Journal profile · Social Sciences-Education
RMLE Online
ISSN 1940-4476 · Taylor & Francis · United States
FollowGet an email when its zone, impact factor or warning status changes
RMLE Online: fully open access; APC charged, amount not published; review about 12 weeks (community reports); acceptance rate 25% (journal website); 10 articles in 2025; indexed in Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
RMLE Online is published by Taylor & Francis. By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Teacher Education and Leadership Studies, Educational Environments and Student Outcomes and Innovative Teaching and Learning Methods, together about 27.3% of its articles. Its main subfields are Education. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
RMLE Online is a peer reviewed journal publishing all topics on research in middle level education. It is published on behalf of the Association for Middle Level Education. The Middle Level Educational Research Special Interest Group of the American Educational Research Association endorses RMLE Online. The primary aim of the journal is to provide education research on the middle level grades. The readership is aimed at educators to help them create opportunities for young adolescents in their education, growth, and development. RMLE Online publishes research covering the entire breadth of middle level education, including but not limited to: Best practice for educators Educational and development needs of young adolescents Middle school education policy Tools and information for teachers and administrators to help engage students in the 10-15 age bracket Classroom management The Common Core STEM in the Middle Grade curriculum The journal accepts original research articles, quantitative and qualitative studies, case studies, action research studies, research syntheses, integrative reviews, and interpretations of research literature. The journal operates a triple-anonymized peer review policy.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Social Sciences-Education
Editor-in-chief David C. VirtuePublisher website
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Teacher Education and Leadership StudiesSocial Sciences13.9%
- Educational Environments and Student OutcomesSocial Sciences7.3%
- Innovative Teaching and Learning MethodsPsychology6%
- Educational Assessment and ImprovementDecision Sciences5.8%
- Education, Achievement, and GiftednessPsychology5.5%
- Early Childhood Education and DevelopmentSocial Sciences5.3%
- School Choice and PerformanceSocial Sciences5.1%
- Mathematics Education and Teaching TechniquesSocial Sciences4.5%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CiteScore quartiles (Scopus, June 2026 release)
| Subject | Quartile | Rank | Percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| Education | Q2 | 656/1698 | 61st |
Scopus ranks journals by CiteScore within each subject: the 75th percentile and above is Q1, then a quartile every 25 points. A different system from the CAS zones.LetPub
JCR / CiteScore quartiles on the journal's website
- CiteScore Q2 · 2025
Publisher-reported: JCR figures are Clarivate's and CiteScore figures Scopus's to confirm; both are a different system from the CAS zones.Publisher website
Database indexing
ScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
ERICPublisher website
Other: ProQuest, EBSCOhost, ERIC (Education Resources Information Center), Ovid
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 2.9LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher) 2025
- 2.9Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.47LetPub ·
- SJR (publisher) 2025
- 0.47Publisher website ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.68LetPub ·
- SNIP (publisher) 2025
- 0.68Publisher website ·
- h-index
- 36OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 146OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 2.45OpenAlex ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 0%LetPub ·
- Downloads per year (publisher)
- 101,000Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 304 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 8 | 2 | 187 |
| 2025 | 10 | 1 | 362 |
| 2024 | 11 | 2 | 410 |
| 2023 | 10 | 4 | 439 |
| 2022 | 10 | 7 | 386 |
| 2021 | 10 | 10 | 399 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 12 weeksLetPub ·
- Acceptance rate (publisher)
- 25%Publisher website ·
- Submission to first decision
- 68 daysPublisher website ·
- Peer review
- Double blind peer reviewLetPub
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| LetPub | No APC | Yes | — | |
| Publisher website | Yes, amount not published | — | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
Article types accepted7
- action research studiesThe journal accepts original research articles, quantitative and qualitative studies, case studies, action research studies, research syntheses, integrative rev…Length not stated
- case studiesThe journal accepts original research articles, quantitative and qualitative studies, case studies, action research studies, research syntheses, integrative rev…Length not stated
- integrative reviewsThe journal accepts original research articles, quantitative and qualitative studies, case studies, action research studies, research syntheses, integrative rev…Length not stated
- interpretations of research literatureThe journal accepts original research articles, quantitative and qualitative studies, case studies, action research studies, research syntheses, integrative rev…Length not stated
- original research articlesThe journal accepts original research articles, quantitative and qualitative studies, case studies, action research studies, research syntheses, integrative rev…Length not stated
- quantitative and qualitative studiesThe journal accepts original research articles, quantitative and qualitative studies, case studies, action research studies, research syntheses, integrative rev…Length not stated
- research synthesesThe journal accepts original research articles, quantitative and qualitative studies, case studies, action research studies, research syntheses, integrative rev…Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteOpen access, Peer review
- Open access Open access
RMLE Online is a hybrid open access journal that is part of the Taylor & Francis Open Select publishing program, giving you the option to publish open access. Publishing open access means that your article will be free to access online immediately on publication, increasing the visibility, readership, and impact of your research. Why choose open access? Increase the discoverability and readership …
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review
Triple-anonymized peer review Model summary
The journal operates a triple-anonymized peer review policy.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Before you submit
Five checks before submitting to RMLE Online
- 1ScopeRecent output centres on Teacher Education and Leadership Studies, Educational Environments and Student Outcomes.Check scope
- 2Article type and formatPrepare text, figures and references as the author guidelines ask.Author guidelines ↗
- 3English languagePolish grammar and academic style before you submit: it lowers the risk of rejection for language and improves your chances of acceptance.
- 4FeesNo APC (LetPub), waivers availableFee details
- 5Expected review timeabout 12 weeks · Community averageReview data
The checks are built from this page's data.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Taylor & Francis
- Country or region
- United States
- Language
- English
- ISSN
- 1940-4476
- Society / sponsor
- Association for Middle Level Education
- Latest issue on the website
- Volume 49, Issue 7 (2026)
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Author guidelines ↗LetPub
- Aims & Scope ↗LetPub
- Peer review process ↗LetPub
- Editorial board ↗LetPub
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about RMLE Online
How long does peer review take at RMLE Online?
Authors report an average review time of about 12 weeks; the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 25%. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
Which databases index RMLE Online?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, RMLE Online is indexed in Scopus. The journal's website also lists ERIC; that list has not been checked against each database.
Is RMLE Online open access, and what is the APC?
RMLE Online is a fully open-access journal. APC charged, amount not published.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .