Journal profile · Multiple

Laboratory Animal Research

ISSN 1738-6055 · eISSN 2233-7660 · BMC · United Kingdom

Laboratory Animal Research: CAS Zone 4 · Agricultural & Forestry Sciences (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 3.1 (journal website); diamond open access (no APC); no APC; median 197 days to acceptance (73 articles, last 24 months); 31 articles in 2025; indexed in ESCI and Scopus.

Impact factor3.1From the journal's website, 2025 value
CAS zoneZone 4 · Agricultural & Forestry Sciences2025 upgraded edition, major category · 2026 Xinrui edition Zone 3 · Agricultural & Forestry Sciences
Review time197 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · 73 articles, last 24 months · Crossref
APCNo APCDiamond open access (no APC)
Acceptance—No reports yet
Articles per year312025 · OpenAlex count

Scope

Aims, scope and focus

Laboratory Animal Research is published by BMC and is in Zone 4 of Agricultural & Forestry Sciences in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Legal and Regulatory Analysis, Linguistic, Cultural, and Literary Studies and Military Technology and Strategies, together about 64.8% of its articles. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)

Laboratory Animal Research is the official journal of The Korean Association for Laboratory Animal Science (KALAS). Laboratory Animal Research is an open access, peer-reviewed journal that considers articles on all aspects of in vivo studies with model organisms including genetics, behaviour, disease models, bioinformatics, and omics (phenomics, genomics, and metabolomics). Articles include original research and review about basic and applied laboratory investigations, letters and case reports, as well as informed and thoughtful opinions relevant to the humane care and use of laboratory animals.

From the journal's Aims & Scope

Research area (LetPub): Multiple

Editor-in-chief Je KyungPublisher website

Editorial board by country: 2 in mainland China (about 2%); most named South Korea 98, United States 4, Mainland China 2, Japan 2, Hong Kong, China 1 (117 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·

Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate

  1. Legal and Regulatory AnalysisSocial Sciences21.6%
  2. Linguistic, Cultural, and Literary StudiesSocial Sciences21.6%
  3. Military Technology and StrategiesEngineering21.6%
  4. Animal testing and alternativesVeterinary2.7%
  5. Pharmacological Effects of Natural CompoundsPharmacology, Toxicology and Pharmaceutics2.4%
  6. Helicobacter pylori-related gastroenterology studiesMedicine2.2%
  7. Food Quality and Safety StudiesAgricultural and Biological Sciences2%
  8. Adipose Tissue and MetabolismMedicine1.9%

Rankings & indexing

CAS ranking and database indexing

CAS Journal Ranking

CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Agricultural & Forestry Sciences Zone 4
LevelCategoryZone
MajorAgricultural & Forestry SciencesZone 4
MinorMedicine, Research & ExperimentalZone 4
MinorVeterinary SciencesZone 4

Top journal: noReview journal: no

CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Agricultural & Forestry Sciences Zone 3
LevelCategoryZone
MajorAgricultural & Forestry SciencesZone 3
MinorMedicine, Research & ExperimentalZone 4
MinorVeterinary SciencesZone 3

Top journal: noReview journal: not marked

CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

Database indexing

ESCIScopusDOAJLetPub

International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub

Indexing the journal's website claims

CASCAB AbstractsPublisher website

Other: Google Scholar, ProQuest, Dimensions, CNKI, Baidu, Naver, OCLC, Portico, CLOCKSS

As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.

Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.

Metrics

Impact metrics and publication volume

Impact

Impact factor (publisher) 2025
3.1Publisher website ·
5-year impact factor (publisher) 2025
3.9Publisher website ·
CiteScore 2026-06
6.1LetPub ·
SJR 2026-06
0.84LetPub ·
SNIP 2026-06
1.17LetPub ·
h-index
46OpenAlex ·
i10-index
277OpenAlex ·
2-year mean citedness
4.27OpenAlex ·
Self-citation rate
3.2%LetPub ·
Share of gold OA articles
100%LetPub ·

Volume

Articles per year
30LetPub ·
Articles per year (publisher)
2,015Publisher website ·
Downloads per year (publisher) 2025
332,500Publisher website ·

Articles by year OpenAlex count · 1,557 in total · the current year is incomplete

YearArticlesOpen accessCitations
2026373713
2025313189
20244343372
20233535245
20224141835
20213333828

Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.

Review & acceptance

Review time and acceptance

Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with Crossref · to

197 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 138 days – 262 days

Acceptance to online
median 12 days (73 articles)
Submission to online
median 217 days
Sample
73 articles with submission and acceptance dates (76 in the window); the latest was accepted on

Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".

Other sources

Average review time (community reports)
about 8 weeksLetPub ·
Submission to first decision
27 daysPublisher website ·
Submission to publication (journal-reported)
about 8 weeksDOAJ ·
Peer review
Single anonymous peer reviewDOAJ

Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.

Fees & open access

APC and open-access policy

Diamond open access (no APC)DOAJ

Every article is open access and authors pay no article processing charge.

SourceAPCFee waiverLicenseObserved
DOAJNo APCNoCC BY, CC0
OpenAlexUSD 0——
LetPubNo APCNo—

The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.

Submission

Article types and submission policies (journal website)

What to prepare1 items from the author guidelines
Suggested reviewers
Optional
Publisher website · model-extracted, each line checked against the text
Article types accepted6
  1. case reportReview Research Case Report Methodology Mini-Review CorrespondenceLength not stated
  2. correspondenceReview Research Case Report Methodology Mini-Review CorrespondenceLength not stated
  3. methodologyReview Research Case Report Methodology Mini-Review CorrespondenceLength not stated
  4. mini-reviewReview Research Case Report Methodology Mini-Review CorrespondenceLength not stated
  5. researchReview Research Case Report Methodology Mini-Review CorrespondenceLength not stated
  6. reviewReview Research Case Report Methodology Mini-Review CorrespondenceLength not stated
Publisher website
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAuthorship, Conflicts of interest, Data availability, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Preprints
Authorship

Manuscripts must be submitted by an author, not a third party. Model summary

Please note that a manuscript can only be submitted by an author of the manuscript and may not be submitted by a third party.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Conflicts of interest

Competing interests declaration required in cover letter. Model summary

A declaration of any potential competing interests

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Data availability Formatting the 'Availability of data and materials' section of your manuscript

Data availability statement required; datasets should be deposited in public repositories or included in paper/supplementary files. Model summary

The following format for the 'Availability of data and materials section of your manuscript should be used:

Source ↗Publisher website ·
License & copyright Licensing and copyright

Open access under CC BY 4.0. Model summary

Creative Commons licences Open access articles in Springer Nature journals are published under Creative Commons licences. These provide an industry-standard framework to support easy re-use of open access material. Under Creative Commons licences, authors retain copyright of their articles. Laboratory Animal Research articles are published open access under a CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution 4.…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Open access Benefits of open access

Publishing open access (OA) offers a number of benefits, including greater reach and readership for your work: Cited more 1.6x more citations of OA articles than non-OA articles across all subjects Downloaded more 4x more downloads of OA articles than non-OA articles Greater impact 2.5x more Altmetric attention. OA articles attracted 1.9x more news mentions and 1.2x more policy mentions Open acces…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Peer review Peer review policy

Authors may suggest peer reviewers with institutional emails or identifiers. Model summary

Peer review is the process used to evaluate the quality of a manuscript before publication. Independent researchers in the relevant field assess submitted manuscripts to check their validity and robustness. Their feedback guides editors in making publication decisions. Typically, two or more experts evaluate each manuscript based on three main criteria: scientific robustness: is the research metho…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Preprints

Use SI units; embed special characters. Model summary

Use SI units: Please ensure that all special characters used are embedded in the text, otherwise they will be lost during conversion to PDF

Source ↗Publisher website ·

Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.

Profile

Publication details and official links

Publisher
BMC
Country or region
United Kingdom
Language
English
ISSN
1738-6055
Electronic ISSN
2233-7660
Society / sponsor
KALAS
Official links

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about Laboratory Animal Research

What CAS zone is Laboratory Animal Research in?

In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Laboratory Animal Research is in Zone 4 of Agricultural & Forestry Sciences, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Medicine, Research & Experimental / Veterinary Sciences. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 3 of Agricultural & Forestry Sciences. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.

What is the impact factor of Laboratory Animal Research?

The journal's website gives an impact factor of 3.1 (2025); this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 6.1, h-index 46.

How long does peer review take at Laboratory Animal Research?

Based on the dates recorded on 73 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 197 days (interquartile range 138–262 days); authors report an average review time of about 8 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.

Where are the editorial board members of Laboratory Animal Research based?

Of the 117 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 2 (about 2%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are South Korea (98), United States (4) and Mainland China (2). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.

Which databases index Laboratory Animal Research?

According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Laboratory Animal Research is indexed in ESCI, Scopus and DOAJ. The journal's website also lists CAS and CAB Abstracts; that list has not been checked against each database.

Is Laboratory Animal Research open access, and what is the APC?

Laboratory Animal Research is a diamond open-access journal (no APC). It charges no article processing charge.

Sources and updates

The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, Publisher website, DOAJ; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .