Journal profile · PRIMARY HEALTH CARE

Primary Health Care Research and Development

ISSN 1463-4236 · eISSN 1477-1128 · Cambridge University Press · ENGLAND

Primary Health Care Research and Development: CAS Zone 4 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 2.39; fully open access; APC about USD 3,550; review about 33 weeks (community reports); 106 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE and Scopus.

Impact factor2.39Latest value listed by LetPub
CAS zoneZone 4 · Medicine2025 upgraded edition, major category · 2026 Xinrui edition Zone 3 · Medicine
Review timeabout 33 weeksCommunity average
APCUSD 3,550Fully open access
Acceptance—No reports yet
Articles per year1062025 · OpenAlex count

Scope

Aims, scope and focus

Primary Health Care Research and Development is published by Cambridge University Press and is in Zone 4 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Primary Care and Health Outcomes, Interprofessional Education and Collaboration and Chronic Disease Management Strategies, together about 29.9% of its articles. Its main subfields are General Health Professions. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)

Primary Health Care Research & Development ISSN: 1463-4236 (Print), 1477-1128 (Online) Frequency: 1 volume per year Primary Health Care Research & Development is a fully open access journal aimed specifically at both researchers and practitioners in primary health care, bridging the gap between primary health care research policy and practice. It provides a forum for the publication of international, interdisciplinary research and development in primary health care. The journal has a particular interest in research and development that addresses integration of health care services, intersectionality and transitions in care. It is essential reading for all involved in primary health care and we welcome manuscripts from all: nurses, GPs, midwives, health service managers; health economists, local groups in community health; researchers and academics; policy makers, commissioners of primary health care services; allied health professionals, health-related consumer groups and those working in public health. PHCR&D welcomes papers across the full range of research and evaluation methodologies. In addition to clinical research papers we also wish to include research and evaluation of innovations in education for primary health care and also studies that address the workforce issues. We also welcome review papers and protocol papers. Implementation of research and evaluation into primary health care practice is also an area of significance to the journal and studies that directly address the challenges and successes of implementation are welcomed by the editors. In all papers, authors should demonstrate how their research or development study relates to primary health care both in the context of their own country and globally.

From the journal's Aims & Scope

Research area (LetPub): PRIMARY HEALTH CARE

Editor-in-chief Sally KendallPublisher website

Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named United Kingdom 6, Canada 2, Netherlands 2, Portugal 2, Spain 1 (21 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·

Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate

  1. Primary Care and Health OutcomesHealth Professions16%
  2. Interprofessional Education and CollaborationHealth Professions7.1%
  3. Chronic Disease Management StrategiesMedicine6.8%
  4. Diabetes Management and EducationMedicine6.2%
  5. Health Policy Implementation ScienceHealth Professions4.8%
  6. Global Maternal and Child HealthMedicine4.5%
  7. Global Health Workforce IssuesHealth Professions4.1%
  8. Nursing Roles and PracticesHealth Professions3.6%

Rankings & indexing

CAS ranking and database indexing

CAS Journal Ranking

CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 4
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 4
MinorPrimary Health CareZone 4

Top journal: noReview journal: no

CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 3
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 3
MinorPrimary Health CareZone 3

Top journal: noReview journal: not marked

CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Medicine Zone 4
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 4
MinorPrimary Health CareZone 4

Top journal: noReview journal: no

Database indexing

SCIEScopusDOAJLetPub

International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub

Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.

Metrics

Impact metrics and publication volume

Impact

Impact factor
2.39LetPub ·
Impact factor (publisher) 2025
14Publisher website ·
CiteScore 2026-06
2.9LetPub ·
SJR 2026-06
0.7LetPub ·
SNIP 2026-06
0.91LetPub ·
h-index
55OpenAlex ·
i10-index
665OpenAlex ·
2-year mean citedness
1.59OpenAlex ·
Self-citation rate
5%LetPub ·
Share of gold OA articles
99.58%LetPub ·

Volume

Articles per year
101LetPub ·

Articles by year OpenAlex count · 1,723 in total · the current year is incomplete

YearArticlesOpen accessCitations
202611011019
2025106106160
20246868273
20237575622
20227979777
202181811,135

Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.

Review & acceptance

Review time and acceptance

Average review time (community reports)
about 33 weeksLetPub ·

Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.

Fees & open access

APC and open-access policy

Fully open accessOpenAlex

Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).

SourceAPCFee waiverLicenseObserved
OpenAlexUSD 3,550 / GBP 2,460——
Publisher websiteYes, amount not published——

Other charges and waivers (author guidelines)

Submission fee
Charged; see the journal's website for the amount

The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.

Submission

Article types and submission policies (journal website)

What to prepare1 items from the author guidelines
Not considered
Short Reports; Protocol Papers; Review Articles
Publisher website · model-extracted, each line checked against the text
Article types accepted3
  1. development paperWe accept the following types of articles: Research Article* Development Paper* EditorialLength not stated
  2. editorialResearch Article*Development Paper*EditorialLength not stated
  3. research articleResearch Article*Development Paper*EditorialLength not stated
Publisher website

Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.

Profile

Publication details and official links

Publisher
Cambridge University Press
Country or region
ENGLAND
Language
English
ISSN
1463-4236
Electronic ISSN
1477-1128
Official links

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about Primary Health Care Research and Development

What CAS zone is Primary Health Care Research and Development in?

In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Primary Health Care Research and Development is in Zone 4 of Medicine, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Primary Health Care. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 3 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.

What is the impact factor of Primary Health Care Research and Development?

The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 2.39; CiteScore 2.9, h-index 55.

How long does peer review take at Primary Health Care Research and Development?

Authors report an average review time of about 33 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.

Where are the editorial board members of Primary Health Care Research and Development based?

Of the 21 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United Kingdom (6), Canada (2) and Netherlands (2). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.

Which databases index Primary Health Care Research and Development?

According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Primary Health Care Research and Development is indexed in SCIE, Scopus and DOAJ.

Is Primary Health Care Research and Development open access, and what is the APC?

Primary Health Care Research and Development is a fully open-access journal. APC about USD 3,550.

Sources and updates

The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .