Journal profile · CRIMINOLOGY & PENOLOGY
Probation Journal
ISSN 0264-5505 · eISSN 1741-3079 · SAGE
Probation Journal: CAS Zone 3 · Sociology (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 2 (journal website); hybrid open access; APC about USD 3,650; review about 134 days (submission to acceptance, publisher); acceptance rate 50.7% (journal website); 50 articles in 2025; indexed in ESCI and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Probation Journal is published by SAGE and is in Zone 3 of Sociology in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Criminal Justice and Corrections Analysis, Homelessness and Social Issues and Psychopathy, Forensic Psychiatry, Sexual Offending, together about 51.4% of its articles. Its main subfields are Sociology and Political Science. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Probation Journal was established in 1929 and now provides a national and international forum for sharing good practice, disseminating criminal justice research and developing debate about the theory and practice of work with offenders. The Journal is read in 25 countries, and has gained a reputation for publishing material which is both of a high quality … | View full journal description This journal is a member of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE).
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): CRIMINOLOGY & PENOLOGY
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named United Kingdom 19, United States 3, Canada 1, Norway 1, New Zealand 1 (26 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Criminal Justice and Corrections AnalysisSocial Sciences26.6%
- Homelessness and Social IssuesHealth Professions16.7%
- Psychopathy, Forensic Psychiatry, Sexual OffendingPsychology8.1%
- Crime Patterns and InterventionsSocial Sciences6.6%
- Social Work Education and PracticeSocial Sciences4.9%
- Child Abuse and TraumaPsychology4.1%
- Crime, Illicit Activities, and GovernanceSocial Sciences3.4%
- Diverse Scientific and Economic StudiesEconomics, Econometrics and Finance2.4%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Sociology Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Sociology | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Criminology & Penology | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Sociology Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Sociology | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Criminology & Penology | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
Database indexing
ESCIScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 2Publisher website ·
- 5-year impact factor (publisher)
- 2.1Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 4LetPub ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.91LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 1.7LetPub ·
- h-index
- 47OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 338OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 1.06OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 35%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 61.64%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 41LetPub ·
- Articles per year (publisher)
- 3Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 4,059 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 38 | 27 | 2 |
| 2025 | 50 | 34 | 54 |
| 2024 | 38 | 22 | 77 |
| 2023 | 26 | 9 | 53 |
| 2022 | 43 | 23 | 171 |
| 2021 | 53 | 23 | 416 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Publisher-reported review time from the journal's website
134 dayssubmission to acceptance
The publisher's own definition applies; dates from this journal's articles in the last 24 months are not available yet, so the publisher's figure is used.
Figures by source
- Acceptance rate (publisher)
- 50.7%Publisher website ·
- Submission to first decision
- 6 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to acceptance
- 134 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication
- 29 daysPublisher website ·
- Peer review
- Double anonymous peer reviewPublisher website
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAlex | USD 3,650 / GBP 2,676 | — | — | |
| Publisher website | Yes, amount not published | — | — |
A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.
Other charges and waivers (author guidelines)
- Colour charges
- No colour charges
- Other fees
- Charged; see the journal's website for the amount
- Page charges
- No page charges
- Submission fee
- No submission fee
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare4 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- 50–100 words
- Manuscript length
- ≤ 8,000 words
- Reference style
- Harvard
- First submission
- Free format: the journal's layout is not required
Article types accepted10
- commentComment: The opportunity to write more informally and express opinions on any topic appropriate for Probation Journal. Word limit 2,000-3,000 words including re…Length not stated
- editorialThe Journal is published quarterly, in March, June, September and December, by Sage Ltd. We welcome contributions on a wide range of subjects and encourage cont…Length not stated
- full length articlesFull Length Articles: Word limit 6,000-8,000 words including references.Length not stated
- in courtIn Court: If you feel that a decision or legal development in your local court would be worth national coverage, please send details to the editor.Length not stated
- opinionThe Journal is published quarterly, in March, June, September and December, by Sage Ltd. We welcome contributions on a wide range of subjects and encourage cont…Length not stated
- original paperThe Journal is published quarterly, in March, June, September and December, by Sage Ltd. We welcome contributions on a wide range of subjects and encourage cont…Length not stated
- practice notePractice Note: The opportunity to describe a recent piece of practice, practice related issues or recent practice developments in brief. Word limit 2,000-3,000 …Length not stated
- practitioner responsePractitioner Response: The opportunity for those directly linked to service delivery to respond to an article in the Probation Journal and comment on the practi…Length not stated
- reviewThe Journal is published quarterly, in March, June, September and December, by Sage Ltd. We welcome contributions on a wide range of subjects and encourage cont…Length not stated
- reviewsReviews: Though reviews are usually commissioned, we welcome unsolicited reviews of 300-600 words of recent relevant books, videos or films.Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAuthorship, Data availability, Publication ethics, Open access, Peer review, Plagiarism, Preprints, Trial registration / reporting guidelines
- Authorship Author contributions
You will be asked to list the contribution of each author as part of the submission process. Please include the Author Contributions heading within your submission after the Acknowledgements section. The information you give on submission will then show under the Author Contributions heading later at the proofing stage.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Data availability Data availability
The Journal is committed to facilitating openness, transparency and reproducibility of research, and has the following research data sharing policy. For more information, including FAQs please visit the Sage Research Data policy pages. Subject to appropriate ethical and legal considerations, authors are encouraged to: Share your research data in a relevant public data repository Include a data ava…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Publication ethics Ethical considerations
Please include your ethics approval statements under this heading, even if you have already included ethics approval information in your methods section. If ethical approval was not required, you need to explicitly state this. All papers reporting studies involving human participants, human data or human tissue must state that the relevant Ethics Committee or Institutional Review Board approved th…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Publishing fees and open access
There are no fees payable to submit or publish in this journal. Figures submitted in color will be published in color in the online version of the journal at no cost. If you wish to have color figures in the printed version, you will receive information regarding the costs from Sage after receipt of your accepted article. Optional open access publishing is available for a fee via the Sage Choice p…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer review policy
Double anonymized peer review Model summary
The following summary describes the peer review process for this journal: Identity transparency: Double-anonymised Reviewer interacts with: Editor Review information published: None Your manuscript will undergo an initial evaluation. If it does not conform to the requirements laid out in these guidelines, it will be returned to you for amendments prior to peer review. Manuscripts may be desk rejec…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Plagiarism Plagiarism
The journal and Sage take issues of copyright infringement, plagiarism or other breaches of best practice in publication very seriously. Please read Sage's complete policy on plagiarism and the actions we may take.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints Preprints
The journal will consider submissions of manuscripts that have been posted on preprint servers. Please enter the preprint DOI in the designated field when submitting your manuscript. We advise that you inform the Journal Editorial office about your posted preprint at submission. Note that you should not post an updated version of your manuscript on a preprint server while it is being peer reviewed…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Trial registration / reporting guidelines Clinical trial registration
The journal endorses the ICMJE requirement that clinical trials are registered in a WHO-approved public trials registry at or before the time of first participant enrollment. However, consistent with the AllTrials campaign, retrospectively registered trials will be considered if the justification for late registration is acceptable. The trial registry name and URL, and registration number must be …
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- SAGE
- ISSN
- 0264-5505
- Electronic ISSN
- 1741-3079
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Probation Journal
What CAS zone is Probation Journal in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Probation Journal is in Zone 3 of Sociology, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Criminology & Penology. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 3 of Sociology. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Probation Journal?
The journal's website gives an impact factor of 2; this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 4, h-index 47.
How long does peer review take at Probation Journal?
The publisher reports about 134 days (submission to acceptance); the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 50.7%. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Probation Journal?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: 50–100 words; Manuscript length: ≤ 8,000 words; Reference style: Harvard; First submission: Free format: the journal's layout is not required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Probation Journal based?
Of the 26 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United Kingdom (19), United States (3) and Canada (1). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Probation Journal?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Probation Journal is indexed in ESCI and Scopus.
Is Probation Journal open access, and what is the APC?
Probation Journal is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 3,650.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .