Journal profile · Peripheral Vascular Disease
PERFUSION-UK
ISSN 0267-6591 · eISSN 1477-111X · SAGE Publications Ltd · ENGLAND · Bimonthly · Founded 1986
PERFUSION-UK: CAS Zone 4 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 1.24; hybrid open access; APC about USD 4,150; review about 99 days (submission to acceptance, publisher); community-reported acceptance: easy; 175 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
PERFUSION-UK is published by SAGE Publications Ltd and is in Zone 4 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Mechanical Circulatory Support Devices, Cardiac and Coronary Surgery Techniques and Cardiac Arrest and Resuscitation, together about 45.7% of its articles. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Perfusion is an ISI-ranked, peer-reviewed scholarly journal, which provides current information on all aspects of perfusion, oxygenation and biocompatibility and their use in modern cardiac surgery. The journal is at the forefront of international research and development and presents an appropriately multidisciplinary approach to perfusion science. View full journal description This journal is a member of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE).
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Peripheral Vascular Disease
Editor-in-chief Prakash P PunjabiPublisher website
Editorial board by country: 3 in mainland China (about 6%); most named United Kingdom 10, United States 8, Italy 6, Netherlands 5, Türkiye 4 (53 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Mechanical Circulatory Support DevicesEngineering21.5%
- Cardiac and Coronary Surgery TechniquesMedicine16%
- Cardiac Arrest and ResuscitationMedicine8.3%
- Cardiac Ischemia and ReperfusionMedicine5.6%
- Cardiac, Anesthesia and Surgical OutcomesMedicine5%
- Cardiac Structural Anomalies and RepairMedicine4.1%
- Cardiac Valve Diseases and TreatmentsMedicine4%
- Aortic Disease and Treatment ApproachesMedicine4%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Cardiac & Cardiovascular Systems | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Peripheral Vascular Disease | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Cardiac & Cardiovascular Systems | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Peripheral Vascular Disease | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Cardiac & Cardiovascular Systems | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Peripheral Vascular Disease | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
Database indexing
SCIEScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor
- 1.24LetPub ·
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 1.3Publisher website ·
- 5-year impact factor (publisher)
- 1.4Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 3.3LetPub ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.49LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.72LetPub ·
- h-index
- 40LetPub ·
- h-index
- 66OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 1,338OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 1.29OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 15.4%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 15.43%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 154LetPub ·
- Articles per year (publisher)
- 3Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 4,229 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 155 | 44 | 25 |
| 2025 | 175 | 65 | 124 |
| 2024 | 230 | 102 | 573 |
| 2023 | 217 | 93 | 802 |
| 2022 | 231 | 74 | 1,331 |
| 2021 | 201 | 40 | 1,443 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Publisher-reported review time from the journal's website
99 dayssubmission to acceptance · community reports 6–12 weeks
The publisher's own definition applies; dates from this journal's articles in the last 24 months are not available yet, so the publisher's figure is used.
Figures by source
- Average review time (community reports)
- 6–12 weeksLetPub ·
- Average acceptance (community reports)
- EasyLetPub ·
- Acceptance rate (publisher)
- 30.2%Publisher website ·
- Submission to first decision
- 3 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to acceptance
- 99 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication
- 12 daysPublisher website ·
- Peer review
- Double anonymous peer reviewPublisher website
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAlex | USD 4,150 / GBP 3,043 | — | — | |
| Publisher website | Yes, amount not published | — | — |
A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare3 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 250 words
- Reference style
- Vancouver
- Not considered
- insufficient quality; no rights to the work; no permissions for copyright works; clinical trial not registered
Article types accepted13, with length limits
- book reviewManuscripts are considered for publication with the understanding that they have not been published previously and are not under consideration by another public…Length not stated
- book reviewsBook reviews, up to 150 wordsLength not stated
- case reportManuscripts are considered for publication with the understanding that they have not been published previously and are not under consideration by another public…Length not stated
- case reportsCase reports, up to 900 words with one table or figure and an abstract of no more than 150 words which contains the subheadings: introduction, case Report, disc…Length not stated
- correspondenceManuscripts are considered for publication with the understanding that they have not been published previously and are not under consideration by another public…Length not stated
- letterManuscripts are considered for publication with the understanding that they have not been published previously and are not under consideration by another public…Length not stated
- lettersLetters, up to 600 wordsLength not stated
- original paperManuscripts are considered for publication with the understanding that they have not been published previously and are not under consideration by another public…main text ≤ 3,000 words
- original papersOriginal papers, 1,500-3,000 words with up to six tables or figures and an abstract of no more than 250 words which contains the subheadings: introduction, meth…Length not stated
- practical techniquesPractical techniques, up to 1,500 wordsLength not stated
- reviewManuscripts are considered for publication with the understanding that they have not been published previously and are not under consideration by another public…Length not stated
- review articleManuscripts are considered for publication with the understanding that they have not been published previously and are not under consideration by another public…main text ≤ 10,000 words
- review articlesReview articles, 5,000-10,000 words with an abstract of no more than 250 words containing relevant subheadings as selected by the authorLength not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAuthorship, Data availability, Publication ethics, Open access, Peer review, Plagiarism, Preprints, Trial registration / reporting guidelines
- Authorship Author contributions
You will be asked to list the contribution of each author as part of the submission process. Please include the Author Contributions heading within your submission after the Acknowledgements section. The information you give on submission will then show under the Author Contributions heading later at the proofing stage.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Data availability Data availability
The Journal is committed to facilitating openness, transparency and reproducibility of research, and has the following research data sharing policy. For more information, including FAQs please visit the Sage Research Data policy pages. Subject to appropriate ethical and legal considerations, authors are encouraged to: Share your research data in a relevant public data repository Include a data ava…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Publication ethics Ethical considerations
Please include your ethics approval statements under this heading, even if you have already included ethics approval information in your methods section. If ethical approval was not required, you need to explicitly state this. All papers reporting studies involving human participants, human data or human tissue must state that the relevant Ethics Committee or Institutional Review Board approved th…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Publishing fees and open access
There are no fees payable to submit or publish in this journal. Figures submitted in color will be published in color in the online version of the journal at no cost. For specifically requested colour reproduction in print, you will receive information regarding the costs from Sage after receipt of your accepted article. Optional open access publishing is available for a fee via the Sage Choice pr…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer review policy
Double anonymized peer review Model summary
The following summary describes the peer review process for this journal: Identity transparency: Double anonymised Reviewer interacts with: Editor Review information published: None Your manuscript will undergo an initial evaluation. If it does not conform to the requirements laid out in these guidelines, it will be returned to you for amendments prior to peer review. Manuscripts may be desk rejec…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Plagiarism Plagiarism
The journal and Sage take issues of copyright infringement, plagiarism or other breaches of best practice in publication very seriously. Please read Sage's complete policy on plagiarism and the actions we may take.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints Preprints
The journal will consider submissions of manuscripts that have been posted on preprint servers. Please enter the preprint DOI in the designated field when submitting your manuscript. We advise that you inform the Journal Editorial office about your posted preprint at submission. Note that you should not post an updated version of your manuscript on a preprint server while it is being peer reviewed…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Trial registration / reporting guidelines Clinical trial registration
The journal conforms to the ICMJE requirement that clinical trials are registered in a WHO-approved public trials registry at or before the time of first participant enrollment as a condition of consideration for publication. The trial registry name and URL, and registration number must be included at the end of the abstract.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- SAGE Publications Ltd
- Country or region
- ENGLAND
- Language
- English
- Frequency
- Bimonthly
- Founded
- 1986
- ISSN
- 0267-6591
- Electronic ISSN
- 1477-111X
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗LetPub
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about PERFUSION-UK
What CAS zone is PERFUSION-UK in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, PERFUSION-UK is in Zone 4 of Medicine, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Cardiac & Cardiovascular Systems / Peripheral Vascular Disease. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 4 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of PERFUSION-UK?
The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 1.24; CiteScore 3.3, h-index 66.
How long does peer review take at PERFUSION-UK?
The publisher reports about 99 days (submission to acceptance); authors report an average review time of 6–12 weeks; the community-reported acceptance is “Easy”; the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 30.2%. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of PERFUSION-UK?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 250 words; Reference style: Vancouver. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of PERFUSION-UK based?
Of the 53 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 3 (about 6%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United Kingdom (10), United States (8) and Italy (6). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index PERFUSION-UK?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, PERFUSION-UK is indexed in SCIE and Scopus.
Is PERFUSION-UK open access, and what is the APC?
PERFUSION-UK is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 4,150.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-24). Last updated: .