Journal profile · Multiple

JOURNAL OF HERBS SPICES AND MEDICINAL PLANTS

ISSN 1049-6475 · eISSN 1540-3580 · Taylor & Francis

JOURNAL OF HERBS SPICES AND MEDICINAL PLANTS: CAS Zone 4 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 1 (journal website); subscription journal; APC charged, amount not published; review about 242 days (first decision after review, publisher); acceptance rate 4% (journal website); 34 articles in 2025; indexed in ESCI and Scopus.

Impact factor1From the journal's website, 2025 value
CAS zoneZone 4 · Medicine2025 upgraded edition, major category · 2026 Xinrui edition Zone 4 · Medicine
Review time242 daysPublisher-reported, first decision after review
APCCharged, amount not publishedSubscription journal
Acceptance4%From the journal's website
Articles per year342025 · OpenAlex count

Scope

Aims, scope and focus

JOURNAL OF HERBS SPICES AND MEDICINAL PLANTS is published by Taylor & Francis and is in Zone 4 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Essential Oils and Antimicrobial Activity, Ethnobotanical and Medicinal Plants Studies and Phytochemistry and Biological Activities, together about 34.5% of its articles. Its main subfields are Plant Science. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)

The Journal of Herbs, Spices & Medicinal Plants is a hybrid peer-reviewed journal covering valuable research related to growth, development, horticulture, ecology, physiology, genetics, chemistry, economics, and the use of herbs, spices, and medicinal plants and associated extracts. The journal's audience includes researchers, academicians, technicians, and managers of food companies, food processing facilities, medical research laboratories, government agencies, and others interested in phytochemicals, food additives, international trade, patents, and other new items pertaining to herbs, spices, and medicinal plants. The journal welcomes for consideration the following: Research Articles, Review and Method, and all articles received by the Journal will be subject to single anonymous peer review. Authors can choose to publish gold open access in this journal. Read the Instructions for Authors for information on how to submit your article.

From the journal's Aims & Scope

Research area (LetPub): Multiple

Editor-in-chief Usha R. PalaniswamyPublisher website

Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named United States 2, South Korea 1, Brazil 1, Türkiye 1, Belgium 1 (7 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·

Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate

  1. Essential Oils and Antimicrobial ActivityAgricultural and Biological Sciences15.5%
  2. Ethnobotanical and Medicinal Plants StudiesAgricultural and Biological Sciences9.9%
  3. Phytochemistry and Biological ActivitiesAgricultural and Biological Sciences9.1%
  4. Phytochemicals and Antioxidant ActivitiesMedicine7.7%
  5. Plant tissue culture and regenerationBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology7.7%
  6. Natural product bioactivities and synthesisBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology5.7%
  7. Natural Antidiabetic Agents StudiesMedicine5.2%
  8. Drug-Induced Hepatotoxicity and ProtectionPharmacology, Toxicology and Pharmaceutics2.8%

Rankings & indexing

CAS ranking and database indexing

CAS Journal Ranking

CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 4
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 4
MinorPharmacology & PharmacyZone 4
MinorPlant SciencesZone 4

Top journal: noReview journal: no

CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 4
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 4
MinorPlant SciencesZone 4
MinorPharmacology & PharmacyZone 4

Top journal: noReview journal: not marked

CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

JCR / CiteScore quartiles on the journal's website

Publisher-reported: JCR figures are Clarivate's and CiteScore figures Scopus's to confirm; both are a different system from the CAS zones.Publisher website

Database indexing

ESCIScopusLetPub

International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub

Indexing the journal's website claims

EmbasePublisher website

Other: ProQuest, OCLC, Adis International Ltd. (Reactions Weekly), CABI (listed in various services in CABI), EBSCOhost (listed in various services in EBSCOhost), EmergINIS Collection Search, OCLC (Article First, Electronic Collections Online), Ovid (Foodline Market, Foodline News, Foodline Science), Periodica Islamica, Biology Digest, ProQuest (listed in various services in ProQuest), VINITI RAN (Referativnyi Zhurnal)

As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.

Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.

Metrics

Impact metrics and publication volume

Impact

Impact factor (publisher) 2025
1Publisher website ·
CiteScore 2026-06
2.8LetPub ·
CiteScore (publisher) 2025
2.8Publisher website ·
SJR 2026-06
0.27LetPub ·
SJR (publisher) 2025
0.27Publisher website ·
SNIP 2026-06
0.47LetPub ·
SNIP (publisher) 2025
0.47Publisher website ·
h-index
43OpenAlex ·
i10-index
408OpenAlex ·
2-year mean citedness
1.29OpenAlex ·
Self-citation rate
0%LetPub ·
Share of gold OA articles
0.95%LetPub ·

Volume

Articles per year
34LetPub ·
Downloads per year (publisher)
24,000Publisher website ·

Articles by year OpenAlex count · 1,126 in total · the current year is incomplete

YearArticlesOpen accessCitations
20262322
202534051
202427355
2023253101
2022381174
2021280177

Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.

Review & acceptance

Review time and acceptance

Publisher-reported review time from the journal's website

242 daysfirst decision after review

The publisher's own definition applies; dates from this journal's articles in the last 24 months are not available yet, so the publisher's figure is used.

Figures by source

Acceptance rate (publisher)
4%Publisher website ·
Submission to first decision
242 daysPublisher website ·
First decision after review
242 daysPublisher website ·
Acceptance to publication
13 daysPublisher website ·
Peer review
Single anonymous peer reviewPublisher website

Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.

Fees & open access

APC and open-access policy

Subscription journalLetPub

A subscription journal: articles are read by subscription or purchase, and authors usually pay no publication charge.

SourceAPCFee waiverLicenseObserved
Publisher websiteYes, amount not published——

The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.

Submission

Article types and submission policies (journal website)

Article types accepted2
  1. research articlesResearch Articles, Review and MethodLength not stated
  2. review and methodResearch Articles, Review and MethodLength not stated
Publisher website
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteOpen access, Peer review
Open access Open access

Gold open access option Model summary

Journal of Herbs, Spices & Medicinal Plants is a hybrid open access journal that is part of the Taylor & Francis Open Select publishing program, giving you the option to publish open access. Publishing open access means that your article will be free to access online immediately on publication, increasing the visibility, readership, and impact of your research. Why choose open access? Increase the…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Peer review

Single anonymous peer review Model summary

all articles received by the Journal will be subject to single anonymous peer review

Source ↗Publisher website ·

Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.

Profile

Publication details and official links

Publisher
Taylor & Francis
ISSN
1049-6475
Electronic ISSN
1540-3580
Latest issue on the website
Volume 32, Issue 3 (2026)
Official links

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about JOURNAL OF HERBS SPICES AND MEDICINAL PLANTS

What CAS zone is JOURNAL OF HERBS SPICES AND MEDICINAL PLANTS in?

In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, JOURNAL OF HERBS SPICES AND MEDICINAL PLANTS is in Zone 4 of Medicine, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Pharmacology & Pharmacy / Plant Sciences. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 4 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.

What is the impact factor of JOURNAL OF HERBS SPICES AND MEDICINAL PLANTS?

The journal's website gives an impact factor of 1 (2025); this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 2.8, h-index 43.

How long does peer review take at JOURNAL OF HERBS SPICES AND MEDICINAL PLANTS?

The publisher reports about 242 days (first decision after review); the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 4%. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.

Where are the editorial board members of JOURNAL OF HERBS SPICES AND MEDICINAL PLANTS based?

Of the 7 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (2), South Korea (1) and Brazil (1). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.

Which databases index JOURNAL OF HERBS SPICES AND MEDICINAL PLANTS?

According to LetPub and DOAJ records, JOURNAL OF HERBS SPICES AND MEDICINAL PLANTS is indexed in ESCI and Scopus. The journal's website also lists Embase; that list has not been checked against each database.

Is JOURNAL OF HERBS SPICES AND MEDICINAL PLANTS open access, and what is the APC?

JOURNAL OF HERBS SPICES AND MEDICINAL PLANTS is a subscription journal. APC charged, amount not published.

Sources and updates

The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .