Journal profile · Nutrition & Dietetics
European Journal of Clinical Nutrition
ISSN 0954-3007 · eISSN 1476-5640 · Springer Nature · ENGLAND · Monthly · Founded 1997
European Journal of Clinical Nutrition: CAS Zone 3 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 3.15; hybrid open access; APC about USD 3,590; median 213 days to acceptance (103 articles, last 24 months); community-reported acceptance: easy; 138 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
European Journal of Clinical Nutrition is published by Springer Nature and is in Zone 3 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Nutritional Studies and Diet, Obesity, Physical Activity, Diet and Nutrition and Health in Aging, together about 35.7% of its articles. Its main subfields are Public Health, Environmental and Occupational Health, Physiology and Nutrition and Dietetics. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
The European Journal of Clinical Nutrition (EJCN) is an international, peer-reviewed journal covering all aspects of human and clinical nutrition. The EJCN focuses on original research and structured reviews conducted on humans but will consider brief communications and case reports. Preference will be given to clinical and community intervention trials, as well as robust cohort studies. The journal values research that explores newer approaches in diet therapy, improved patient outcomes during nutritional rehabilitation, innovative strategies for health promotion or studies confirming cause and effect relationships. The journal is open to receiving manuscripts that report negative findings.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Nutrition & Dietetics
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Nutritional Studies and DietMedicine16%
- Obesity, Physical Activity, DietMedicine10.3%
- Nutrition and Health in AgingMedicine9.5%
- Diet and metabolism studiesMedicine5.6%
- Body Composition Measurement TechniquesMedicine5.5%
- Fatty Acid Research and HealthNursing4.4%
- Child Nutrition and Water AccessNursing3.9%
- Consumer Attitudes and Food LabelingMedicine3.7%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Nutrition & Dietetics | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Nutrition & Dietetics | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Medicine Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Nutrition & Dietetics | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
Database indexing
SCIEScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
MEDLINECINAHLCurrent ContentsPublisher website
Other: Google Scholar, EBSCO, ProQuest, OCLC
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor
- 3.15LetPub ·
- Impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 3.2Publisher website ·
- 5-year impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 4.1Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 7.5LetPub ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 1.05LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 1.1LetPub ·
- h-index
- 141LetPub ·
- h-index
- 226OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 5,048OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 3.43OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 3.1%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 35.64%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 123LetPub ·
- Downloads per year (publisher) 2025
- 2,055,152Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 6,696 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 134 | 59 | 47 |
| 2025 | 138 | 63 | 448 |
| 2024 | 164 | 72 | 1,002 |
| 2023 | 137 | 67 | 1,208 |
| 2022 | 205 | 84 | 3,072 |
| 2021 | 226 | 87 | 5,167 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with Crossref · to
213 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 148 days – 319 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 13 days (103 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 228 days
- Sample
- 103 articles with submission and acceptance dates (319 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Average review time (community reports)
- 3–6 weeksLetPub ·
- Average acceptance (community reports)
- EasyLetPub ·
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAlex | USD 3,590 / EUR 5,190 | — | — |
A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
Article types accepted4
- articleArticleOpen Access19 Jun 2026Length not stated
- brief communicationBrief CommunicationOpen Access08 Sept 2026Length not stated
- correspondenceCorrespondence24 Jun 2026Length not stated
- review articleReview Article28 Jul 2026Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websitePreprints
- Preprints
Manuscripts based on NHANES datasets or papers based on Mendelian Randomization analysis will not be accepted for review until further notice. Model summary
Manuscripts based on NHANES datasets or MR analysis The EJCN wishes to inform prospective authors that, manuscripts based on NHANES datasets or papers based on Mendelian Randomization analysis, will not be accepted for review until further notice.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Springer Nature
- Country or region
- ENGLAND
- Language
- English
- Frequency
- Monthly
- Founded
- 1997
- ISSN
- 0954-3007
- Electronic ISSN
- 1476-5640
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Submission system ↗LetPub
- Author guidelines ↗LetPub
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about European Journal of Clinical Nutrition
What CAS zone is European Journal of Clinical Nutrition in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, European Journal of Clinical Nutrition is in Zone 3 of Medicine, and in Zone 3 of the minor category Nutrition & Dietetics. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 3 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of European Journal of Clinical Nutrition?
The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 3.15; CiteScore 7.5, h-index 226.
How long does peer review take at European Journal of Clinical Nutrition?
Based on the dates recorded on 103 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 213 days (interquartile range 148–319 days); authors report an average review time of 3–6 weeks; the community-reported acceptance is “Easy”. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
Which databases index European Journal of Clinical Nutrition?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, European Journal of Clinical Nutrition is indexed in SCIE and Scopus. The journal's website also lists MEDLINE, CINAHL and Current Contents; that list has not been checked against each database.
Is European Journal of Clinical Nutrition open access, and what is the APC?
European Journal of Clinical Nutrition is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 3,590.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .