Journal profile · Surgery
Journal of Plastic Reconstructive and Aesthetic Surgery
ISSN 1748-6815 · eISSN 1878-0539 · Churchill Livingstone · ENGLAND · Monthly · Founded 2006
Journal of Plastic Reconstructive and Aesthetic Surgery: CAS Zone 3 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 2.37; hybrid open access; APC about USD 3,470; median 105 days to acceptance (117 articles, last 24 months); community-reported acceptance: about 25%; 657 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Journal of Plastic Reconstructive and Aesthetic Surgery is published by Churchill Livingstone and is in Zone 3 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Reconstructive Surgery and Microvascular Techniques, Reconstructive Facial Surgery Techniques and Breast Implant and Reconstruction, together about 44.3% of its articles. Its main subfields are Surgery. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
The JPRAS is one of the world's leading international surgical journals, covering all the reconstructive and aesthetic aspects of plastic surgery. JPRAS publishes current, high-quality and international research into new and established techniques in plastic surgery including general reconstruction; cleft lip, palate and craniofacial; head and neck; skin cancer; breast; hand; lower limb trauma; burns; and aesthetic surgery. The Journal accepts original research articles including basic science, systematic reviews, short communications and letters to the editor.JPRAS is the official journal of the British Association of Plastic, Reconstructive and Aesthetic Surgeons (BAPRAS), the European Association of Plastic Surgeons (EURAPS) and the International Confederation of Plastic Surgery Societies (ICOPLAST).Indexed and Abstracted in:Cochrane Collaboration's International Register of RCTs of Health Care, Current Contents, EMBASE/Excerpta Medica, Index Medicus Documentation Service, Research Alert, Reference Update, ISI Science Citation Index, Scisearch, Selected Readings in Plastic Surgery, UMI (Microform), Medline/Pubmed.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Surgery
Editorial board by country: 2 in mainland China (about 3%); most named United Kingdom 19, United States 7, India 7, Switzerland 4, Taiwan, China 3 (67 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Reconstructive Surgery and Microvascular TechniquesMedicine22.2%
- Reconstructive Facial Surgery TechniquesMedicine11.7%
- Breast Implant and ReconstructionMedicine10.5%
- Facial Rejuvenation and Surgery TechniquesMedicine4.9%
- Cleft Lip and Palate ResearchBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology4%
- Body Contouring and SurgeryMedicine3.9%
- Orthopedic Surgery and RehabilitationMedicine3.5%
- Surgical site infection preventionMedicine3.3%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Surgery | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Surgery | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Medicine Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Surgery | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
Database indexing
SCIEScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor
- 2.37LetPub ·
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 2.4Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 3.4LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher)
- 3.4Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.79LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 1.23LetPub ·
- h-index
- 82LetPub ·
- h-index
- 120OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 3,970OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 1.93OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 8.3%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 16.03%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 446LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 10,868 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 461 | 139 | 110 |
| 2025 | 657 | 167 | 1,125 |
| 2024 | 669 | 147 | 2,211 |
| 2023 | 672 | 139 | 3,657 |
| 2022 | 571 | 120 | 4,190 |
| 2021 | 541 | 113 | 4,580 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with PubMed · to
105 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 67 days – 137 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 6 days (117 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 110 days
- Sample
- 117 articles with submission and acceptance dates (1,326 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 1 monthLetPub ·
- Average acceptance (community reports)
- 25%LetPub ·
- Submission to acceptance
- 79 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication
- 4 daysPublisher website ·
- Peer review
- Single anonymous peer reviewPublisher website
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAlex | USD 3,470 / EUR 3,250 / GBP 2,780 / JPY 430,380 | — | — | |
| Publisher website | USD 3,470 | — | — |
A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
Open calls for papers2, by deadline
- VSI: Aesthetic surgeryDeadline
- Women and Plastic SurgeryDeadline
What to prepare6 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 250 words
- Keywords
- 4–6
- Suggested reviewers
- Optional
- Highlights
- Optional
- Cover letter
- Required
- Not considered
- case reports; short reports
Article types accepted8, with length limits
- correspondenceCorrespondence is a letter to the journal based upon content published in the journal or a reply to the correspondenceLength not stated
- editorialOriginal contributions are welcomed from any country, but the prose used in manuscripts must conform to acceptable English usage. The text must be clear, logica…Length not stated
- invited commentaryInvited commentary is a short commentary on the paperLength not stated
- original research articleure legends, tables. Main article types Original research articles should generally be no more than 3000 words in length, with 40 references and 16 figures/illu…main text ≤ 3,000 words
- original research articlesOriginal research articles should generally be no more than 3000 words in length, with 40 references and 16 figures/illustrated images/ tables.Length not stated
- reviewsite figures count as individual items. Review papers should be no more than 4000 words, with 80 references and 16 figures/illustrated imaged/tablemain text ≤ 4,000 words
- review papersReview papers should be no more than 4000 words, with 80 references and 16 figures/illustrated imaged/tables.Length not stated
- short communicationShort communication is a new submission that does not depend on content already published in the journalLength not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Conflicts of interest, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Trial registration / reporting guidelines
- AI use Declaration of Generative AI in scientific writing
Where authors use generative artificial intelligence (AI) and AI-assisted technologies in the writing process, authors should: Only use these technologies to improve readability and language, not to replace key researcher tasks such as interpreting data or drawing scientific conclusions.Apply the technology with human oversight and control, and carefully review and edit the result, as AI can gener…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Authorship Authorship
All authors should have made substantial contributions to all of the following: (1) the conception and design of the study, or acquisition of data, or analysis and interpretation of data (2) drafting the article or revising it critically for important intellectual content (3) final approval of the version to be submitted.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Conflicts of interest Declaration of competing interests
All authors must disclose any financial and personal relationships with other people or organizations that could inappropriately influence or bias their work. Examples of potential competing interests include: EmploymentConsultanciesStock ownershipHonorariaPaid expert testimonyPatent applications or registrationsGrants or any other fundingAffiliation with the journal as an Editor or Advisory Board…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright Copyright
Contributions are accepted on the understanding that they have not been submitted simultaneously to another Journal and have not been published elsewhere. Dual publication or redundant publication is unethical. Redundant publication occurs when two or more papers, without full cross reference, share the same hypothesis, data, discussion points, or conclusions. For more details please refer to the …
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Open access
This journal offers you the option of making your article freely available to all via the ScienceDirect platform. To provide this gold open access, the journal has a publication fee (Article Publishing Charge, APC) which needs to be met by the authors, or their institution or funders. This ensures your article will be immediately and permanently free to access by everyone. To prevent any conflict …
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review
Single anonymised review process Model summary
This journal operates a single anonymised review process.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Trial registration / reporting guidelines Standardized reporting guidelines
JPRAS is committed to standardized reporting of clinical trials, meta-analyses, and other studies as follows: Cohort studies, and patient series: Authors should adhere to the STROBE guidelines (http://www.strobe-statement.org/) and indicate this in the manuscript.Diagnostic measure research: Authors should adhere to STARD guidelines (http://www.stard-statement.org) and indicate in the Materials an…
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Churchill Livingstone
- Country or region
- ENGLAND
- Language
- English
- Frequency
- Monthly
- Founded
- 2006
- ISSN
- 1748-6815
- Electronic ISSN
- 1878-0539
- Society / sponsor
- British Association of Plastic
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Journal of Plastic Reconstructive and Aesthetic Surgery
What CAS zone is Journal of Plastic Reconstructive and Aesthetic Surgery in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Journal of Plastic Reconstructive and Aesthetic Surgery is in Zone 3 of Medicine, and in Zone 3 of the minor category Surgery. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 3 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Journal of Plastic Reconstructive and Aesthetic Surgery?
The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 2.37; CiteScore 3.4, h-index 120.
How long does peer review take at Journal of Plastic Reconstructive and Aesthetic Surgery?
Based on the dates recorded on 117 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 105 days (interquartile range 67–137 days); authors report an average review time of about 1 month; the community-reported acceptance is “about 25%”. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Journal of Plastic Reconstructive and Aesthetic Surgery?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 250 words; Keywords: 4–6; Suggested reviewers: Optional; Highlights: Optional; Cover letter: Required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Journal of Plastic Reconstructive and Aesthetic Surgery based?
Of the 67 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 2 (about 3%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United Kingdom (19), United States (7) and India (7). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Journal of Plastic Reconstructive and Aesthetic Surgery?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Journal of Plastic Reconstructive and Aesthetic Surgery is indexed in SCIE and Scopus.
Is Journal of Plastic Reconstructive and Aesthetic Surgery open access, and what is the APC?
Journal of Plastic Reconstructive and Aesthetic Surgery is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 3,470.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .