Journal profile · Nutrition & Dietetics

Journal of Parenteral and Enteral Nutrition

ISSN 0148-6071 · eISSN 1941-2444 · John Wiley & Sons Inc. · UNITED STATES · Bimonthly · Founded 1977

Journal of Parenteral and Enteral Nutrition: CAS Zone 3 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 3.14; hybrid open access; APC about USD 4,110; median 180 days to acceptance (85 articles, last 24 months); community-reported acceptance: fairly easy; 132 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE and Scopus.

Impact factor3.14Latest value listed by LetPub
CAS zoneZone 3 · Medicine2025 upgraded edition, major category · 2026 Xinrui edition Zone 3 · Medicine
Review time180 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · 85 articles, last 24 months · Crossref
APCUSD 4,110Hybrid journal: charged only for open-access articles
AcceptanceFairly easyCommunity average
Articles per year1322025 · OpenAlex count

Scope

Aims, scope and focus

Journal of Parenteral and Enteral Nutrition is published by John Wiley & Sons Inc. and is in Zone 3 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Clinical Nutrition and Gastroenterology, Nutrition and Health in Aging and Diet and metabolism studies, together about 55.2% of its articles. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)

The Journal of Parenteral and Enteral Nutrition (JPEN) is the premier publication platform for the exchange of current research findings and dialogue of ideas in clinical nutrition and metabolic support. JPEN is an official journal of the American Society for Parenteral and Enteral Nutrition (ASPEN). JPEN publishes original research, reviews, letters to the editor, and commentaries. JPEN is published for all those who are involved in the global nutrition community including dietitians, physicians, surgeons, pharmacists, clinical scientists, basic scientists, as well as those in nutrition support, public health, policy, and nutrition education.This journal is a member of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE).

From the journal's Aims & Scope

Research area (LetPub): Nutrition & Dietetics

Editor-in-chief Kenneth B. ChristopherPublisher website

Editorial board by country: 1 in mainland China (about 1%); most named United States 30, Brazil 8, Canada 7, Germany 4, United Kingdom 3 (69 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·

Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate

  1. Clinical Nutrition and GastroenterologyNursing35.6%
  2. Nutrition and Health in AgingMedicine14.7%
  3. Diet and metabolism studiesMedicine4.9%
  4. Infant Nutrition and HealthNursing4.5%
  5. Enhanced Recovery After SurgeryMedicine4.4%
  6. Central Venous Catheters and HemodialysisHealth Professions3.8%
  7. Metabolism and Genetic DisordersBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology2.7%
  8. Child Nutrition and Feeding IssuesMedicine2.7%

Rankings & indexing

CAS ranking and database indexing

CAS Journal Ranking

CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 3
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 3
MinorNutrition & DieteticsZone 3

Top journal: noReview journal: no

CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 3
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 3
MinorNutrition & DieteticsZone 3

Top journal: noReview journal: not marked

CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Medicine Zone 3
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 3
MinorNutrition & DieteticsZone 3

Top journal: noReview journal: no

Database indexing

SCIEScopusLetPub

International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub

Indexing the journal's website claims

Web of ScienceMEDLINEPubMedEmbaseCASCAB AbstractsCINAHLCurrent ContentsPublisher website

Other: EBSCO

As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.

Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.

Metrics

Impact metrics and publication volume

Impact

Impact factor
3.14LetPub ·
Impact factor (publisher)
3.3Publisher website ·
Impact factor (publisher) 2025
3.3Publisher website ·
CiteScore 2026-06
7.8LetPub ·
CiteScore (publisher)
7.8Publisher website ·
CiteScore (publisher) 2025
7.8Publisher website ·
SJR 2026-06
0.89LetPub ·
SNIP 2026-06
1.36LetPub ·
h-index
86LetPub ·
h-index
164OpenAlex ·
i10-index
3,780OpenAlex ·
2-year mean citedness
2.62OpenAlex ·
Self-citation rate
6.1%LetPub ·
Share of gold OA articles
29.12%LetPub ·

Volume

Articles per year
92LetPub ·
Articles per year (publisher)
2Publisher website ·
Articles per year (publisher) 2025
107Publisher website ·
Downloads per year (publisher) 2025
1,063,109Publisher website ·

Articles by year OpenAlex count · 7,174 in total · the current year is incomplete

YearArticlesOpen accessCitations
20261237535
202513270287
202413777705
202313182947
2022150481,828
2021217623,460

Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.

Review & acceptance

Review time and acceptance

Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with Crossref · to

180 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 124 days – 242 days

Acceptance to online
median 24 days (90 articles)
Submission to online
median 206 days
Sample
85 articles with submission and acceptance dates (270 in the window); the latest was accepted on

Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".

Other sources

Average review time (community reports)
6–12 weeksLetPub ·
Average acceptance (community reports)
Fairly easyLetPub ·
Acceptance rate (publisher)
22%Publisher website ·
Acceptance rate (publisher) 2025
22%Publisher website ·
Submission to first decision
28 daysPublisher website ·
Submission to first decision 2025
28 daysPublisher website ·
Submission to acceptance 2025
161 daysPublisher website ·
Acceptance to publication 2025
20 daysPublisher website ·
Peer review
Single-anonymous peer reviewPublisher website · model-extracted

Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.

Fees & open access

APC and open-access policy

Hybrid open accessLetPub

A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.

SourceAPCFee waiverLicenseObserved
OpenAlexUSD 4,110 / EUR 3,400 / GBP 2,750——

A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.

The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.

Submission

Article types and submission policies (journal website)

What to prepare2 items from the author guidelines
Abstract
≤ 250 words
Manuscript length
≤ 3,000 words
Publisher website · model-extracted, each line checked against the text
Article types accepted6, with length limits
  1. commentaryManuscripts may be submitted in any of the following categories: Original Research, Review, Letter to the Editor, and Commentaries. Submission of Clinical Guide…Length not stated
  2. editorialManuscripts may be submitted in any of the following categories: Original Research, Review, Letter to the Editor, and Commentaries. Submission of Clinical Guide…Length not stated
  3. letter to the editorManuscripts may be submitted in any of the following categories: Original Research, Review, Letter to the Editor, and Commentaries. Submission of Clinical Guide…main text ≤ 400 words · references ≤ 5
  4. original researchManuscripts may be submitted in any of the following categories: Original Research, Review, Letter to the Editor, and Commentaries. Submission of Clinical Guide…Length not stated
  5. reviewManuscripts may be submitted in any of the following categories: Original Research, Review, Letter to the Editor, and Commentaries. Submission of Clinical Guide…Length not stated
  6. tutorialtitle that begins "Tutorial on..." or "Tutorial:" Review articles must not exceed 4,000 words and 75 references. The word count does not include the titlmain text ≤ 4,000 words
Publisher website
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAuthorship, Publication ethics, Plagiarism
Authorship Author Contributions

Authorship is expected to comply with the International Committee for Medical Journal Editors (ICMJE) recommendation for authorship. For all articles, the journal mandates CRediT (Contribution Roles Taxonomy), for more information please see Author Services. Any individuals not meeting the criteria for authorship should be mentioned in the Acknowledgements section.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Publication ethics

Image manipulation policy: image evaluation during review; immediate rejection for fraudulent manipulation. Model summary

During the review stage, all images will be subject to image evaluation to determine if fraudulent image manipulation exists. Images found to have fraudulent image manipulation, will be subject to immediate rejection.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Plagiarism Plagiarism

Plagiarism policy: immediate rejection for plagiarized manuscripts. Model summary

The Journal of Parenteral and Enteral Nutrition takes a firm stance against plagiarism and other forms of academic misconduct. Manuscripts found to be plagiarized, either direct, self, mosaic or accidental, will be subject to immediate rejection. For more information about what constitutes plagiarism, please see the ASPEN Policy on Publishing Ethics.

Source ↗Publisher website ·

Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.

Profile

Publication details and official links

Publisher
John Wiley & Sons Inc.
Country or region
UNITED STATES
Language
English
Frequency
Bimonthly
Founded
1977
ISSN
0148-6071
Electronic ISSN
1941-2444
Society / sponsor
American Society for Parenteral and Enteral Nutrition
Latest issue on the website
Volume 50, Issue 6 (August 2026)
Official links

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about Journal of Parenteral and Enteral Nutrition

What CAS zone is Journal of Parenteral and Enteral Nutrition in?

In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Journal of Parenteral and Enteral Nutrition is in Zone 3 of Medicine, and in Zone 3 of the minor category Nutrition & Dietetics. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 3 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.

What is the impact factor of Journal of Parenteral and Enteral Nutrition?

The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 3.14; CiteScore 7.8, h-index 164.

How long does peer review take at Journal of Parenteral and Enteral Nutrition?

Based on the dates recorded on 85 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 180 days (interquartile range 124–242 days); authors report an average review time of 6–12 weeks; the community-reported acceptance is “Fairly easy”; the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 22% (2025). Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.

What are the manuscript requirements of Journal of Parenteral and Enteral Nutrition?

According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 250 words; Manuscript length: ≤ 3,000 words. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.

Where are the editorial board members of Journal of Parenteral and Enteral Nutrition based?

Of the 69 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 1 (about 1%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (30), Brazil (8) and Canada (7). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.

Which databases index Journal of Parenteral and Enteral Nutrition?

According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Journal of Parenteral and Enteral Nutrition is indexed in SCIE and Scopus. The journal's website also lists Web of Science, MEDLINE, PubMed, Embase, CAS, CAB Abstracts, CINAHL and Current Contents; that list has not been checked against each database.

Is Journal of Parenteral and Enteral Nutrition open access, and what is the APC?

Journal of Parenteral and Enteral Nutrition is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 4,110.

Sources and updates

The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .