Journal profile · Multiple

Trauma Violence & Abuse

ISSN 1524-8380 · eISSN 1552-8324 · SAGE

Trauma Violence & Abuse: CAS Zone 1 · Sociology (2025 upgraded edition, Top journal); impact factor 6.66; hybrid open access; APC about USD 3,900; review about 188 days (submission to acceptance, publisher); acceptance rate 33.2% (journal website); 186 articles in 2025; indexed in SSCI and Scopus.

Impact factor6.66Latest value listed by LetPub
CAS zoneZone 1 · Sociology2025 upgraded edition, major category · Top journal · 2026 Xinrui edition Zone 1 · Sociology
Review time188 daysPublisher-reported, submission to acceptance
APCUSD 3,900Hybrid journal: charged only for open-access articles
Acceptance33.2%From the journal's website
Articles per year1862025 · OpenAlex count

Scope

Aims, scope and focus

Trauma Violence & Abuse is published by SAGE and is in Zone 1 of Sociology in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition, Top journal). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Intimate Partner and Family Violence, Child Abuse and Trauma and Sexual Assault and Victimization Studies, together about 46.9% of its articles. Its main subfields are Clinical Psychology and Sociology and Political Science. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)

Trauma, Violence, & Abuse (TVA), peer-reviewed and published five times a year, is a review journal devoted to organizing, synthesizing, and expanding knowledge on all forms of trauma, abuse, and violence. Dedicated to professionals and advanced students, TVA is intended to compile knowledge that clearly affects practice, policy, and research. TVA publishes only … | View full journal description

From the journal's Aims & Scope

Research area (LetPub): Multiple

Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named United States 11, United Kingdom 1, Italy 1, Australia 1 (14 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·

Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate

  1. Intimate Partner and Family ViolenceSocial Sciences20.4%
  2. Child Abuse and TraumaPsychology16.5%
  3. Sexual Assault and Victimization StudiesSocial Sciences10.1%
  4. Migration, Health and TraumaPsychology5.4%
  5. Sex work and related issuesSocial Sciences4.1%
  6. Posttraumatic Stress Disorder ResearchPsychology4%
  7. Homicide, Infanticide, and Child AbuseSocial Sciences3.6%
  8. Child and Adolescent Psychosocial and Emotional DevelopmentPsychology3.4%

Rankings & indexing

CAS ranking and database indexing

CAS Journal Ranking

CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Sociology Zone 1
LevelCategoryZone
MajorSociologyZone 1
MinorCriminology & PenologyZone 1
MinorFamily StudiesZone 1
MinorSocial WorkZone 1

Top journal: yesReview journal: yes

CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Sociology Zone 1
LevelCategoryZone
MajorSociologyZone 1
MinorCriminology & PenologyZone 1
MinorFamily StudiesZone 1
MinorSocial WorkZone 1

Top journal: yesReview journal: not marked

CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Sociology Zone 1
LevelCategoryZone
MajorSociologyZone 1
MinorCriminology & PenologyZone 1
MinorFamily StudiesZone 1
MinorSocial WorkZone 1

Top journal: yesReview journal: yes

Database indexing

SSCIScopusLetPub

International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub

Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.

Metrics

Impact metrics and publication volume

Impact

Impact factor
6.66LetPub ·
Impact factor (publisher)
6.7Publisher website ·
5-year impact factor (publisher)
9.5Publisher website ·
CiteScore 2026-06
16.7LetPub ·
SJR 2026-06
2.9LetPub ·
SNIP 2026-06
4.08LetPub ·
h-index
153OpenAlex ·
i10-index
1,170OpenAlex ·
2-year mean citedness
5.9OpenAlex ·
Self-citation rate
4.5%LetPub ·
Share of gold OA articles
47.38%LetPub ·

Volume

Articles per year
182LetPub ·
Articles per year (publisher)
3Publisher website ·

Articles by year OpenAlex count · 1,699 in total · the current year is incomplete

YearArticlesOpen accessCitations
202616010250
2025186126776
20241781232,263
20231571054,143
2022154815,288
2021122546,374

Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.

Review & acceptance

Review time and acceptance

Publisher-reported review time from the journal's website

188 dayssubmission to acceptance

The publisher's own definition applies; dates from this journal's articles in the last 24 months are not available yet, so the publisher's figure is used.

Figures by source

Acceptance rate (publisher)
33.2%Publisher website ·
Submission to first decision
5 daysPublisher website ·
Submission to acceptance
188 daysPublisher website ·
Acceptance to publication
56 daysPublisher website ·
Peer review
Double anonymous peer reviewPublisher website

Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.

Fees & open access

APC and open-access policy

Hybrid open accessLetPub

A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.

SourceAPCFee waiverLicenseObserved
OpenAlexUSD 3,900 / GBP 2,859——
Publisher websiteUSD 3,700——

A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.

Other charges and waivers (author guidelines)

Other fees
No other fees
Page charges
No page charges
Submission fee
No submission fee

The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.

Submission

Article types and submission policies (journal website)

What to prepare8 items from the author guidelines
Abstract
≤ 250 words
Reference style
APA
First submission
Free format: the journal's layout is not required
Suggested reviewers
Optional
Highlights
Optional
Graphical abstract
Optional
Cover letter
Required
Not considered
preprint
Publisher website · model-extracted, each line checked against the text
Article types accepted2
  1. reviewReviews: TVA accepts comprehensive reviews of research or legal reviews that address any aspect of trauma, violence, or abuse. Reviews must be based on a suffic…Length not stated
  2. reviewsReviews: TVA accepts comprehensive reviews of research or legal reviews that address any aspect of trauma, violence, or abuse.Length not stated
Publisher website
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAuthorship, Data availability, Publication ethics, Open access, Peer review, Plagiarism, Preprints, Trial registration / reporting guidelines
Authorship Authorship

Please view our authorship policies, which includes information on criteria for authorship, who should be the corresponding author and more. Please note that AI chatbots, for example ChatGPT, should not be listed as authors. For more information see the policy on Use of ChatGPT and generative AI tools.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Data availability Data availability

The Journal is committed to facilitating openness, transparency and reproducibility of research, and has the following research data sharing policy. For more information, including FAQs please visit the Sage Research Data policy pages. Subject to appropriate ethical and legal considerations, authors are encouraged to: Share your research data in a relevant public data repository Include a data ava…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Publication ethics Ethical considerations

Please include your ethics approval statements under this heading, even if you have already included ethics approval information in your methods section. If ethical approval was not required, you need to explicitly state this. All papers reporting studies involving human participants, human data or human tissue must state that the relevant Ethics Committee or Institutional Review Board approved th…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Open access Publishing fees and open access

There are no fees payable to submit or publish in this journal. Optional open access publishing is available for a fee via the Sage Choice program, and Open Access agreements, where authors can publish open access either discounted or free of charge depending on the agreement with Sage. Find out if your institution is participating by visiting Open Access Agreements at Sage. Open Access agreement …

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Peer review Peer review policy

Double anonymized peer review. Model summary

The following summary describes the peer review process for this journal: Identity transparency: Double anonymized Reviewer interacts with: Editor Review information published: None Your manuscript will undergo an initial evaluation. If it does not conform to the requirements laid out in these guidelines, it will be returned to you for amendments prior to peer review. Manuscripts may be desk rejec…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Plagiarism Plagiarism

The journal and Sage take issues of copyright infringement, plagiarism or other breaches of best practice in publication very seriously. Please read Sage's complete policy on plagiarism and the actions we may take.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Preprints Preprints

The journal does not accept submissions of manuscripts that have been posted on preprint servers.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Trial registration / reporting guidelines Clinical trial registration

The journal endorses the ICMJE requirement that clinical trials are registered in a WHO-approved public trials registry at or before the time of first participant enrollment. However, consistent with the AllTrials campaign, retrospectively registered trials will be considered if the justification for late registration is acceptable. The trial registry name and URL, and registration number must be …

Source ↗Publisher website ·

Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.

Profile

Publication details and official links

Publisher
SAGE
ISSN
1524-8380
Electronic ISSN
1552-8324
Official links

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about Trauma Violence & Abuse

What CAS zone is Trauma Violence & Abuse in?

In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Trauma Violence & Abuse is in Zone 1 of Sociology, and in Zone 1 of the minor category Criminology & Penology / Family Studies / Social Work; it is a Top journal. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 1 of Sociology. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.

What is the impact factor of Trauma Violence & Abuse?

The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 6.66; CiteScore 16.7, h-index 153.

How long does peer review take at Trauma Violence & Abuse?

The publisher reports about 188 days (submission to acceptance); the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 33.2%. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.

What are the manuscript requirements of Trauma Violence & Abuse?

According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 250 words; Reference style: APA; First submission: Free format: the journal's layout is not required; Suggested reviewers: Optional; Highlights: Optional; Graphical abstract: Optional; Cover letter: Required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.

Where are the editorial board members of Trauma Violence & Abuse based?

Of the 14 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (11), United Kingdom (1) and Italy (1). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.

Which databases index Trauma Violence & Abuse?

According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Trauma Violence & Abuse is indexed in SSCI and Scopus.

Is Trauma Violence & Abuse open access, and what is the APC?

Trauma Violence & Abuse is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 3,900.

Sources and updates

The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .