Journal profile · Food Science & Technology

Natural Product Communications

ISSN 1934-578X · eISSN 1555-9475 · Natural Product Communications · UNITED STATES · Monthly · Founded 2006

Natural Product Communications: CAS Zone 4 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 1.44; fully open access; APC about USD 2,650; review about 1 month (community reports); community-reported acceptance: about 95%; 336 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE and Scopus.

Impact factor1.44Latest value listed by LetPub
CAS zoneZone 4 · Medicine2025 upgraded edition, major category · 2026 Xinrui edition Zone 4 · Medicine
Review timeabout 1 monthCommunity average
APCUSD 2,650Fully open access
Acceptanceabout 95%Community average
Articles per year3362025 · OpenAlex count

Scope

Aims, scope and focus

Natural Product Communications is published by Natural Product Communications and is in Zone 4 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Phytochemistry and Biological Activities, Natural product bioactivities and synthesis and Essential Oils and Antimicrobial Activity, together about 40.8% of its articles. Its main subfields are Molecular Biology. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)

Natural Product Communications is a peer reviewed, open access journal studying all aspects of natural products, including isolation, characterization, spectroscopic properties, biological activities, synthesis, structure-activity, biotransformation, biosynthesis, tissue culture and fermentation. It covers the full breadth of chemistry, biochemistry, biotechnology, pharmacology, and chemical ecology of natural products. View full journal description This journal is a member of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE).

From the journal's Aims & Scope

Research area (LetPub): Food Science & Technology

Editorial board by country: 20 in mainland China (about 18%); most named Mainland China 20, India 19, United States 8, Egypt 6, Nigeria 6 (109 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·

Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate

  1. Phytochemistry and Biological ActivitiesAgricultural and Biological Sciences14%
  2. Natural product bioactivities and synthesisBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology13.8%
  3. Essential Oils and Antimicrobial ActivityAgricultural and Biological Sciences13%
  4. Phytochemicals and Antioxidant ActivitiesMedicine6.4%
  5. Traditional and Medicinal Uses of AnnonaceaeBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology4.7%
  6. Marine Sponges and Natural ProductsBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology3.9%
  7. Plant biochemistry and biosynthesisBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology3.7%
  8. Microbial Natural Products and BiosynthesisMedicine3.7%

Rankings & indexing

CAS ranking and database indexing

CAS Journal Ranking

CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 4
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 4
MinorChemistry, MedicinalZone 4
MinorFood Science & TechnologyZone 4

Top journal: noReview journal: no

CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 4
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 4
MinorChemistry, MedicinalZone 4
MinorFood Science & TechnologyZone 4

Top journal: noReview journal: not marked

CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Medicine Zone 4
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 4
MinorChemistry, MedicinalZone 4
MinorFood Science & TechnologyZone 4

Top journal: noReview journal: no

Database indexing

SCIEScopusDOAJLetPub

International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub

Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.

Metrics

Impact metrics and publication volume

Impact

Impact factor
1.44LetPub ·
Impact factor (publisher)
1.5Publisher website ·
5-year impact factor (publisher)
1.7Publisher website ·
CiteScore 2026-06
2.7LetPub ·
SJR 2026-06
0.33LetPub ·
SNIP 2026-06
0.47LetPub ·
h-index
35LetPub ·
h-index
73OpenAlex ·
i10-index
2,363OpenAlex ·
2-year mean citedness
1.61OpenAlex ·
Self-citation rate
6.7%LetPub ·
Share of gold OA articles
99.88%LetPub ·

Volume

Articles per year
325LetPub ·
Articles per year (publisher)
3Publisher website ·

Articles by year OpenAlex count · 7,436 in total · the current year is incomplete

YearArticlesOpen accessCitations
202622922941
2025336336587
2024318318794
2023192192485
20223023021,406
20212372371,493

Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.

Review & acceptance

Review time and acceptance

Average review time (community reports)
about 1 monthLetPub ·
Average acceptance (community reports)
95%LetPub ·
Acceptance rate (publisher)
46.3%Publisher website ·
Submission to first decision
10 daysPublisher website ·
Acceptance to publication
18 daysPublisher website ·
Submission to publication (journal-reported)
about 7 weeksDOAJ ·
Peer review
Single anonymous peer reviewDOAJ

Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.

Fees & open access

APC and open-access policy

Fully open accessDOAJ

Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).

SourceAPCFee waiverLicenseObserved
DOAJUSD 2,650YesCC BY, CC BY-NC
OpenAlexUSD 2,650——
LetPubUSD 3,000Yes—
Publisher websiteUSD 3,200——

Other charges and waivers (author guidelines)

Submission fee
No submission fee

The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.

Submission

Article types and submission policies (journal website)

What to prepare2 items from the author guidelines
Keywords
≥ 5
Reference style
AMA
Publisher website · model-extracted, each line checked against the text
Article types accepted17, with length limits
  1. accountsAccounts are personalized reviews about important recent work of individual research groups.Length not stated
  2. book reviewView our Special Collections currently accepting submissions. Please visit the Sage Journal Author Gateway for guidance on producing visual and/or video abstrac…Length not stated
  3. book reviewsBook Reviews: The Editor-in-Chief would be pleased to receive books for possible reviews.Length not stated
  4. brief communicationView our Special Collections currently accepting submissions. Please visit the Sage Journal Author Gateway for guidance on producing visual and/or video abstrac…Length not stated
  5. correspondenceView our Special Collections currently accepting submissions. Please visit the Sage Journal Author Gateway for guidance on producing visual and/or video abstrac…Length not stated
  6. letterView our Special Collections currently accepting submissions. Please visit the Sage Journal Author Gateway for guidance on producing visual and/or video abstrac…Length not stated
  7. letter to the editorView our Special Collections currently accepting submissions. Please visit the Sage Journal Author Gateway for guidance on producing visual and/or video abstrac…Length not stated
  8. letters to the editorView our Special Collections currently accepting submissions. Please visit the Sage Journal Author Gateway for guidance on producing visual and/or video abstrac…Length not stated
  9. original researchView our Special Collections currently accepting submissions. Please visit the Sage Journal Author Gateway for guidance on producing visual and/or video abstrac…Length not stated
  10. original research paperView our Special Collections currently accepting submissions. Please visit the Sage Journal Author Gateway for guidance on producing visual and/or video abstrac…Length not stated
  11. original research papersOriginal Research Papers cover original research which has not been previously published, except in the form of an abstract or preliminary communication.Length not stated
  12. reviewView our Special Collections currently accepting submissions. Please visit the Sage Journal Author Gateway for guidance on producing visual and/or video abstrac…Length not stated
  13. reviewsReviews are critically evaluated overviews on recent developments in a specific area of interest to the readership.Length not stated
  14. short communicationView our Special Collections currently accepting submissions. Please visit the Sage Journal Author Gateway for guidance on producing visual and/or video abstrac…Length not stated
  15. short communicationsShort Communications are preliminary reports of new research results whose significance to the scientific community justifies rapid publication; comprehensive p…Length not stated
  16. systematic reviewAbstract: Structured (200-300 words) Word count: 3,000-5,000 words Figure/Table limit: 6 Reference limit: 100 Reporting guidelines: PRISMA 2020, PRISMA-S, PRISM…main text ≤ 300 words · abstract ≤ 300 words · references ≤ 6
  17. viewpointView our Special Collections currently accepting submissions. Please visit the Sage Journal Author Gateway for guidance on producing visual and/or video abstrac…Length not stated
Publisher website
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAuthorship, Data availability, Publication ethics, Open access, Peer review, Plagiarism, Preprints, Trial registration / reporting guidelines
Authorship Authorship

Please view our authorship policies, which includes information on criteria for authorship, who should be the corresponding author and more. Please note that AI chatbots, for example ChatGPT, should not be listed as authors. For more information see the policy on Use of ChatGPT and generative AI tools. Authors must ensure that the sequence of authors listed in the manuscript exactly matches the au…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Data availability Data availability

Data policy: Authors are encouraged to share research data in a relevant public data repository, include a data availability statement linking to their data, and cite the data in their research. If it is not possible to share data, the statement should confirm why it cannot be shared. Model summary

The Journal is committed to facilitating openness, transparency and reproducibility of research, and has the following research data sharing policy. For more information, including FAQs please visit the Sage Research Data policy pages. Subject to appropriate ethical and legal considerations, authors are encouraged to: Share your research data in a relevant public data repository Include a data ava…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Publication ethics Ethical considerations

Publication ethics: The journal is a member of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE). Authors are encouraged to follow Sage's Publication Ethics Policies, the ICMJE Recommendations, and the Committee on Publication Ethics' International Standards for Authors. Model summary

Please include your ethics approval statements under this heading, even if you have already included ethics approval information in your methods section. If ethical approval was not required, you need to explicitly state this. All papers reporting studies involving human participants, human data or human tissue must state that the relevant Ethics Committee or Institutional Review Board approved th…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Open access Publishing fees and open access

Natural Product Communications is an open access, peer-reviewed journal. All accepted articles are made freely available online immediately upon publication, are published under a Creative Commons license, and hosted online in perpetuity. If, after peer review, your manuscript is accepted for publication, a one-time article processing charge (APC) is payable to cover the cost of publishing, paid b…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Peer review Peer review policy

The following summary describes the peer review process for this journal: Identity transparency: Single Anonymized Reviewer interacts with: Editor Review information published: None Your manuscript will undergo an initial evaluation. If it does not conform to the requirements laid out in these guidelines, it will be returned to you for amendments prior to peer review. Manuscripts may be desk rejec…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Plagiarism Plagiarism

The journal and Sage take issues of copyright infringement, plagiarism or other breaches of best practice in publication very seriously. Please read Sage's complete policy on plagiarism and the actions we may take.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Preprints Preprints

Preprint policy: The journal will consider submissions of manuscripts that have been posted on preprint servers. Authors should enter the preprint DOI in the designated field when submitting and inform the Journal Editorial office about the posted preprint at submission. Authors should not post an u Model summary

The journal will consider submissions of manuscripts that have been posted on preprint servers. Please enter the preprint DOI in the designated field when submitting your manuscript. We advise that you inform the Journal Editorial office about your posted preprint at submission. Note that you should not post an updated version of your manuscript on a preprint server while it is being peer reviewed…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Trial registration / reporting guidelines Clinical trial registration

The journal conforms to the ICMJE requirement that clinical trials are registered in a WHO-approved public trials registry at or before the time of first participant enrollment as a condition of consideration for publication. The trial registry name and URL, and registration number must be included at the end of the abstract.

Source ↗Publisher website ·

Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.

Profile

Publication details and official links

Publisher
Natural Product Communications
Country or region
UNITED STATES
Language
English
Frequency
Monthly
Founded
2006
ISSN
1934-578X
Electronic ISSN
1555-9475
Official links

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about Natural Product Communications

What CAS zone is Natural Product Communications in?

In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Natural Product Communications is in Zone 4 of Medicine, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Chemistry, Medicinal / Food Science & Technology. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 4 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.

What is the impact factor of Natural Product Communications?

The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 1.44; CiteScore 2.7, h-index 73.

How long does peer review take at Natural Product Communications?

Authors report an average review time of about 1 month; the community-reported acceptance is “about 95%”; the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 46.3%. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.

What are the manuscript requirements of Natural Product Communications?

According to the journal's author guidelines: Keywords: ≥ 5; Reference style: AMA. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.

Where are the editorial board members of Natural Product Communications based?

Of the 109 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 20 (about 18%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are Mainland China (20), India (19) and United States (8). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.

Which databases index Natural Product Communications?

According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Natural Product Communications is indexed in SCIE, Scopus and DOAJ.

Is Natural Product Communications open access, and what is the APC?

Natural Product Communications is a fully open-access journal. APC about USD 2,650.

Sources and updates

The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex, DOAJ; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .