Journal profile · ONCOLOGY
Radiation Oncology Journal
ISSN 2234-3156 · Korean Society for Therapeutic Radiology and Oncology
Radiation Oncology Journal: CAS Zone 4 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 2.4 (journal website); fully open access; median 67 days to acceptance (54 articles, last 24 months); 31 articles in 2025; indexed in ESCI and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Radiation Oncology Journal is published by Korean Society for Therapeutic Radiology and Oncology and is in Zone 4 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Advanced Radiotherapy Techniques, Head and Neck Cancer Studies and Lung Cancer Diagnosis and Treatment, together about 30.7% of its articles. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
The aims of Radiation Oncology Journal are to contribute to the advancements in the fields of radiation oncology through the scientific reviews and interchange of all of radiation oncology. It encompasses all areas of radiation oncology that impacts on the treatment of cancer using radiation as well basic experimental work relating radiation oncology and health policy. It publishes papers describing clinical radiotherapy, combined modality therapy, radiation biology, cancer biology, radiation physics, radiation informatics and new technology including particle therapy.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): ONCOLOGY
Editor-in-chief Dongryul OhPublisher website
Editorial board by country: 1 in mainland China (about 3%); most named South Korea 19, Taiwan, China 4, United States 3, Thailand 2, Mainland China 1 (40 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Advanced Radiotherapy TechniquesPhysics and Astronomy16.9%
- Head and Neck Cancer StudiesMedicine8%
- Lung Cancer Diagnosis and TreatmentMedicine5.8%
- Breast Cancer Treatment StudiesBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology5.3%
- Hepatocellular Carcinoma Treatment and PrognosisMedicine5.2%
- Effects of Radiation ExposureMedicine4.5%
- Radiation Therapy and DosimetryMedicine4.1%
- Endometrial and Cervical Cancer TreatmentsMedicine4%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Oncology | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Oncology | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
Database indexing
ESCIScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 2.4Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 3.6LetPub ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.68LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.97LetPub ·
- h-index
- 40OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 274OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 1.78OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 0%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 96.77%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 26LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 816 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 28 | 28 | 2 |
| 2025 | 31 | 31 | 26 |
| 2024 | 39 | 39 | 146 |
| 2023 | 37 | 37 | 338 |
| 2022 | 32 | 32 | 285 |
| 2021 | 39 | 39 | 474 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with Crossref · to
67 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 36 days – 97 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 83 days (54 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 162 days
- Sample
- 54 articles with submission and acceptance dates (77 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).
No source has fee information yet; check the journal's website.
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
Article types accepted5
- case reportsArticles in the following categories will be published: original articles, invited review articles, case reports, editorials, and letters to the Editor related …Length not stated
- editorialsArticles in the following categories will be published: original articles, invited review articles, case reports, editorials, and letters to the Editor related …Length not stated
- invited review articlesArticles in the following categories will be published: original articles, invited review articles, case reports, editorials, and letters to the Editor related …Length not stated
- letters to the editorArticles in the following categories will be published: original articles, invited review articles, case reports, editorials, and letters to the Editor related …Length not stated
- original articlesArticles in the following categories will be published: original articles, invited review articles, case reports, editorials, and letters to the Editor related …Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAuthorship, Publication ethics, Open access, Peer review, Plagiarism, Trial registration / reporting guidelines
- Authorship
No authorship corrections after publication unless editorial staff mistake. Model summary
ROJ does not correct authorship after publication unless a mistake has been made by the editorial staff.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Publication ethics
Zero-tolerance policy on plagiarism, duplicate publication, data falsification, and scientific misconduct; articles retracted if violations substantiated. Model summary
ROJ maintains a zero-tolerance policy when addressing allegations of plagiarism, duplicate publication (self-publication), data falsification, and scientific misconduct.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access
Open access; full text freely available Model summary
Since it is open access journal, the full text is freely available.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review
All of the manuscripts are peer-reviewed. Model summary
All of the manuscripts are peer-reviewed.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Plagiarism
Participates in Crosscheck/iThenticate to investigate possible plagiarism. Model summary
ROJ participates in the Crosscheck/iThenticate program to investigate incidents of possible plagiarism.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Trial registration / reporting guidelines
Clinical trials must be registered on a primary national registry (CRiS, WHO-accredited registries, or ClinicalTrials.gov). Model summary
All studies dealing with clinical trials should be registered on the primary national clinical trial registration site, such as Korea Clinical Research Information Service (CRiS, http://cris.nih.go.kr), other primary national registry sites accredited by World Health Organization or ClinicalTrials.gov (http://clinicaltrials.gov), a service of the US National Institutes of Health.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Korean Society for Therapeutic Radiology and Oncology
- ISSN
- 2234-3156
- Society / sponsor
- Korean Society for Radiation Oncology
- Latest issue on the website
- Volume 44 (June 2026)
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Radiation Oncology Journal
What CAS zone is Radiation Oncology Journal in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Radiation Oncology Journal is in Zone 4 of Medicine, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Oncology. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 4 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Radiation Oncology Journal?
The journal's website gives an impact factor of 2.4; this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 3.6, h-index 40.
How long does peer review take at Radiation Oncology Journal?
Based on the dates recorded on 54 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 67 days (interquartile range 36–97 days). Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
Where are the editorial board members of Radiation Oncology Journal based?
Of the 40 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 1 (about 3%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are South Korea (19), Taiwan, China (4) and United States (3). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Radiation Oncology Journal?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Radiation Oncology Journal is indexed in ESCI and Scopus.
Is Radiation Oncology Journal open access, and what is the APC?
Radiation Oncology Journal is a fully open-access journal. Fee information is not available yet; check the journal's website.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .