Journal profile · PRIMARY HEALTH CARE

Journal of Primary Care and Community Health

ISSN 2150-1319 · eISSN 2150-1327 · SAGE Publishing · United States

Journal of Primary Care and Community Health: CAS Zone 4 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 2.7 (journal website); fully open access; APC about USD 2,500; review about 15 weeks (community reports); 270 articles in 2025; indexed in ESCI and Scopus.

Impact factor2.7From the journal's website, latest value
CAS zoneZone 4 · Medicine2025 upgraded edition, major category · 2026 Xinrui edition Zone 3 · Medicine
Review timeabout 15 weeksCommunity average
APCUSD 2,500Fully open access
Acceptance—No reports yet
Articles per year2702025 · OpenAlex count

Scope

Aims, scope and focus

Journal of Primary Care and Community Health is published by SAGE Publishing and is in Zone 4 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Primary Care and Health Outcomes, Diabetes Management and Education and Chronic Disease Management Strategies, together about 26.4% of its articles. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)

Journal of Primary Care and Community Health (JPC) is a peer-reviewed, open access journal which focuses on the study, practice, impact and outcomes of primary care services and community health programs. View full journal description This journal is a member of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE).

From the journal's Aims & Scope

Research area (LetPub): PRIMARY HEALTH CARE

Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate

  1. Primary Care and Health OutcomesHealth Professions10.8%
  2. Diabetes Management and EducationMedicine8%
  3. Chronic Disease Management StrategiesMedicine7.6%
  4. COVID-19 and Mental HealthPsychology6.4%
  5. Food Security and Health in Diverse PopulationsHealth Professions6.2%
  6. Telemedicine and Telehealth ImplementationMedicine4.5%
  7. Mental Health Treatment and AccessPsychology3.9%
  8. Global Cancer Incidence and ScreeningMedicine3.9%

Rankings & indexing

CAS ranking and database indexing

CAS Journal Ranking

CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 4
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 4
MinorPrimary Health CareZone 3

Top journal: noReview journal: no

CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 3
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 3
MinorPrimary Health CareZone 3

Top journal: noReview journal: not marked

CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

Database indexing

ESCIScopusDOAJLetPub

International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub

Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.

Metrics

Impact metrics and publication volume

Impact

Impact factor (publisher)
2.7Publisher website ·
5-year impact factor (publisher)
2.9Publisher website ·
CiteScore 2026-06
3.9LetPub ·
SJR 2026-06
0.92LetPub ·
SNIP 2026-06
0.94LetPub ·
h-index
63OpenAlex ·
i10-index
696OpenAlex ·
2-year mean citedness
3.24OpenAlex ·
Self-citation rate
3.7%LetPub ·
Share of gold OA articles
100%LetPub ·

Volume

Articles per year
250LetPub ·
Articles per year (publisher)
3Publisher website ·

Articles by year OpenAlex count · 2,023 in total · the current year is incomplete

YearArticlesOpen accessCitations
202618618630
2025270270677
20242372371,541
20231951951,876
20221981982,778
20212542544,742

Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.

Review & acceptance

Review time and acceptance

Average review time (community reports)
about 15 weeksLetPub ·
Submission to publication (journal-reported)
about 15 weeksDOAJ ·
Peer review
Double anonymous peer reviewDOAJ

Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.

Fees & open access

APC and open-access policy

Fully open accessDOAJ

Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).

SourceAPCFee waiverLicenseObserved
DOAJUSD 2,500YesCC BY, CC BY-NC
OpenAlexUSD 2,500——
LetPubUSD 2,500Yes—
Publisher websiteUSD 3,200——

The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.

Submission

Article types and submission policies (journal website)

What to prepare2 items from the author guidelines
Abstract
150–200 words
Reference style
AMA
Publisher website · model-extracted, each line checked against the text
Article types accepted13, with length limits
  1. brief reportView our Special Collections currently accepting submissions. Case Studies / Literature Reviews – 2,000 - 2,500 words, no more than 2 tables. These are organiza…Length not stated
  2. case reportView our Special Collections currently accepting submissions. Case Studies / Literature Reviews – 2,000 - 2,500 words, no more than 2 tables. These are organiza…Length not stated
  3. case studies / literature reviewsCase Studies / Literature Reviews – 2,000 - 2,500 words, no more than 2 tables. These are organization case studies,case reports, and systemic literature review…Length not stated
  4. case studyView our Special Collections currently accepting submissions. Case Studies / Literature Reviews – 2,000 - 2,500 words, no more than 2 tables. These are organiza…main text ≤ 2,500 words
  5. commentariesCommentaries – 2000 - 2,500 words, no tablesLength not stated
  6. commentaryView our Special Collections currently accepting submissions. Case Studies / Literature Reviews – 2,000 - 2,500 words, no more than 2 tables. These are organiza…main text ≤ 2,500 words
  7. letterView our Special Collections currently accepting submissions. Case Studies / Literature Reviews – 2,000 - 2,500 words, no more than 2 tables. These are organiza…Length not stated
  8. letter to the editorView our Special Collections currently accepting submissions. Case Studies / Literature Reviews – 2,000 - 2,500 words, no more than 2 tables. These are organiza…main text ≤ 1,000 words
  9. letters to the editorView our Special Collections currently accepting submissions. Case Studies / Literature Reviews – 2,000 - 2,500 words, no more than 2 tables. These are organiza…Length not stated
  10. literature reviewView our Special Collections currently accepting submissions. Case Studies / Literature Reviews – 2,000 - 2,500 words, no more than 2 tables. These are organiza…Length not stated
  11. original researchView our Special Collections currently accepting submissions. Case Studies / Literature Reviews – 2,000 - 2,500 words, no more than 2 tables. These are organiza…main text ≤ 2,500 words
  12. pilot studiesPilot Studies – 2,000 - 2,500 words. Use appropriate tables and figures for the research. Brief reports about single-site studies are typical of this section. S…Length not stated
  13. reviewView our Special Collections currently accepting submissions. Case Studies / Literature Reviews – 2,000 - 2,500 words, no more than 2 tables. These are organiza…Length not stated
Publisher website
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Data availability, Publication ethics, Open access, Peer review, Plagiarism, Preprints, Trial registration / reporting guidelines
AI use Beyond the Black Box: A Point-Of-Care Framework for LLM Literacy and Critical Appraisal

Christopher R. Stephenson MD, MHPE Christopher A. Aakre MD Ivana T. Croghan PhD Ryan T. Hurt MD, PhD Colin P. West MD, PhD

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Authorship Authorship

Please view our authorship policies, which includes information on criteria for authorship, who should be the corresponding author and more. Please note that AI chatbots, for example ChatGPT, should not be listed as authors. For more information see the policy on Use of ChatGPT and generative AI tools.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Data availability Data availability

The Journal is committed to facilitating openness, transparency and reproducibility of research, and has the following research data sharing policy. For more information, including FAQs please visit the Sage Research Data policy pages. Subject to appropriate ethical and legal considerations, authors are encouraged to: Share your research data in a relevant public data repository Include a data ava…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Publication ethics Ethical considerations

Please include your ethics approval statements under this heading, even if you have already included ethics approval information in your methods section. If ethical approval was not required, you need to explicitly state this. All papers reporting studies involving human participants, human data or human tissue must state that the relevant Ethics Committee or Institutional Review Board approved th…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Open access Publishing fees and open access

Online-only journal Model summary

Journal of Primary Care & Community Health is an open access, peer-reviewed journal. All accepted articles are made freely available online immediately upon publication, are published under a Creative Commons license, and hosted online in perpetuity. If, after peer review, your manuscript is accepted for publication, a one-time article processing charge (APC) is payable to cover the cost of publis…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Peer review Peer review policy

Double anonymized peer review Model summary

The following summary describes the peer review process for this journal: Identity transparency: Double Anonymized Reviewer interacts with: Editor Review information published: None Your manuscript will undergo an initial evaluation. If it does not conform to the requirements laid out in these guidelines, it will be returned to you for amendments prior to peer review. Manuscripts may be desk rejec…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Plagiarism Plagiarism

The journal and Sage take issues of copyright infringement, plagiarism or other breaches of best practice in publication very seriously. Please read Sage's complete policy on plagiarism and the actions we may take.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Preprints Preprints

The journal does not accept submissions of manuscripts that have been posted on preprint servers. Please enter the preprint DOI in the designated field when submitting your manuscript. We advise that you inform the Journal Editorial office about your posted preprint at submission. Note that you should not post an updated version of your manuscript on a preprint server while it is being peer review…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Trial registration / reporting guidelines Clinical trial registration

The journal conforms to the ICMJE requirement that clinical trials are registered in a WHO-approved public trials registry at or before the time of first participant enrollment as a condition of consideration for publication. The trial registry name and URL, and registration number must be included at the end of the abstract.

Source ↗Publisher website ·

Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.

Profile

Publication details and official links

Publisher
SAGE Publishing
Country or region
United States
Language
English
ISSN
2150-1319
Electronic ISSN
2150-1327
Official links

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about Journal of Primary Care and Community Health

What CAS zone is Journal of Primary Care and Community Health in?

In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Journal of Primary Care and Community Health is in Zone 4 of Medicine, and in Zone 3 of the minor category Primary Health Care. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 3 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.

What is the impact factor of Journal of Primary Care and Community Health?

The journal's website gives an impact factor of 2.7; this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 3.9, h-index 63.

How long does peer review take at Journal of Primary Care and Community Health?

Authors report an average review time of about 15 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.

What are the manuscript requirements of Journal of Primary Care and Community Health?

According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: 150–200 words; Reference style: AMA. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.

Which databases index Journal of Primary Care and Community Health?

According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Journal of Primary Care and Community Health is indexed in ESCI, Scopus and DOAJ.

Is Journal of Primary Care and Community Health open access, and what is the APC?

Journal of Primary Care and Community Health is a fully open-access journal. APC about USD 2,500.

Sources and updates

The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, DOAJ, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .