Journal profile · Multiple

Learning Disabilities Research & Practice

ISSN 0938-8982 · eISSN 1540-5826 · Wiley-Blackwell

Learning Disabilities Research & Practice: CAS Zone 3 · Education (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 1.98; hybrid open access; APC about USD 3,650; 20 articles in 2025; indexed in SSCI and Scopus; the journal's website says it has moved to a new publisher.

The journal's website says it has moved to a new publisher: As of January 2024, Learning Disabilities Research & Practice will no longer be published by Wiley. More information can be found on the new publisher’s website: https://journals.sagepub.com/home/ldra Source ↗Publisher website ·

Impact factor1.98Latest value listed by LetPub
CAS zoneZone 3 · Education2025 upgraded edition, major category · 2026 Xinrui edition Zone 2 · Education
Review time—No reports yet
APCUSD 3,650Hybrid journal: charged only for open-access articles
Acceptance—No reports yet
Articles per year202025 · OpenAlex count

Scope

Aims, scope and focus

Learning Disabilities Research & Practice is published by Wiley-Blackwell and is in Zone 3 of Education in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Reading and Literacy Development, Cognitive and developmental aspects of mathematical skills and Disability Education and Employment, together about 43.5% of its articles. Its main subfields are Developmental and Educational Psychology and Education. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)

Because of the field of learning disabilities is multidisciplinary, LDRP publishes articles describing research, program development, and practices in teaching and assessment from a variety of disciplines as long as the focus is on learning disabilities and/or attention deficits.

From the journal's Aims & Scope

Research area (LetPub): Multiple

Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate

  1. Reading and Literacy DevelopmentPsychology19.9%
  2. Cognitive and developmental aspects of mathematical skillsMathematics12.3%
  3. Disability Education and EmploymentSocial Sciences11.3%
  4. Educational and Psychological AssessmentsPsychology4.9%
  5. Writing and Handwriting EducationSocial Sciences4.5%
  6. Mathematics Education and Teaching TechniquesSocial Sciences4.2%
  7. Behavioral and Psychological StudiesPsychology4.1%
  8. Collaborative Teaching and InclusionSocial Sciences3.4%

Rankings & indexing

CAS ranking and database indexing

CAS Journal Ranking

CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Education Zone 3
LevelCategoryZone
MajorEducationZone 3
MinorEducation, SpecialZone 2
MinorRehabilitationZone 2

Top journal: noReview journal: no

CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Education Zone 2
LevelCategoryZone
MajorEducationZone 2
MinorEducation, SpecialZone 2
MinorRehabilitationZone 2

Top journal: noReview journal: not marked

CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Education Zone 3
LevelCategoryZone
MajorEducationZone 3
MinorRehabilitationZone 2
MinorEducation, SpecialZone 3

Top journal: noReview journal: no

Database indexing

SSCIScopusLetPub

International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub

Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.

Metrics

Impact metrics and publication volume

Impact

Impact factor
1.98LetPub ·
CiteScore 2026-06
3.4LetPub ·
SJR 2026-06
0.79LetPub ·
SNIP 2026-06
1.6LetPub ·
h-index
102OpenAlex ·
i10-index
673OpenAlex ·
2-year mean citedness
1.62OpenAlex ·
Self-citation rate
5%LetPub ·
Share of gold OA articles
23.44%LetPub ·

Volume

Articles per year
18LetPub ·

Articles by year OpenAlex count · 1,275 in total · the current year is incomplete

YearArticlesOpen accessCitations
20263172
202520421
202422895
20233616194
2022298181
2021403539

Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.

Fees & open access

APC and open-access policy

Hybrid open accessLetPub

A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.

SourceAPCFee waiverLicenseObserved
OpenAlexUSD 3,650 / GBP 2,676——

A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.

The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.

Submission

Article types and submission policies (journal website)

What to prepare4 items from the author guidelines
Abstract
100–150 words
Reference style
APA
First submission
Free format: the journal's layout is not required
Cover letter
Optional
Publisher website · model-extracted, each line checked against the text
Article types accepted2
  1. practiceAuthors preparing manuscripts for the Practice section should consider a more informal style with an emphasis on rich, detailed descriptions of programs and pro…Length not stated
  2. researchAuthors preparing manuscripts for the Research section should adhere to style guidelines generally observed in scientific journals.Length not stated
Publisher website
Policy excerpts from the journal's websitePublication ethics, License & copyright, Peer review
Publication ethics

Name change policy. Model summary

In cases where authors wish to change their name following publication, Wiley will update and republish the paper and redeliver the updated metadata to indexing services.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
License & copyright

Copyright transfer to publisher upon acceptance. Model summary

Upon acceptance of a manuscript, authors are required to sign a form transferring the copyright from the author to the publisher.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Peer review

Blind review by experts in the content area. Model summary

Each paper undergoes blind review by experts in the area of its content.

Source ↗Publisher website ·

Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.

Profile

Publication details and official links

Publisher
Wiley-Blackwell
ISSN
0938-8982
Electronic ISSN
1540-5826
Official links

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about Learning Disabilities Research & Practice

What CAS zone is Learning Disabilities Research & Practice in?

In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Learning Disabilities Research & Practice is in Zone 3 of Education, and in Zone 2 of the minor category Education, Special / Rehabilitation. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 2 of Education. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.

What is the impact factor of Learning Disabilities Research & Practice?

The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 1.98; CiteScore 3.4, h-index 102.

What are the manuscript requirements of Learning Disabilities Research & Practice?

According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: 100–150 words; Reference style: APA; First submission: Free format: the journal's layout is not required; Cover letter: Optional. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.

Which databases index Learning Disabilities Research & Practice?

According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Learning Disabilities Research & Practice is indexed in SSCI and Scopus.

Is Learning Disabilities Research & Practice open access, and what is the APC?

Learning Disabilities Research & Practice is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 3,650.

Sources and updates

The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .