Journal profile · EDUCATION & EDUCATIONAL RESEARCH

Research in Mathematics Education

ISSN 1479-4802 · eISSN 1754-0178 · Taylor & Francis

Research in Mathematics Education: CAS Zone 4 · Education (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 1.1 (journal website); hybrid open access; APC charged, amount not published; median 309 days to acceptance (56 articles, last 24 months); acceptance rate 17% (journal website); 33 articles in 2025; indexed in ESCI and Scopus.

Impact factor1.1From the journal's website, 2025 value
CAS zoneZone 4 · Education2025 upgraded edition, major category · 2026 Xinrui edition Zone 3 · Education
Review time309 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · 56 articles, last 24 months · Crossref
APCCharged, amount not publishedHybrid journal: charged only for open-access articles
Acceptance17%From the journal's website
Articles per year332025 · OpenAlex count

Scope

Aims, scope and focus

Research in Mathematics Education is published by Taylor & Francis and is in Zone 4 of Education in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Mathematics Education and Teaching Techniques, Cognitive and developmental aspects of mathematical skills and Innovative Teaching and Learning Methods, together about 46.2% of its articles. Its main subfields are Education. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)

Research in Mathematics Education is an international, peer-reviewed journal that publishes research articles addressing empirical, theoretical, pedagogical, and methodological aspects specifically related to mathematics education. Published articles in the journal present new insights and developments in mathematics education research across all education phases and age levels. address research that goes beyond local or national interests. More localised studies are framed in an international context, meaningfully contributing to the state-of-the art in the mathematics education field. use rigorous methodological approaches, including mixed methods, qualitative, quantitative, computational methods, reviews etc. The journal embraces all research paradigms, such as constructionist, cognitivist, and others. All submitted manuscripts need to be backed by rigorous research, and those primarily focusing on applied mathematics are outside the journal’s remit. The Research Papers section contains reports of studies involving empirical investigation and theoretical argumentation from which conclusions and implications can be drawn for future research and practice. Such reports are expected to show how the study builds on critical review of relevant literature and to provide an account of the methods and procedures used. Reports on thoughtful replications or variations of key earlier studies are welcome, as are critical reviews of some well-defined aspect of mathematics education. The journal welcomes high-quality research in any methodological tradition and is open to innovative and unusual approaches. All submissions are peer-reviewed. The Current Reports section contains short summaries of research papers which have been recently published in the online informal proceedings of the meetings of BSRLM. The Book Reviews section contains reviews of recent publications in the field. While reviews may focus on individual works, they may examine several recent publications on cognate topics. In this spirit too, reviewers are encouraged to make explicit reference to relevant earlier work in the field and to other contemporary work, clearly locating the new text within the literature of the field, and providing thoughtful comparison. Research in Mathematics Education is the official journal of the British Society for Research into Learning Mathematics. Peer Review Policy: All research articles published in this journal have undergone rigorous peer review, based on initial

From the journal's Aims & Scope

Research area (LetPub): EDUCATION & EDUCATIONAL RESEARCH

Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named United Kingdom 2, Canada 1, Australia 1, New Zealand 1 (5 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·

Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate

  1. Mathematics Education and Teaching TechniquesSocial Sciences28.5%
  2. Cognitive and developmental aspects of mathematical skillsMathematics11.8%
  3. Innovative Teaching and Learning MethodsPsychology6%
  4. Mathematics Education and ProgramsMathematics5.5%
  5. Education and Technology IntegrationSocial Sciences5.3%
  6. Teacher Education and Leadership StudiesSocial Sciences4.3%
  7. Science Education and PedagogySocial Sciences4.2%
  8. Statistics Education and MethodologiesMathematics3.4%

Rankings & indexing

CAS ranking and database indexing

CAS Journal Ranking

CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Education Zone 4
LevelCategoryZone
MajorEducationZone 4
MinorEducation & Educational ResearchZone 4

Top journal: noReview journal: no

CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Education Zone 3
LevelCategoryZone
MajorEducationZone 3
MinorEducation & Educational ResearchZone 3

Top journal: noReview journal: not marked

CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

JCR / CiteScore quartiles on the journal's website

Publisher-reported: JCR figures are Clarivate's and CiteScore figures Scopus's to confirm; both are a different system from the CAS zones.Publisher website

Database indexing

ESCIScopusLetPub

International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub

Indexing the journal's website claims

British Education Index (BEI), Educational Research Abstracts Online (ERA)Publisher website

As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.

Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.

Metrics

Impact metrics and publication volume

Impact

Impact factor (publisher) 2025
1.1Publisher website ·
5-year impact factor (publisher) 2025
1.5Publisher website ·
CiteScore 2026-06
4.1LetPub ·
CiteScore (publisher) 2025
4.1Publisher website ·
SJR 2026-06
0.98LetPub ·
SJR (publisher) 2025
0.98Publisher website ·
SNIP 2026-06
1.22LetPub ·
SNIP (publisher) 2025
1.22Publisher website ·
h-index
43OpenAlex ·
i10-index
229OpenAlex ·
2-year mean citedness
1.57OpenAlex ·
Self-citation rate
9.1%LetPub ·
Share of gold OA articles
33.75%LetPub ·

Volume

Articles per year
27LetPub ·
Downloads per year (publisher)
115,000Publisher website ·

Articles by year OpenAlex count · 737 in total · the current year is incomplete

YearArticlesOpen accessCitations
202631193
2025331562
2024372194
20233417135
20224814361
20212813347

Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.

Review & acceptance

Review time and acceptance

Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with Crossref · to

309 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 243 days – 444 days

Acceptance to online
median 29 days (56 articles)
Submission to online
median 365 days
Sample
56 articles with submission and acceptance dates (71 in the window); the latest was accepted on

Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".

Other sources

Acceptance rate (publisher)
17%Publisher website ·
Submission to first decision
81 daysPublisher website ·
First decision after review
149 daysPublisher website ·
Acceptance to publication
80 daysPublisher website ·

Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.

Fees & open access

APC and open-access policy

Hybrid open accessLetPub

A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.

SourceAPCFee waiverLicenseObserved
Publisher websiteYes, amount not published——

A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.

The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.

Submission

Article types and submission policies (journal website)

Article types accepted3
  1. book reviewsThe Book Reviews section contains reviews of recent publications in the field.Length not stated
  2. current reportsThe Current Reports section contains short summaries of research papers which have been recently published in the online informal proceedings of the meetings of…Length not stated
  3. research papersThe Research Papers section contains reports of studies involving empirical investigation and theoretical argumentation from which conclusions and implications …Length not stated
Publisher website
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteOpen access, Peer review
Open access Open access

Research in Mathematics Education is a hybrid open access journal that is part of the Taylor & Francis Open Select publishing program, giving you the option to publish open access. Publishing open access means that your article will be free to access online immediately on publication, increasing the visibility, readership, and impact of your research. Why choose open access? Increase the discovera…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Peer review

Peer review policy: initial editor screening and anonymized refereeing by at least two anonymous referees. Model summary

All research articles published in this journal have undergone rigorous peer review, based on initial editor screening and anonymized refereeing by at least two anonymous referees.

Source ↗Publisher website ·

Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.

Profile

Publication details and official links

Publisher
Taylor & Francis
ISSN
1479-4802
Electronic ISSN
1754-0178
Society / sponsor
British Society for Research into Learning Mathematics
Latest issue on the website
Volume 28, Issue 2 (2026)
Official links

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about Research in Mathematics Education

What CAS zone is Research in Mathematics Education in?

In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Research in Mathematics Education is in Zone 4 of Education, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Education & Educational Research. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 3 of Education. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.

What is the impact factor of Research in Mathematics Education?

The journal's website gives an impact factor of 1.1 (2025); this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 4.1, h-index 43.

How long does peer review take at Research in Mathematics Education?

Based on the dates recorded on 56 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 309 days (interquartile range 243–444 days); the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 17%. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.

Where are the editorial board members of Research in Mathematics Education based?

Of the 5 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United Kingdom (2), Canada (1) and Australia (1). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.

Which databases index Research in Mathematics Education?

According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Research in Mathematics Education is indexed in ESCI and Scopus.

Is Research in Mathematics Education open access, and what is the APC?

Research in Mathematics Education is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC charged, amount not published.

Sources and updates

The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .