Journal profile · Pathology

Pathology International

ISSN 1320-5463 · eISSN 1440-1827 · Wiley-Blackwell Publishing Ltd · JAPAN · Monthly · Founded 1994

Pathology International: CAS Zone 4 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 1.88; hybrid open access; APC about USD 3,610; median 79 days to acceptance (91 articles, last 24 months); community-reported acceptance: about 75%; 116 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE and Scopus.

Impact factor1.88Latest value listed by LetPub
CAS zoneZone 4 · Medicine2025 upgraded edition, major category · 2026 Xinrui edition Zone 4 · Medicine
Review time79 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · 91 articles, last 24 months · Crossref
APCUSD 3,610Hybrid journal: charged only for open-access articles
Acceptanceabout 75%Community average
Articles per year1162025 · OpenAlex count

Scope

Aims, scope and focus

Pathology International is published by Wiley-Blackwell Publishing Ltd and is in Zone 4 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Sarcoma Diagnosis and Treatment, Lymphoma Diagnosis and Treatment and Neuroendocrine Tumor Research Advances, together about 21.4% of its articles. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)

Pathology International is the official English journal of the Japanese Society of Pathology, publishing articles of excellence in human and experimental pathology. The Journal focuses on the morphological study of the disease process and/or mechanisms. For human pathology, morphological investigation receives priority but manuscripts describing the result of any ancillary methods (cellular, chemical, immunological and molecular biological) that complement the morphology are accepted. Manuscript on experimental pathology that approach pathologenesis or mechanisms of disease processes are expected to report on the data obtained from models using cellular, biochemical, molecular biological, animal, immunological or other methods in conjunction with morphology. Manuscripts that report data on laboratory medicine (clinical pathology) without significant morphological contribution are not accepted.

From the journal's Aims & Scope

Research area (LetPub): Pathology

Editor-in-chief Tetsuo UshikuPublisher website

Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate

  1. Sarcoma Diagnosis and TreatmentMedicine9%
  2. Lymphoma Diagnosis and TreatmentMedicine7%
  3. Neuroendocrine Tumor Research AdvancesMedicine5.5%
  4. Viral-associated cancers and disordersMedicine5%
  5. Cancer and Skin LesionsMedicine4.8%
  6. Soft tissue tumor case studiesMedicine4.8%
  7. Genetic factors in colorectal cancerMedicine4.3%
  8. Salivary Gland Tumors Diagnosis and TreatmentMedicine4.2%

Rankings & indexing

CAS ranking and database indexing

CAS Journal Ranking

CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 4
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 4
MinorPathologyZone 3

Top journal: noReview journal: no

CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 4
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 4
MinorPathologyZone 3

Top journal: noReview journal: not marked

CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Medicine Zone 4
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 4
MinorPathologyZone 4

Top journal: noReview journal: no

Database indexing

SCIEScopusLetPub

International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub

Indexing the journal's website claims

MEDLINEPubMedEmbaseCASCAB AbstractsCurrent ContentsPublisher website

Other: EBSCO

As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.

Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.

Metrics

Impact metrics and publication volume

Impact

Impact factor
1.88LetPub ·
Impact factor (publisher)
1.9Publisher website ·
Impact factor (publisher) 2025
1.9Publisher website ·
CiteScore 2026-06
4.8LetPub ·
CiteScore (publisher)
4.8Publisher website ·
CiteScore (publisher) 2025
4.8Publisher website ·
SJR 2026-06
0.83LetPub ·
SNIP 2026-06
0.98LetPub ·
h-index
69LetPub ·
h-index
95OpenAlex ·
i10-index
2,465OpenAlex ·
2-year mean citedness
1.09OpenAlex ·
Self-citation rate
0%LetPub ·
Share of gold OA articles
33.53%LetPub ·

Volume

Articles per year
62LetPub ·
Articles per year (publisher) 2025
88Publisher website ·
Downloads per year (publisher) 2025
207,273Publisher website ·

Articles by year OpenAlex count · 4,991 in total · the current year is incomplete

YearArticlesOpen accessCitations
20261156618
20251166093
202411555267
202310765368
2022123311,091
202115029930

Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.

Review & acceptance

Review time and acceptance

Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with Crossref · to

79 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 48 days – 131 days

Acceptance to online
median 11 days (91 articles)
Submission to online
median 91 days
Sample
91 articles with submission and acceptance dates (230 in the window); the latest was accepted on

Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".

Other sources

Average review time (community reports)
about 12 monthsLetPub ·
Average acceptance (community reports)
75%LetPub ·
Acceptance rate (publisher)
17%Publisher website ·
Acceptance rate (publisher) 2025
17%Publisher website ·
Submission to first decision
10 daysPublisher website ·
Submission to first decision 2025
10 daysPublisher website ·
Submission to acceptance 2025
103 daysPublisher website ·
Acceptance to publication 2025
12 daysPublisher website ·
Peer review
Single-anonymous peer reviewPublisher website · model-extracted

Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.

Fees & open access

APC and open-access policy

Hybrid open accessLetPub

A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.

SourceAPCFee waiverLicenseObserved
OpenAlexUSD 3,610 / EUR 2,990 / GBP 2,420——

A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.

Other charges and waivers (author guidelines)

Submission fee
No submission fee

The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.

Submission

Article types and submission policies (journal website)

What to prepare9 items from the author guidelines
Abstract
≤ 200 words
Manuscript length
≤ 3,500 words
Reference style
Vancouver
Templates
Word
First submission
Free format: the journal's layout is not required
Suggested reviewers
Optional
Highlights
Required
Graphical abstract
Optional
Cover letter
Required
Publisher website · model-extracted, each line checked against the text
Article types accepted10, with length limits
  1. case reportManuscripts are published in five categories: (i) Original Articles; (ii) Case Reports; (iii) Short Communication; (iv) Letter to the Editor and (v) Review Arti…Length not stated
  2. case reportsManuscripts are published in five categories: (i) Original Articles; (ii) Case Reports; (iii) Short Communication; (iv) Letter to the Editor and (v) Review Arti…Length not stated
  3. editorialSubmitted manuscripts are first read by Associate Editors. At this stage, some reports may be declined. The others are sent for peer review to two or three revi…Length not stated
  4. letter to the editorManuscripts are published in five categories: (i) Original Articles; (ii) Case Reports; (iii) Short Communication; (iv) Letter to the Editor and (v) Review Arti…Length not stated
  5. mini reviewWord limit: 2500Abstract: 200References: 50Figures/Tables: 5 maxfigures and tables ≤ 50 · references ≤ 200
  6. mini review (by invitation only)Mini Review (by Invitation only)Length not stated
  7. original articleManuscripts are published in five categories: (i) Original Articles; (ii) Case Reports; (iii) Short Communication; (iv) Letter to the Editor and (v) Review Arti…main text ≤ 3,000 words · abstract ≤ 200 words
  8. original articlesManuscripts are published in five categories: (i) Original Articles; (ii) Case Reports; (iii) Short Communication; (iv) Letter to the Editor and (v) Review Arti…Length not stated
  9. review articleManuscripts are published in five categories: (i) Original Articles; (ii) Case Reports; (iii) Short Communication; (iv) Letter to the Editor and (v) Review Arti…Length not stated
  10. short communicationManuscripts are published in five categories: (i) Original Articles; (ii) Case Reports; (iii) Short Communication; (iv) Letter to the Editor and (v) Review Arti…main text ≤ 1,200 words · abstract ≤ 200 words
Publisher website
Policy excerpts from the journal's websitePublication ethics, License & copyright, Peer review, Preprints, Self-archiving
Publication ethics 3. ETHICAL CONSIDERATIONS

Pathology International is committed to integrity in scientific research and recognizes the importance of maintaining the highest ethical standards. Authorship and Acknowledgements. The journal adheres to the definition of authorship set up by The International Committee of Medical Journal Editors (ICMJE). The ICMJE recommends that authorship be based on the following 4 criteria: i) Substantial co…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
License & copyright 7. COPYRIGHT AND LICENSING

You may choose to publish under the terms of the journal’s standard copyright agreement, or Open Access under the terms of a Creative Commons License. Standard re-use and licensing rights vary by journal. Note that certain funders mandate a particular type of CC license be used. This journal uses the CC-BY/CC-BY-NC/CC-BY-NC-ND Creative Commons License. Self-Archiving Definitions and Policies: Note…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Peer review Fast Review Process

10 days from submission to first decision!(Median number of days) 30 days from submission to first decision!(Excluding articles that were rejected without review) High Citation Award Winners Announced!

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Preprints Preprint policy

Preprint policy Model summary

This journal accepts article previously published on preprint servers. Pathology International will consider for review articles previously available as preprints. Authors may also post the submitted version of a manuscript to a preprint server at any time. Authors are requested to update any pre-publication versions with a link to the final published article.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Self-archiving

Free Format submission Model summary

Pathology International now offers Free Format submission for a simplified and streamlined submission process.

Source ↗Publisher website ·

Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.

Profile

Publication details and official links

Publisher
Wiley-Blackwell Publishing Ltd
Country or region
JAPAN
Language
English
Frequency
Monthly
Founded
1994
ISSN
1320-5463
Electronic ISSN
1440-1827
Society / sponsor
Japanese Society of Pathology
Latest issue on the website
Volume 76, Issue 9 (September 2026)
Official links

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about Pathology International

What CAS zone is Pathology International in?

In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Pathology International is in Zone 4 of Medicine, and in Zone 3 of the minor category Pathology. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 4 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.

What is the impact factor of Pathology International?

The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 1.88; CiteScore 4.8, h-index 95.

How long does peer review take at Pathology International?

Based on the dates recorded on 91 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 79 days (interquartile range 48–131 days); authors report an average review time of about 12 months; the community-reported acceptance is “about 75%”; the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 17% (2025). Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.

What are the manuscript requirements of Pathology International?

According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 200 words; Manuscript length: ≤ 3,500 words; Reference style: Vancouver; Templates: Word; First submission: Free format: the journal's layout is not required; Suggested reviewers: Optional; Highlights: Required; Graphical abstract: Optional; Cover letter: Required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.

Which databases index Pathology International?

According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Pathology International is indexed in SCIE and Scopus. The journal's website also lists MEDLINE, PubMed, Embase, CAS, CAB Abstracts and Current Contents; that list has not been checked against each database.

Is Pathology International open access, and what is the APC?

Pathology International is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 3,610.

Sources and updates

The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .