Journal profile · RELIGION
Religious Education
ISSN 0034-4087 · eISSN 1547-3201 · Taylor & Francis
Religious Education: CAS Zone 4 · Philosophy (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 0.5 (journal website); hybrid open access; APC charged, amount not published; 39 articles in 2025; indexed in AHCI and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Religious Education is published by Taylor & Francis and is in Zone 4 of Philosophy in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Religious Education and Schools, Religion, Society, and Development and American Constitutional Law and Politics, together about 42.3% of its articles. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Religious Education, the journal of the Religious Education Association: An Association of Professors, Practitioners, and Researchers in Religious Education, offers an interfaith forum for exploring religious identity, formation, and education in faith communities, academic disciplines and institutions, and public life and the global community. Three forums focus on this response: Religious Education in Faith Communities, focusing on religious education in local faith communities and within and by denominational/religious bodies on regional, national, and international levels. Religious Education in Public Life and the Global Community, focusing on the role of religious education in the interest of the common good as well as stimulating inter-religious education and conversation. Religious Education in Academic Disciplines and Institutions, focusing on the advancement of scholarship in religious education through schools, colleges, universities, and graduate schools of religion. Articles consider education in houses of worship, schools, informal programs, and institutions of higher learning involving adults, youth, children, and families. Topics addressed include the following: Educational theory, theology, and education; Tradition and directions; Congregational programs and practices; Models and methods; Moral, value, and character education; Spiritual, cultural, and social issues in education. Issues of the journal are divided three into sections: "Articles" – research, scholarship, and insights from practice relating to the intersection of religion and education; "Forum" – conversations engaging diverse points of view on topics of interest; "Critique" – review essays on practice and shorter reviews of books and media. Peer Review Policy: All research articles in this journal have undergone editor screening and anonymous double-anonymized peer review. All other articles are editor and peer reviewed.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): RELIGION
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named United States 4, South Korea 1, Germany 1, Australia 1 (7 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Religious Education and SchoolsSocial Sciences22.6%
- Religion, Society, and DevelopmentSocial Sciences12.9%
- American Constitutional Law and PoliticsSocial Sciences6.8%
- Education and Islamic StudiesSocial Sciences6.1%
- Religion, Spirituality, and PsychologySocial Sciences5.8%
- Religion and Society InteractionsSocial Sciences5.2%
- Diverse Scientific and Economic StudiesEconomics, Econometrics and Finance4%
- Human auditory perception and evaluationEngineering3.9%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Philosophy Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Philosophy | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Religion | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Philosophy Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Philosophy | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Religion | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Philosophy Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Philosophy | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Religion | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
JCR / CiteScore quartiles on the journal's website
- CiteScore Q2 · 2025
Publisher-reported: JCR figures are Clarivate's and CiteScore figures Scopus's to confirm; both are a different system from the CAS zones.Publisher website
Database indexing
AHCIScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
Web of SciencePubMedERICCurrent ContentsPublisher website
Other: ProQuest, OCLC, EBSCOhost, Elsevier BV, ERIC (Education Resources Information Center), National Library of Medicine, National Periodical Library, Ovid, Religious & Theological Abstracts, Inc., Taylor & Francis, Thomson Reuters
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 0.5Publisher website ·
- 5-year impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 0.6Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 0.7LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher) 2025
- 0.7Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.2LetPub ·
- SJR (publisher) 2025
- 0.2Publisher website ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.35LetPub ·
- SNIP (publisher) 2025
- 0.35Publisher website ·
- h-index
- 36OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 300OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 0.94OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 0%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 12.09%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 26LetPub ·
- Downloads per year (publisher)
- 62,000Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 9,140 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 35 | 3 | 8 |
| 2025 | 39 | 13 | 38 |
| 2024 | 43 | 9 | 64 |
| 2023 | 54 | 15 | 54 |
| 2022 | 48 | 5 | 56 |
| 2021 | 63 | 8 | 295 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
- Peer review
- Double anonymous peer reviewPublisher website
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Publisher website | Yes, amount not published | — | — |
A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
Article types accepted3
- articles"Articles" – research, scholarship, and insights from practice relating to the intersection of religion and educationLength not stated
- critique"Critique" – review essays on practice and shorter reviews of books and mediaLength not stated
- forum"Forum" – conversations engaging diverse points of view on topics of interestLength not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteOpen access, Peer review
- Open access Open access
Religious Education is a hybrid open access journal that is part of the Taylor & Francis Open Select publishing program, giving you the option to publish open access. Publishing open access means that your article will be free to access online immediately on publication, increasing the visibility, readership, and impact of your research. Why choose open access? Increase the discoverability and rea…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review
All research articles have undergone editor screening and anonymous double-anonymized peer review. All other articles are editor and peer reviewed. Model summary
All research articles in this journal have undergone editor screening and anonymous double-anonymized peer review. All other articles are editor and peer reviewed.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Taylor & Francis
- ISSN
- 0034-4087
- Electronic ISSN
- 1547-3201
- Society / sponsor
- Religious Education Association
- Latest issue on the website
- Volume 121, Issue 3 (2026)
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗LetPub
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Religious Education
What CAS zone is Religious Education in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Religious Education is in Zone 4 of Philosophy, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Religion. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 4 of Philosophy. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Religious Education?
The journal's website gives an impact factor of 0.5 (2025); this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 0.7, h-index 36.
Where are the editorial board members of Religious Education based?
Of the 7 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (4), South Korea (1) and Germany (1). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Religious Education?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Religious Education is indexed in AHCI and Scopus. The journal's website also lists Web of Science, PubMed, ERIC and Current Contents; that list has not been checked against each database.
Is Religious Education open access, and what is the APC?
Religious Education is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC charged, amount not published.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .