Journal profile · AUDIOLOGY & SPEECH-LANGUAGE PATHOLOGY-REHABILITATION
Journal of Fluency Disorders
ISSN 0094-730X · eISSN 1873-801X · Elsevier Inc. · UNITED STATES · Founded 1974
Journal of Fluency Disorders: CAS Zone 3 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 2.75; hybrid open access; APC about USD 4,190; median 207 days to acceptance (100 articles, last 24 months); community-reported acceptance: fairly easy; 65 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE, SSCI and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Journal of Fluency Disorders is published by Elsevier Inc. and is in Zone 3 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Stuttering Research and Treatment, Phonetics and Phonology Research and Neurobiology of Language and Bilingualism, together about 60.3% of its articles. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Journal of Fluency Disorders is included in Medline.As the official journal of the World Stuttering & Cluttering Organization (WSCO) and recognized as the only journal devoted specifically to speech fluency disorders, the Journal of Fluency Disorders provides comprehensive coverage of clinical, experimental and theoretical aspects of speech fluency disorders, in particular of stuttering and cluttering, including contemporary and evidence-based interventions. The journal publishes scientific articles on all topics related to speech fluency disorders. Authors are encouraged to submit original research articles, review articles, methodological articles, short communications, and letters to the editor. Please note that we accept case studies only if they conform to the principles of single-subject experimental design.Membership BenefitsMembers of the World Stuttering and Cluttering Organization receive online access to the Journal of Fluency Disorders for free as a member benefit.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): AUDIOLOGY & SPEECH-LANGUAGE PATHOLOGY-REHABILITATION
Editor-in-chief Nathan MaxfieldPublisher website
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named United States 32, Australia 11, Germany 7, United Kingdom 3, Hong Kong, China 2 (71 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Stuttering Research and TreatmentPsychology35.8%
- Phonetics and Phonology ResearchPsychology16.7%
- Neurobiology of Language and BilingualismNeuroscience7.8%
- Language Development and DisordersPsychology6.8%
- Reading and Literacy DevelopmentPsychology6%
- Diverse Scientific and Economic StudiesEconomics, Econometrics and Finance3.6%
- Human auditory perception and evaluationEngineering3%
- Anxiety, Depression, Psychometrics, Treatment, Cognitive ProcessesPsychology2.7%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Education, Special | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Rehabilitation | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Audiology & Speech-language Pathology | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Linguistics | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Audiology & Speech-language Pathology | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Education, Special | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Linguistics | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Rehabilitation | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Medicine Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Rehabilitation | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Audiology & Speech-language Pathology | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Education, Special | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Linguistics | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
Database indexing
SCIESSCIScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
MEDLINEPublisher website
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor
- 2.75LetPub ·
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 2.8Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 2.5LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher)
- 2.5Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.81LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 1.43LetPub ·
- h-index
- 47LetPub ·
- h-index
- 96OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 834OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 1.93OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 35.7%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 29.31%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 59LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 2,496 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 46 | 17 | 14 |
| 2025 | 65 | 28 | 109 |
| 2024 | 31 | 16 | 151 |
| 2023 | 40 | 12 | 221 |
| 2022 | 26 | 7 | 116 |
| 2021 | 37 | 11 | 488 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with PubMed · to
207 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 141 days – 257 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 3 days (100 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 212 days
- Sample
- 100 articles with submission and acceptance dates (111 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Average review time (community reports)
- over 12 weeksLetPub ·
- Average acceptance (community reports)
- Fairly easyLetPub ·
- Submission to first decision
- 5 daysPublisher website ·
- First decision after review
- 87 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to acceptance
- 227 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication
- 3 daysPublisher website ·
- Peer review
- Double anonymous peer reviewPublisher website
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAlex | USD 4,190 / EUR 3,920 / GBP 3,350 / JPY 519,690 | — | — | |
| Publisher website | USD 3,750 | — | — |
A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare5 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 250 words
- Keywords
- 1–7
- Reference style
- APA
- Highlights
- Required
- Graphical abstract
- Optional
Article types accepted6
- case studiesPlease note that we accept case studies only if they conform to the principles of single-subject experimental design.Length not stated
- letters to the editorAuthors are encouraged to submit original research articles, review articles, methodological articles, short communications, and letters to the editor.Length not stated
- methodological articlesAuthors are encouraged to submit original research articles, review articles, methodological articles, short communications, and letters to the editor.Length not stated
- original research articlesAuthors are encouraged to submit original research articles, review articles, methodological articles, short communications, and letters to the editor.Length not stated
- review articlesAuthors are encouraged to submit original research articles, review articles, methodological articles, short communications, and letters to the editor.Length not stated
- short communicationsAuthors are encouraged to submit original research articles, review articles, methodological articles, short communications, and letters to the editor.Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Conflicts of interest, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Preprints
- AI use Declaration of generative AI use
Authors must declare the use of generative AI tools in the manuscript preparation process upon submission of the paper.Generative AI and AI-assisted technologies (“AI tools”) have been rapidly adopted in research and scholarly publishing, offering significant benefits while requiring clear standards for responsible and transparent use.Authors preparing a manuscript for this journal may use AI tool…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Authorship Group authorship
Group authorship refers to the attribution of an article to a defined and named group of authors whose members have contributed to the work. Examples include research consortia, clinical trial groups, collaborative networks, task forces or working groups, expert panels or consensus groups, and participatory research groups. Group authorship must be declared on the title page at submission. When av…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Conflicts of interest Declaration of competing interests
All authors must disclose any financial and personal relationships with other people or organizations that could inappropriately influence or bias their work. Examples of potential competing interests include:EmploymentConsultanciesStock ownershipHonorariaPaid expert testimonyPatent applications or registrationsGrants or any other fundingAffiliation with the journal as an Editor or Advisory Board …
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright License options
Authors will be offered open access user license options which will determine how you, and third parties, can reuse your open access article. We advise that you review these options and any funding body license requirements before selecting a license option.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Open access
We refer you to our open access information page to learn about open access options for this journal.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer review
Double anonymized peer review Model summary
This journal follows a double anonymized review process. Your submission will initially be assessed by our editors. If your submission is deemed suitable, it will typically be sent to be reviewed by a minimum of two reviewers for an independent expert assessment of the scientific quality. The decision as to whether your article is accepted or rejected for publication will be made by our editors.Re…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints Preprints
Preprint sharing allowed Model summary
Preprint sharingAuthors may share preprints in line with Elsevier's article sharing policy. Sharing preprints, such as on a preprint server, will not count as prior publication.We advise you to read our policy on multiple, redundant or concurrent publication.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Elsevier Inc.
- Country or region
- UNITED STATES
- Language
- English
- Founded
- 1974
- ISSN
- 0094-730X
- Electronic ISSN
- 1873-801X
- Society / sponsor
- World Stuttering & Cluttering Organization
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Journal of Fluency Disorders
What CAS zone is Journal of Fluency Disorders in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Journal of Fluency Disorders is in Zone 3 of Medicine, and in Zone 2 of the minor category Education, Special / Rehabilitation / Audiology & Speech-language Pathology / Linguistics. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 3 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Journal of Fluency Disorders?
The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 2.75; CiteScore 2.5, h-index 96.
How long does peer review take at Journal of Fluency Disorders?
Based on the dates recorded on 100 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 207 days (interquartile range 141–257 days); authors report an average review time of over 12 weeks; the community-reported acceptance is “Fairly easy”. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Journal of Fluency Disorders?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 250 words; Keywords: 1–7; Reference style: APA; Highlights: Required; Graphical abstract: Optional. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Journal of Fluency Disorders based?
Of the 71 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (32), Australia (11) and Germany (7). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Journal of Fluency Disorders?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Journal of Fluency Disorders is indexed in SCIE, SSCI and Scopus. The journal's website also lists MEDLINE; that list has not been checked against each database.
Is Journal of Fluency Disorders open access, and what is the APC?
Journal of Fluency Disorders is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 4,190.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .