Journal profile · Peripheral Vascular Disease

PHLEBOLOGY

ISSN 0268-3555 · eISSN 1758-1125 · SAGE Publications Ltd · ENGLAND · Bimonthly · Founded 1986

PHLEBOLOGY: CAS Zone 4 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 1.15; hybrid open access; APC about USD 4,150; review about 102 days (submission to acceptance, publisher); community-reported acceptance: easy; 127 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE and Scopus.

Impact factor1.15Latest value listed by LetPub
CAS zoneZone 4 · Medicine2025 upgraded edition, major category · 2026 Xinrui edition Zone 4 · Medicine
Review time102 daysPublisher-reported, submission to acceptance · community reports 6–12 weeks
APCUSD 4,150Hybrid journal: charged only for open-access articles
AcceptanceEasyCommunity average
Articles per year1272025 · OpenAlex count

Scope

Aims, scope and focus

PHLEBOLOGY is published by SAGE Publications Ltd and is in Zone 4 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Diagnosis and Treatment of Venous Diseases, Venous Thromboembolism Diagnosis and Management and Central Venous Catheters and Hemodialysis, together about 62.5% of its articles. Its main subfields are Surgery. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)

The leading scientific journal devoted entirely to venous disease, Phlebology is the official journal of several international societies devoted to the subject. It publishes on all aspects of diseases of the veins including the latest treatment procedures and patient … | View full journal description This journal is a member of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE).

From the journal's Aims & Scope

Research area (LetPub): Peripheral Vascular Disease

Editor-in-chief Alun DaviesPublisher website

Editorial board by country: 1 in mainland China (about 2%); most named United States 17, United Kingdom 9, Germany 3, Australia 3, Canada 2 (41 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·

Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate

  1. Diagnosis and Treatment of Venous DiseasesMedicine30.9%
  2. Venous Thromboembolism Diagnosis and ManagementMedicine23.4%
  3. Central Venous Catheters and HemodialysisHealth Professions8.2%
  4. Dermatologic Treatments and ResearchMedicine6.2%
  5. Peripheral Artery Disease ManagementMedicine4%
  6. Vascular anomalies and interventionsMedicine3.2%
  7. Vascular Malformations and HemangiomasMedicine2.7%
  8. Lymphatic System and DiseasesMedicine2.7%

Rankings & indexing

CAS ranking and database indexing

CAS Journal Ranking

CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 4
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 4
MinorPeripheral Vascular DiseaseZone 4

Top journal: noReview journal: no

CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 4
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 4
MinorPeripheral Vascular DiseaseZone 4

Top journal: noReview journal: not marked

CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Medicine Zone 4
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 4
MinorPeripheral Vascular DiseaseZone 4

Top journal: noReview journal: no

Database indexing

SCIEScopusLetPub

International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub

Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.

Metrics

Impact metrics and publication volume

Impact

Impact factor
1.15LetPub ·
Impact factor (publisher)
1.2Publisher website ·
5-year impact factor (publisher)
1.5Publisher website ·
CiteScore 2026-06
2.7LetPub ·
SJR 2026-06
0.45LetPub ·
SNIP 2026-06
0.83LetPub ·
h-index
44LetPub ·
h-index
76OpenAlex ·
i10-index
1,101OpenAlex ·
2-year mean citedness
1.22OpenAlex ·
Self-citation rate
25%LetPub ·
Share of gold OA articles
8.08%LetPub ·

Volume

Articles per year
105LetPub ·
Articles per year (publisher)
3Publisher website ·

Articles by year OpenAlex count · 3,272 in total · the current year is incomplete

YearArticlesOpen accessCitations
2026130820
202512711153
202411920287
202312019557
20229513624
20218515896

Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.

Review & acceptance

Review time and acceptance

Publisher-reported review time from the journal's website

102 dayssubmission to acceptance · community reports 6–12 weeks

The publisher's own definition applies; dates from this journal's articles in the last 24 months are not available yet, so the publisher's figure is used.

Figures by source

Average review time (community reports)
6–12 weeksLetPub ·
Average acceptance (community reports)
EasyLetPub ·
Acceptance rate (publisher)
28.5%Publisher website ·
Submission to first decision
9 daysPublisher website ·
First decision after review
42 daysPublisher website ·
Submission to acceptance
102 daysPublisher website ·
Acceptance to publication
12 daysPublisher website ·
Peer review
Single anonymous peer reviewPublisher website

Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.

Fees & open access

APC and open-access policy

Hybrid open accessLetPub

A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.

SourceAPCFee waiverLicenseObserved
OpenAlexUSD 4,150 / GBP 3,043——
Publisher websiteYes, amount not published——

A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.

Other charges and waivers (author guidelines)

Other fees
Charged; see the journal's website for the amount
Submission fee
No submission fee

The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.

Submission

Article types and submission policies (journal website)

What to prepare10 items from the author guidelines
Abstract
300 words
Keywords
≥ 1
Manuscript length
≤ 3,000 words
Reference style
Vancouver
First submission
Free format: the journal's layout is not required
Suggested reviewers
Optional
Highlights
Required
Graphical abstract
Optional
Cover letter
Required
Not considered
Case Reports
Publisher website · model-extracted, each line checked against the text
Article types accepted11, with length limits
  1. case reportPlease visit the Sage Journal Author Gateway for guidance on producing visual and/or video abstracts. Editorials Short pieces on topical subjects, usually commi…Length not stated
  2. editorialPlease visit the Sage Journal Author Gateway for guidance on producing visual and/or video abstracts. Editorials Short pieces on topical subjects, usually commi…main text ≤ 1,000 words
  3. editorialsEditorials Short pieces on topical subjects, usually commissioned by the Editor, of no more than 1,000 words plus up to 10 references.Length not stated
  4. letterPlease visit the Sage Journal Author Gateway for guidance on producing visual and/or video abstracts. Editorials Short pieces on topical subjects, usually commi…Length not stated
  5. lettersLetters Comments on articles previously published in the journal, or communication on topics that are newsworthy but not appropriate for consideration as a pape…Length not stated
  6. original articlePlease visit the Sage Journal Author Gateway for guidance on producing visual and/or video abstracts. Editorials Short pieces on topical subjects, usually commi…main text ≤ 3,000 words
  7. original articlesOriginal Articles Original articles should be 2,000–3,000 words and should carry a structured abstract (of about 300 words)Length not stated
  8. reviewPlease visit the Sage Journal Author Gateway for guidance on producing visual and/or video abstracts. Editorials Short pieces on topical subjects, usually commi…Length not stated
  9. review articlePlease visit the Sage Journal Author Gateway for guidance on producing visual and/or video abstracts. Editorials Short pieces on topical subjects, usually commi…main text ≤ 6,000 words
  10. review articlesReview Articles Review articles should be 4,000–6,000 words and also require an abstractLength not stated
  11. short reportsShort Reports Short reports should be 500–800 words, and should include an abstract and no more than five references.Length not stated
Publisher website
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAuthorship, Data availability, Publication ethics, Open access, Peer review, Plagiarism, Preprints, Trial registration / reporting guidelines
Authorship Author contributions

You will be asked to list the contribution of each author as part of the submission process. Please include the Author Contributions heading within your submission after the Acknowledgements section. The information you give on submission will then show under the Author Contributions heading later at the proofing stage.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Data availability Data availability

The Journal is committed to facilitating openness, transparency and reproducibility of research, and has the following research data sharing policy. For more information, including FAQs please visit the Sage Research Data policy pages. Subject to appropriate ethical and legal considerations, authors are encouraged to: Share your research data in a relevant public data repository Include a data ava…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Publication ethics Ethical considerations

Please include your ethics approval statements under this heading, even if you have already included ethics approval information in your methods section. If ethical approval was not required, you need to explicitly state this. All papers reporting studies involving human participants, human data or human tissue must state that the relevant Ethics Committee or Institutional Review Board approved th…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Open access Publishing fees and open access

There are no fees payable to submit or publish in this journal. Optional open access publishing is available for a fee via the Sage Choice program, and Open Access agreements, where authors can publish open access either discounted or free of charge depending on the agreement with Sage. Find out if your institution is participating by visiting Open Access Agreements at Sage. Open Access agreement …

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Peer review Peer review policy

Single anonymized peer review Model summary

The following summary describes the peer review process for this journal: Identity transparency: Single-anonymized Reviewer interacts with: Editor Review information published: None Your manuscript will undergo an initial evaluation. If it does not conform to the requirements laid out in these guidelines, it will be returned to you for amendments prior to peer review. Manuscripts may be desk rejec…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Plagiarism Plagiarism

The journal and Sage take issues of copyright infringement, plagiarism or other breaches of best practice in publication very seriously. Please read Sage's complete policy on plagiarism and the actions we may take.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Preprints Preprints

The journal will consider submissions of manuscripts that have been posted on preprint servers. Please enter the preprint DOI in the designated field when submitting your manuscript. We advise that you inform the Journal Editorial office about your posted preprint at submission. Note that you should not post an updated version of your manuscript on a preprint server while it is being peer reviewed…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Trial registration / reporting guidelines Clinical trial registration

The journal conforms to the ICMJE requirement that clinical trials are registered in a WHO-approved public trials registry at or before the time of first participant enrollment as a condition of consideration for publication. The trial registry name and URL, and registration number must be included at the end of the abstract.

Source ↗Publisher website ·

Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.

Profile

Publication details and official links

Publisher
SAGE Publications Ltd
Country or region
ENGLAND
Language
English
Frequency
Bimonthly
Founded
1986
ISSN
0268-3555
Electronic ISSN
1758-1125
Official links

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about PHLEBOLOGY

What CAS zone is PHLEBOLOGY in?

In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, PHLEBOLOGY is in Zone 4 of Medicine, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Peripheral Vascular Disease. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 4 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.

What is the impact factor of PHLEBOLOGY?

The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 1.15; CiteScore 2.7, h-index 76.

How long does peer review take at PHLEBOLOGY?

The publisher reports about 102 days (submission to acceptance); authors report an average review time of 6–12 weeks; the community-reported acceptance is “Easy”; the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 28.5%. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.

What are the manuscript requirements of PHLEBOLOGY?

According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: 300 words; Keywords: ≥ 1; Manuscript length: ≤ 3,000 words; Reference style: Vancouver; First submission: Free format: the journal's layout is not required; Suggested reviewers: Optional; Highlights: Required; Graphical abstract: Optional; Cover letter: Required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.

Where are the editorial board members of PHLEBOLOGY based?

Of the 41 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 1 (about 2%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (17), United Kingdom (9) and Germany (3). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.

Which databases index PHLEBOLOGY?

According to LetPub and DOAJ records, PHLEBOLOGY is indexed in SCIE and Scopus.

Is PHLEBOLOGY open access, and what is the APC?

PHLEBOLOGY is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 4,150.

Sources and updates

The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .