Journal profile · Multiple
Language Testing
ISSN 0265-5322 · eISSN 1477-0946 · SAGE
Language Testing: CAS Zone 2 · Literature (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 2.77; hybrid open access; APC about USD 3,900; review about 269 days (submission to acceptance, publisher); acceptance rate 11.2% (journal website); 31 articles in 2025; indexed in SSCI, AHCI and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Language Testing is published by SAGE and is in Zone 2 of Literature in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are EFL/ESL Teaching and Learning, Second Language Learning and Teaching and Student Assessment and Feedback, together about 41.8% of its articles. Its main subfields are Developmental and Educational Psychology. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Language Testing is a refereed journal that publishes primary and secondary research, reviews, and thought pieces on first, second, additional, foreign and bi-/multi-/trans-lingual language assessment. The scope includes spoken, signed and tactile languages. Please view our Author Submission Guidelines, Reviewer Resources, and View full journal description … | This journal is a member of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE).
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Multiple
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- EFL/ESL Teaching and LearningArts and Humanities19.8%
- Second Language Learning and TeachingArts and Humanities11.3%
- Student Assessment and FeedbackSocial Sciences10.7%
- Second Language Acquisition and LearningPsychology7.8%
- Psychometric Methodologies and TestingDecision Sciences5.6%
- Multilingual Education and PolicySocial Sciences5.4%
- Educational and Psychological AssessmentsPsychology4.7%
- Reading and Literacy DevelopmentPsychology4.5%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Literature Zone 2
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Literature | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Language & Linguistics | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Linguistics | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Literature Zone 1
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Literature | Zone 1 |
| Minor | Linguistics | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Language & Linguistics | Zone 1 |
Top journal: yesReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Literature Zone 1
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Literature | Zone 1 |
| Minor | Language & Linguistics | Zone 1 |
| Minor | Linguistics | Zone 1 |
Top journal: yesReview journal: no
Database indexing
SSCIAHCIScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor
- 2.77LetPub ·
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 2.8Publisher website ·
- 5-year impact factor (publisher)
- 3.6Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 7LetPub ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 1.29LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 1.88LetPub ·
- h-index
- 137OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 793OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 4OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 17.9%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 39.18%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 23LetPub ·
- Articles per year (publisher)
- 3Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 1,305 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 32 | 12 | 22 |
| 2025 | 31 | 16 | 146 |
| 2024 | 40 | 24 | 244 |
| 2023 | 62 | 28 | 497 |
| 2022 | 40 | 11 | 465 |
| 2021 | 26 | 5 | 471 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Publisher-reported review time from the journal's website
269 dayssubmission to acceptance
The publisher's own definition applies; dates from this journal's articles in the last 24 months are not available yet, so the publisher's figure is used.
Figures by source
- Acceptance rate (publisher)
- 11.2%Publisher website ·
- Submission to first decision
- 1 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to acceptance
- 269 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication
- 58 daysPublisher website ·
- Peer review
- Double anonymous peer reviewPublisher website
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAlex | USD 3,900 / GBP 2,859 | — | — |
A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare3 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 200 words
- Reference style
- APA
- Cover letter
- Required
Article types accepted9, with length limits
- book reviewered reports is available at this link. Book Review [1,500 words]: Reviews of books or edited volumes concerning language temain text ≤ 1,500 words
- brief reportatic reviews is available at this link. Brief Report [4,000 words]: Brief reports provide a concise format for the reportingmain text ≤ 4,000 words
- letter to the editorViewpoints are available at this link. Letter to the Editor [500-2,000 words]: Commissioned rejoinders to Viewpoints or to any responsesmain text ≤ 2,000 words
- original manuscriptOriginal Manuscript [9,000 words]: Original articles focus on the testing and assessment of language for a range of purposes, whether educational or professiona…Length not stated
- registered reportrief reports is available at this link. Registered Report [5,000 words]: Empirical articles in the form of research proposals whicmain text ≤ 5,000 words
- reviewAll manuscripts are reviewed initially by the editors and only those papers that meet the standards of the journal, and fit within its aims and scope, are sent …main text ≤ 4,000 words
- systematic reviewrically based and theoretical articles. Systematic Review [12,000 words]: Articles that employ rigorous systematic methods to condumain text ≤ 12,000 words
- test reviewTest Review [4,000 words]: Reviews of commercially or locally produced language tests. Test reviews are commissioned by the Test Review Editor.Length not stated
- viewpointverification (please see Section 2.2). Viewpoint [4,000-6,000 words]: Position papers on key topics, which can sometimes be promain text ≤ 6,000 words
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAuthorship, Conflicts of interest, Publication ethics, Open access, Peer review
- Authorship 2.3 Authorship
Sage follows the International Committee of Medical Journal Editors (ICMJE) principles of authorship to ensure fair and transparent credit for all authors involved in the research. All parties who have made a substantive contribution to the article should be listed as authors. Principal authorship, authorship order, and other publication credits should be based on the relative scientific or profes…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Conflicts of interest Conflict of Interest
If one of the editors, colleague, or a student of an editor submits a manuscript to Language Testing, the co-editor steers the manuscript through the review process and keeps the names of the reviewers from the other. No editor takes any decisions or responsibility for the review process of their own work, or the work of a close colleague, student, or friend.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Publication ethics 3.1 Publication ethics
Sage is committed to upholding the integrity of the academic record. We encourage authors to refer to the Committee on Publication Ethics’ International Standards for Authors and view the Publication Ethics page on the Sage Author Gateway.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access 3.3 Open access and author archiving
Language Testing offers optional open access publishing via the Sage Choice programme and Open Access agreements, where authors can publish open access either discounted or free of charge depending on the agreement with Sage. Find out if your institution is participating by visiting Open Access Agreements at Sage. For more information on Open Access publishing options at Sage please visit Sage Ope…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review
Double-blind peer review; manuscripts must be anonymized. Model summary
Language Testing uses a double-blind peer review system, and it is therefore important that manuscripts are free of any information that might identify any author.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- SAGE
- ISSN
- 0265-5322
- Electronic ISSN
- 1477-0946
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Language Testing
What CAS zone is Language Testing in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Language Testing is in Zone 2 of Literature, and in Zone 2 of the minor category Language & Linguistics / Linguistics. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 1 of Literature. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Language Testing?
The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 2.77; CiteScore 7, h-index 137.
How long does peer review take at Language Testing?
The publisher reports about 269 days (submission to acceptance); the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 11.2%. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Language Testing?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 200 words; Reference style: APA; Cover letter: Required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Which databases index Language Testing?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Language Testing is indexed in SSCI, AHCI and Scopus.
Is Language Testing open access, and what is the APC?
Language Testing is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 3,900.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .