Journal profile · Neurosciences
Progress in Neurobiology
ISSN 0301-0082 · eISSN 1873-5118 · Elsevier Ltd · ENGLAND · Monthly · Founded 1973
Progress in Neurobiology: CAS Zone 2 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 4.6; hybrid open access; APC about USD 5,190; median 166 days to acceptance (97 articles, last 24 months); community-reported acceptance: fairly hard; 101 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Progress in Neurobiology is published by Elsevier Ltd and is in Zone 2 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Neuroscience and Neuropharmacology Research, Diverse Scientific and Economic Studies and Human auditory perception and evaluation, together about 30.2% of its articles. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Progress in Neurobiology is an international journal that publishes groundbreaking original research, comprehensive review articles and opinion pieces written by leading researchers. The journal welcomes contributions from the broad field of neuroscience that apply neurophysiological, biochemical, pharmacological, molecular biological, anatomical, computational and behavioral analyses to original neurobiological data to address questions in molecular, cellular, developmental, systems, and clinical neuroscience. Purely theoretical studies, meta-analyses, and single case studies, fall outside of the journal's scope, unless accompanied by original neurobiological data that reveal novel insights into neurobiological mechanisms.Research categoriesBasic Research: Research addressing the fundamental principles, mechanisms, and basic neurobiological processes that underlie the nervous system.Disease-related: Research related to neurological diseases or disorders, including disease-related basic research (involving animal and cell models), translational research, and clinical research.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Neurosciences
Editor-in-chief Jeannie ChinPublisher website
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named United States 9 (9 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Neuroscience and Neuropharmacology ResearchNeuroscience15.2%
- Diverse Scientific and Economic StudiesEconomics, Econometrics and Finance8.1%
- Human auditory perception and evaluationEngineering6.9%
- Neural dynamics and brain functionNeuroscience6.7%
- Educational Robotics and EngineeringComputer Science5.8%
- Neurogenesis and neuroplasticity mechanismsNeuroscience4.8%
- Memory and Neural MechanismsNeuroscience4.7%
- Neuroinflammation and Neurodegeneration MechanismsNeuroscience4.5%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 2
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Neurosciences | Zone 2 |
Top journal: noReview journal: yes
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 2
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Neurosciences | Zone 2 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Medicine Zone 2
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Neurosciences | Zone 2 |
Top journal: noReview journal: yes
Database indexing
SCIEScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor
- 4.6LetPub ·
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 4.6Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 11.6LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher)
- 11.6Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 2.4LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 1.62LetPub ·
- h-index
- 212LetPub ·
- h-index
- 327OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 2,390OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 4.59OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 0%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 50%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 86LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 3,206 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 56 | 41 | 31 |
| 2025 | 101 | 67 | 347 |
| 2024 | 85 | 61 | 733 |
| 2023 | 102 | 67 | 1,450 |
| 2022 | 100 | 68 | 3,580 |
| 2021 | 107 | 60 | 3,923 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with PubMed · to
166 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 120 days – 214 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 2 days (97 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 169 days
- Sample
- 97 articles with submission and acceptance dates (153 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Average review time (community reports)
- 6–12 weeksLetPub ·
- Average acceptance (community reports)
- Fairly hardLetPub ·
- Submission to first decision
- 7 daysPublisher website ·
- First decision after review
- 57 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to acceptance
- 162 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication
- 3 daysPublisher website ·
- Peer review
- Open peer review, Single anonymous peer reviewPublisher website
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAlex | USD 5,190 / EUR 4,860 / GBP 4,150 / JPY 643,720 | — | — | |
| Publisher website | USD 5,050 | — | — |
A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare6 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 250 words
- Keywords
- 1–7
- Manuscript length
- ≤ 10,000 words
- Reference style
- Author–date
- Highlights
- Optional
- Cover letter
- Required
Article types accepted6, with length limits
- controversiesControversies: These are part of a small series of articles (2-4) from different authors presenting the different viewpoints on a particular, currently heavily …Length not stated
- editorialEditorial: Editorials are welcome on any topic.Length not stated
- original research articleOriginal Research Article: A report of highly original research which makes a significant contribution to and advances the body of knowledge in a given area.Length not stated
- perspectiveal" file type. Recommended length for a perspective: 4,000 - 6,000 words. Controversies: These are part of a small series of articlemain text ≤ 6,000 words
- reviewas the "Proposal" file type. Length of reviews will be ~10,000 words, or as per discussion with one of the editors. Perspective:main text ≤ 10,000 words
- special issuesSpecial Issues: The editors welcome proposals for special issues, which present a collection of articles on a topic of broad interest and significance.Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Conflicts of interest, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Preprints
- AI use Declaration of generative AI use
Authors must declare the use of generative AI tools in the manuscript preparation process upon submission of the paper.Generative AI and AI-assisted technologies (“AI tools”) have been rapidly adopted in research and scholarly publishing, offering significant benefits while requiring clear standards for responsible and transparent use.Authors preparing a manuscript for this journal may use AI tool…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Authorship Group authorship
Group authorship refers to the attribution of an article to a defined and named group of authors whose members have contributed to the work. Examples include research consortia, clinical trial groups, collaborative networks, task forces or working groups, expert panels or consensus groups, and participatory research groups. Group authorship must be declared on the title page at submission. When av…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Conflicts of interest Declaration of competing interests
All authors must disclose any financial and personal relationships with other people or organizations that could inappropriately influence or bias their work. Examples of potential competing interests include:EmploymentConsultanciesStock ownershipHonorariaPaid expert testimonyPatent applications or registrationsGrants or any other fundingAffiliation with the journal as an Editor or Advisory Board …
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright License options
Authors will be offered open access user license options which will determine how you, and third parties, can reuse your open access article. We advise that you review these options and any funding body license requirements before selecting a license option.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Open access
We refer you to our open access information page to learn about open access options for this journal.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer review
Single anonymized review process Model summary
This journal follows a single anonymized review process. Your submission will initially be assessed by our editors. If your submission is deemed suitable, it will typically be sent to be reviewed by a minimum of two reviewers for an independent expert assessment of the scientific quality. The decision as to whether your article is accepted or rejected for publication will be made by our editors.Re…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints Preprints
Preprint sharing allowed Model summary
Preprint sharingAuthors may share preprints in line with Elsevier's article sharing policy. Sharing preprints, such as on a preprint server, will not count as prior publication.We advise you to read our policy on multiple, redundant or concurrent publication. In support of Open Science, this journal offers its authors a free preprint posting service on SSRN, Elsevier’s preprint and early research …
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Elsevier Ltd
- Country or region
- ENGLAND
- Language
- English
- Frequency
- Monthly
- Founded
- 1973
- ISSN
- 0301-0082
- Electronic ISSN
- 1873-5118
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗LetPub
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Progress in Neurobiology
What CAS zone is Progress in Neurobiology in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Progress in Neurobiology is in Zone 2 of Medicine, and in Zone 2 of the minor category Neurosciences. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 2 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Progress in Neurobiology?
The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 4.6; CiteScore 11.6, h-index 327.
How long does peer review take at Progress in Neurobiology?
Based on the dates recorded on 97 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 166 days (interquartile range 120–214 days); authors report an average review time of 6–12 weeks; the community-reported acceptance is “Fairly hard”. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Progress in Neurobiology?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 250 words; Keywords: 1–7; Manuscript length: ≤ 10,000 words; Reference style: Author–date; Highlights: Optional; Cover letter: Required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Progress in Neurobiology based?
Of the 9 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (9). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Progress in Neurobiology?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Progress in Neurobiology is indexed in SCIE and Scopus.
Is Progress in Neurobiology open access, and what is the APC?
Progress in Neurobiology is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 5,190.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .