Journal profile · PATHOLOGY
Pathology and Laboratory Medicine International
ISSN 1179-2698 · Dove Medical Press · United Kingdom
Pathology and Laboratory Medicine International: CAS Zone 4 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); fully open access; APC about USD 1,806; review about 16 weeks (community reports); 3 articles a year; flagged on an early-warning list or for an indexing change: check before submitting.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Pathology and Laboratory Medicine International is published by Dove Medical Press and is in Zone 4 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Clinical Laboratory Practices and Quality Control, Lymphoma Diagnosis and Treatment and Oral and Maxillofacial Pathology, together about 22.1% of its articles. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Editor-in-Chief: Dr Paul Zhang, MD Pathology and Laboratory Medicine International is an international, peer-reviewed, open access, online journal. The journal includes original research, updates, case reports, reviews and commentaries on current controversies. Pathology and Laboratory Medicine International will no longer consider meta-analyses for publication. Innovative basic research and translational research related to pathology or human disease including: Pathophysiology, Genetic mechanisms in pathology, Immunological aspects of pathology, Cellular and molecular basis of pathology, Diagnostic anatomic pathology (histopathology, cytopathology, diagnostic immunohistochemistry and diagnostic molecular genetics), Advances in laboratory medicine. The mission of the journal is to provide a bridge for pathologists in the developed world to those in developing countries. To promote and proliferate modern knowledge in the field of diagnostic and academic pathology and to improve the quality of patient care.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): PATHOLOGY
Editor-in-chief Paul ZhangPublisher website
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Clinical Laboratory Practices and Quality ControlMedicine8.1%
- Lymphoma Diagnosis and TreatmentMedicine7%
- Oral and Maxillofacial PathologyDentistry7%
- Hemoglobinopathies and Related DisordersMedicine5.8%
- Blood groups and transfusionMedicine5.8%
- Sarcoma Diagnosis and TreatmentMedicine4.7%
- Bone Tumor Diagnosis and TreatmentsMedicine4.7%
- Chronic Lymphocytic Leukemia ResearchMedicine4.7%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Pathology | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
Database indexing
Indexed in: no record yet.
Early warning / risk: Marked as ceased in ESCI on 16 February 2026. CAS Early Warning Journal List: not listed in any of 6 editions.LetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- h-index
- 16OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 28OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 1OpenAlex ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 94.44%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 3LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 94 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2024 | 3 | 3 | 3 |
| 2023 | 9 | 9 | 77 |
| 2022 | 6 | 6 | 34 |
| 2021 | 3 | 3 | 12 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 16 weeksLetPub ·
- Peer review
- Anonymous peer reviewLetPub
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAlex | USD 1,806 | — | — | |
| LetPub | USD 2,630 | Yes | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
Article types accepted2
- case reportAuthors may use these detailed descriptions of different paper types accepted by Dove Medical Press (case reports, reviews, etc) to decide how to label their pa…Length not stated
- reviewAuthors may use these detailed descriptions of different paper types accepted by Dove Medical Press (case reports, reviews, etc) to decide how to label their pa…Length not stated
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Dove Medical Press
- Country or region
- United Kingdom
- Language
- English
- ISSN
- 1179-2698
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Author guidelines ↗LetPub
- Aims & Scope ↗LetPub
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
- Peer review process ↗LetPub
- Editorial board ↗LetPub
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Pathology and Laboratory Medicine International
What CAS zone is Pathology and Laboratory Medicine International in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Pathology and Laboratory Medicine International is in Zone 4 of Medicine, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Pathology. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
How long does peer review take at Pathology and Laboratory Medicine International?
Authors report an average review time of about 16 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
Is Pathology and Laboratory Medicine International open access, and what is the APC?
Pathology and Laboratory Medicine International is a fully open-access journal. APC about USD 1,806.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .