Journal profile · Health Professions-Pharmacy
Journal of Pharmacy Practice and Research
ISSN 1445-937X · Wiley-Blackwell
Journal of Pharmacy Practice and Research: CAS Zone 4 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 1 (journal website); hybrid open access; APC about USD 2,760; median 168 days to acceptance (80 articles, last 24 months); acceptance rate 25% (journal website); 75 articles in 2025; indexed in ESCI and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Journal of Pharmacy Practice and Research is published by Wiley-Blackwell and is in Zone 4 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Pharmaceutical Practices and Patient Outcomes, Pharmaceutical studies and practices and Patient Safety and Medication Errors, together about 51.3% of its articles. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
The Journal of Pharmacy Practice and Research (JPPR) is owned, published by, and copyrighted to the Society of Hospital Pharmacists Australia (SHPA) in partnership with Wiley. JPPR publishes high-quality evidence to promote excellence in medicines management for better health outcomes through cutting-edge practice and research. Our scope covers research and reviews on evaluations of current practice, innovations in medicines management, and developments in therapeutics and pharmaceutical science research that informs and improves contemporary pharmacy practice, including the safe and judicious use of medicines. JPPR supports building future research capacities and encourages submissions from early career pharmacists and residents. The Journal provides a forum for the exchange of knowledge, commentary, and professional opinion by publishing systematic and narrative reviews, original research, emerging insights, brief reports, practice reports, case reports, standards of practice, letters to the editor, editorials, and more. All articles are peer-reviewed. See our Author Guidelines for more information. JPPR is published six times per year, and is available free to SHPA members. We offer authors the option to publish open access or under the regular subscription model, and an increasing percentage of our research is published open access. To learn about the benefits of publishing open access, see our OA Advantages page. JPPR has complete editorial freedom in terms of content and is not under the direction of SHPA or its Council. See our Editorial Board for more information on our Editorial structure.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Health Professions-Pharmacy
Editor-in-chief Michael DooleyPublisher website
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named Australia 14, United States 4, United Kingdom 3, India 1, Denmark 1 (26 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Pharmaceutical Practices and Patient OutcomesMedicine33.2%
- Pharmaceutical studies and practicesMedicine10.2%
- Patient Safety and Medication ErrorsHealth Professions7.9%
- Health Systems, Economic Evaluations, Quality of LifeEconomics, Econometrics and Finance4.6%
- Healthcare Quality and ManagementHealth Professions4.3%
- Pharmacy and Medical PracticesPharmacology, Toxicology and Pharmaceutics2.9%
- Pharmaceutical Economics and PolicyEconomics, Econometrics and Finance2.9%
- Antibiotic Use and ResistanceImmunology and Microbiology2.8%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Pharmacology & Pharmacy | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Pharmacology & Pharmacy | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
Database indexing
ESCIScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
Web of ScienceEmbaseCINAHLPublisher website
Other: EBSCO, Biological Abstracts (Clarivate Analytics), Biomedical Reference Collection (EBSCO Publishing), BIOSIS Previews (Clarivate Analytics), Biotechnology Source (EBSCO Publishing)
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 1Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 1.5LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher) 2025
- 1.5Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.32LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.49LetPub ·
- h-index
- 35OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 300OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 0.94OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 10%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 58.62%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 54LetPub ·
- Articles per year (publisher) 2025
- 62Publisher website ·
- Downloads per year (publisher) 2025
- 206,704Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 2,921 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 41 | 20 | 5 |
| 2025 | 75 | 49 | 47 |
| 2024 | 69 | 43 | 122 |
| 2023 | 58 | 48 | 121 |
| 2022 | 80 | 38 | 268 |
| 2021 | 83 | 45 | 292 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with Crossref · to
168 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 87 days – 263 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 40 days (80 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 229 days
- Sample
- 80 articles with submission and acceptance dates (126 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Acceptance rate (publisher) 2025
- 25%Publisher website ·
- Submission to first decision 2025
- 13 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to acceptance 2025
- 208 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication 2025
- 37 daysPublisher website ·
- Peer review
- Double anonymous peer reviewPublisher website
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAlex | USD 2,760 / EUR 2,280 / GBP 1,840 | — | — | |
| Publisher website | Yes, amount not published | — | — |
A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.
Other charges and waivers (author guidelines)
- Colour charges
- No colour charges
- Submission fee
- No submission fee
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
Article types accepted14, with length limits
- brief reportJPPR invites submissions under the following categories: research, brief report, reviews, emerging insights, practice report, case report, letters to the editor…main text ≤ 1,500 words
- case reportJPPR invites submissions under the following categories: research, brief report, reviews, emerging insights, practice report, case report, letters to the editor…Length not stated
- editorialJPPR invites submissions under the following categories: research, brief report, reviews, emerging insights, practice report, case report, letters to the editor…main text ≤ 1,000 words
- editorialsJPPR invites submissions under the following categories: research, brief report, reviews, emerging insights, practice report, case report, letters to the editor…Length not stated
- emerging insightsEmerging Insights Supports and highlights the work of emerging researchers, including early career pharmacists and health service researchers, pharmacy technici…Length not stated
- letters to the editorJPPR invites submissions under the following categories: research, brief report, reviews, emerging insights, practice report, case report, letters to the editor…Length not stated
- narrative reviewJPPR invites submissions under the following categories: research, brief report, reviews, emerging insights, practice report, case report, letters to the editor…main text ≤ 4,000 words
- original researchJPPR invites submissions under the following categories: research, brief report, reviews, emerging insights, practice report, case report, letters to the editor…main text ≤ 3,000 words
- practice reportJPPR invites submissions under the following categories: research, brief report, reviews, emerging insights, practice report, case report, letters to the editor…Length not stated
- researchResearch Original research only Text limit 3000 words, reference limit 25, tables/figures limit 4 Structured abstract (limit 250 words) under headings: Backgrou…Length not stated
- research articleJPPR invites submissions under the following categories: research, brief report, reviews, emerging insights, practice report, case report, letters to the editor…Length not stated
- research reportJPPR invites submissions under the following categories: research, brief report, reviews, emerging insights, practice report, case report, letters to the editor…Length not stated
- reviewJPPR invites submissions under the following categories: research, brief report, reviews, emerging insights, practice report, case report, letters to the editor…main text ≤ 2,000 words
- systematic reviewJPPR invites submissions under the following categories: research, brief report, reviews, emerging insights, practice report, case report, letters to the editor…main text ≤ 3,500 words
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAuthorship, Data availability, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Preprints
- Authorship Authorship
Authorship statements are required for all submissions and must follow CRediT (Contributor Roles Taxonomy) and detail contributions from all authors.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Data availability Data Sharing and Data Availability
Data sharing: journal expects data sharing; see Wiley Data Sharing policy. Model summary
This journal expects data sharing. Review Wiley’s Data Sharing policy where you will be able to see and select the data availability statement that is right for your submission.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright Reproduction of Copyright Material
If excerpts or images from copyrighted works owned by third parties are included, credit must be shown in the contribution. It is your responsibility to also obtain written permission for reproduction from the copyright owners. For more information visit Wiley’s Copyright Terms & Conditions FAQ.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Open Access
This journal is a subscription journal that offers an open access option. You’ll have the option to choose to make your article open access after acceptance, which will be subject to an article processing charge (APC). You can read more about APCs and whether you may be eligible for waivers or discounts, through your institution, funder, or a country waiver.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review 1. Submission and Peer Review Process
Once the submission materials have been prepared in accordance with the Author Guidelines, manuscripts should be submitted online at https://authors.wiley.com/journal/JPPR. When submitting your manuscript, you should submit a title page and a main text file. Requirements for both documents can be found below. For help with submissions, please contact: jppr.eo@wiley.com This journal does not charge…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints Preprint policy:
Preprint policy: refers to manuscripts made available publicly prior to peer review or publication in a journal; see Wiley preprint policy. Model summary
Preprint refers to manuscripts made available publicly prior to peer review or publication in a journal. Please find the Wiley preprint policy here.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Wiley-Blackwell
- ISSN
- 1445-937X
- Society / sponsor
- Society of Hospital Pharmacists of Australia
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Journal of Pharmacy Practice and Research
What CAS zone is Journal of Pharmacy Practice and Research in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Journal of Pharmacy Practice and Research is in Zone 4 of Medicine, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Pharmacology & Pharmacy. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 4 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Journal of Pharmacy Practice and Research?
The journal's website gives an impact factor of 1 (2025); this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 1.5, h-index 35.
How long does peer review take at Journal of Pharmacy Practice and Research?
Based on the dates recorded on 80 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 168 days (interquartile range 87–263 days); the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 25% (2025). Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
Where are the editorial board members of Journal of Pharmacy Practice and Research based?
Of the 26 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are Australia (14), United States (4) and United Kingdom (3). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Journal of Pharmacy Practice and Research?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Journal of Pharmacy Practice and Research is indexed in ESCI and Scopus. The journal's website also lists Web of Science, Embase and CINAHL; that list has not been checked against each database.
Is Journal of Pharmacy Practice and Research open access, and what is the APC?
Journal of Pharmacy Practice and Research is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 2,760.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .