Journal profile · Hematology
Leukemia Research
ISSN 0145-2126 · eISSN 1873-5835 · Elsevier Ltd · ENGLAND · Monthly · Founded 1977
Leukemia Research: CAS Zone 4 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 2.39; hybrid open access; APC about USD 3,910; median 86 days to acceptance (109 articles, last 24 months); community-reported acceptance: easy; 393 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Leukemia Research is published by Elsevier Ltd and is in Zone 4 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Acute Myeloid Leukemia Research, Chronic Lymphocytic Leukemia Research and Chronic Myeloid Leukemia Treatments, together about 41.7% of its articles. Its main subfields are Hematology. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Official journal of the Myelodysplastic Syndromes Foundation.Leukemia Research is an international journal which brings comprehensive and current information to all health care professionals involved in basic and applied clinical research in hematological malignancies. The editors encourage the submission of articles relevant to hematological malignancies. The Journal scope includes reporting studies of cellular and molecular biology, genetics, immunology, epidemiology, clinical evaluation, and therapy of these diseases.You are also welcome to submit to Leukemia Research's open access companion title, Leukemia Research Reports.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Hematology
Editor-in-chief Julie AnnePublisher website
Editorial board by country: 3 in mainland China (about 5%); most named United States 20, Italy 6, Australia 6, Mainland China 3, United Kingdom 3 (59 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Acute Myeloid Leukemia ResearchMedicine22.9%
- Chronic Lymphocytic Leukemia ResearchMedicine9.9%
- Chronic Myeloid Leukemia TreatmentsMedicine8.9%
- Acute Lymphoblastic Leukemia researchMedicine8.2%
- Lymphoma Diagnosis and TreatmentMedicine6.2%
- Myeloproliferative Neoplasms: Diagnosis and TreatmentMedicine5.4%
- Hematopoietic Stem Cell TransplantationMedicine4.4%
- Multiple Myeloma Research and TreatmentsMedicine3.7%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Hematology | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Oncology | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Oncology | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Hematology | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Hematology | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Oncology | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
Database indexing
SCIEScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor
- 2.39LetPub ·
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 2.4Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 4.1LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher)
- 4.1Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.88LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.7LetPub ·
- h-index
- 81LetPub ·
- h-index
- 119OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 5,082OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 1.1OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 0%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 21.91%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 73LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 13,630 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 108 | 29 | 21 |
| 2025 | 393 | 80 | 204 |
| 2024 | 123 | 40 | 464 |
| 2023 | 336 | 45 | 703 |
| 2022 | 268 | 51 | 1,008 |
| 2021 | 296 | 42 | 1,557 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with PubMed · to
86 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 66 days – 111 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 1 days (109 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 89 days
- Sample
- 109 articles with submission and acceptance dates (235 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Average review time (community reports)
- 3–6 weeksLetPub ·
- Average acceptance (community reports)
- EasyLetPub ·
- Submission to first decision
- 17 daysPublisher website ·
- First decision after review
- 48 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to acceptance
- 101 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication
- 2 daysPublisher website ·
- Peer review
- Single anonymous peer reviewPublisher website
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAlex | USD 3,910 / EUR 3,660 / GBP 3,130 / JPY 484,960 | — | — | |
| Publisher website | USD 3,780 | — | — |
A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare6 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 250 words
- Keywords
- 1–7
- Manuscript length
- ≤ 4,000 words
- Reference style
- Numbered, in order of citation
- Highlights
- Required
- Graphical abstract
- Optional
Article types accepted12, with length limits
- commentaryWord count limit does not include the abstract references, acknowledgement document, figures and tables.Original Articles are full-length research papers which …Length not stated
- correspondenceWord count limit does not include the abstract references, acknowledgement document, figures and tables.Original Articles are full-length research papers which …Length not stated
- letterWord count limit does not include the abstract references, acknowledgement document, figures and tables.Original Articles are full-length research papers which …Length not stated
- letters to the editorWord count limit does not include the abstract references, acknowledgement document, figures and tables.Original Articles are full-length research papers which …Length not stated
- opinionWord count limit does not include the abstract references, acknowledgement document, figures and tables.Original Articles are full-length research papers which …Length not stated
- original articleWord count limit does not include the abstract references, acknowledgement document, figures and tables.Original Articles are full-length research papers which …Length not stated
- original articlesOriginal Articles are full-length research papers which have not been published previously, except in a preliminary form. An Original paper usually does not exc…Length not stated
- original paperWord count limit does not include the abstract references, acknowledgement document, figures and tables.Original Articles are full-length research papers which …main text ≤ 4,000 words
- perspectiveWord count limit does not include the abstract references, acknowledgement document, figures and tables.Original Articles are full-length research papers which …Length not stated
- research paperWord count limit does not include the abstract references, acknowledgement document, figures and tables.Original Articles are full-length research papers which …Length not stated
- review articleWord count limit does not include the abstract references, acknowledgement document, figures and tables.Original Articles are full-length research papers which …main text ≤ 5,000 words
- review articlesReview Articles should not exceed 5,000 words but longer papers may be considered if relevant, limit of 150 references and no limit for figures and/or tables.Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Conflicts of interest, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Preprints
- AI use Declaration of generative AI use
Authors must declare the use of generative AI tools in the manuscript preparation process upon submission of the paper.Generative AI and AI-assisted technologies (“AI tools”) have been rapidly adopted in research and scholarly publishing, offering significant benefits while requiring clear standards for responsible and transparent use.Authors preparing a manuscript for this journal may use AI tool…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Authorship Group authorship
Group authorship refers to the attribution of an article to a defined and named group of authors whose members have contributed to the work. Examples include research consortia, clinical trial groups, collaborative networks, task forces or working groups, expert panels or consensus groups, and participatory research groups. Group authorship must be declared on the title page at submission. When av…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Conflicts of interest Declaration of competing interests
All authors must disclose any financial and personal relationships with other people or organizations that could inappropriately influence or bias their work. Examples of potential competing interests include:EmploymentConsultanciesStock ownershipHonorariaPaid expert testimonyPatent applications or registrationsGrants or any other fundingAffiliation with the journal as an Editor or Advisory Board …
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright License options
Authors will be offered open access user license options which will determine how you, and third parties, can reuse your open access article. We advise that you review these options and any funding body license requirements before selecting a license option.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Open access
We refer you to our open access information page to learn about open access options for this journal.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer review
Single anonymized review process Model summary
This journal follows a single anonymized review process. Your submission will initially be assessed by our editors. If your submission is deemed suitable, it will typically be sent to be reviewed by a minimum of two reviewers for an independent expert assessment of the scientific quality. The decision as to whether your article is accepted or rejected for publication will be made by our editors.Re…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints Preprints
Preprint sharing allowed Model summary
Preprint sharingAuthors may share preprints in line with Elsevier's article sharing policy. Sharing preprints, such as on a preprint server, will not count as prior publication.We advise you to read our policy on multiple, redundant or concurrent publication.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Elsevier Ltd
- Country or region
- ENGLAND
- Language
- English
- Frequency
- Monthly
- Founded
- 1977
- ISSN
- 0145-2126
- Electronic ISSN
- 1873-5835
- Society / sponsor
- Myelodysplastic Syndromes Foundation
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Leukemia Research
What CAS zone is Leukemia Research in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Leukemia Research is in Zone 4 of Medicine, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Hematology / Oncology. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 4 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Leukemia Research?
The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 2.39; CiteScore 4.1, h-index 119.
How long does peer review take at Leukemia Research?
Based on the dates recorded on 109 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 86 days (interquartile range 66–111 days); authors report an average review time of 3–6 weeks; the community-reported acceptance is “Easy”. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Leukemia Research?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 250 words; Keywords: 1–7; Manuscript length: ≤ 4,000 words; Reference style: Numbered, in order of citation; Highlights: Required; Graphical abstract: Optional. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Leukemia Research based?
Of the 59 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 3 (about 5%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (20), Italy (6) and Australia (6). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Leukemia Research?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Leukemia Research is indexed in SCIE and Scopus.
Is Leukemia Research open access, and what is the APC?
Leukemia Research is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 3,910.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .