational. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 3 of Psychology. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of School Psychology International?
The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 3.19; CiteScore 4.3, h-index 94.
How long does peer review take at School Psychology International?
The publisher reports about 265 days (submission to acceptance); the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 7.2%. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
Where are the editorial board members of School Psychology International based?
Of the 73 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 6 (about 8%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (33), Mainland China (6) and South Africa (4). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index School Psychology International?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, School Psychology International is indexed in SSCI and Scopus.
Is School Psychology International open access, and what is the APC?
School Psychology International is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 3,650.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .