Journal profile · Materials Science-Electronic, Optical and Magnetic Materials
Journal of Ovonic Research
ISSN 1584-9953 · eISSN 1842-2403 · National Institute of Research and Development for Optoelectronics · UNITED STATES
Journal of Ovonic Research: CAS Zone 4 · Materials Science (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 1.2; subscription journal; APC charged, amount not published; community-reported acceptance: easy; 77 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Journal of Ovonic Research is published by National Institute of Research and Development for Optoelectronics and is in Zone 4 of Materials Science in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are ZnO doping and properties, Chalcogenide Semiconductor Thin Films and Gas Sensing Nanomaterials and Sensors, together about 30.2% of its articles. Its main subfields are Materials Chemistry and Electrical and Electronic Engineering. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
JOR welcomes papers from any area of materials science related to ovonic materials, chalcogenides, nanostructured alloys, amorphous silicon, germanium, carbon, and their doped or alloyed forms, as long as there is a clear link to applications in electronics, optoelectronics, or photonics. Papers should contribute to the understanding or development of advanced materials for memory devices, smart materials, or renewable energy applications. We welcome rigorous research using any method, including experimental, computational, characterization, or review approaches. We are globally inclusive and encourage authors to contextualize their work. The scope includes, but is not limited to: - Ovonic (mainly chalcogenide) materials for memories; - Smart materials based on ovonic materials (combinations of various elements including chalcogenides); - Nanostructured materials based on various alloys; - Semiconducting materials and alloys based on amorphous silicon, germanium, and carbon in their various nanostructured forms; - Minerals with possible applications in electronics, optoelectronics, and photonics; - Alternative and renewable energy sources; - Applications of nanomaterials in various devices.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Materials Science-Electronic, Optical and Magnetic Materials
Editor-in-chief Guicheng LiuPublisher website
Editorial board by country: 6 in mainland China (about 15%); most named Mainland China 6, South Korea 5, Japan 4, India 3, Italy 3 (41 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- ZnO doping and propertiesMaterials Science13.5%
- Chalcogenide Semiconductor Thin FilmsEngineering8.6%
- Gas Sensing Nanomaterials and SensorsEngineering8.1%
- Copper-based nanomaterials and applicationsMaterials Science6.5%
- Magnetic Properties and Synthesis of FerritesMaterials Science5.6%
- Quantum Dots Synthesis And PropertiesMaterials Science4.8%
- Transition Metal Oxide NanomaterialsMaterials Science4.5%
- TiO2 Photocatalysis and Solar CellsEnergy4.4%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Materials Science Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Materials Science | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Materials Science, Multidisciplinary | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Physics, Applied | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Materials Science Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Materials Science | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Materials Science, Multidisciplinary | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Physics, Applied | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Materials Science Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Materials Science | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Materials Science, Multidisciplinary | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Physics, Applied | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
Database indexing
SCIEScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
Web of SciencePublisher website
Other: Google Scholar, Journal Citation Reports
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor
- 1.2LetPub ·
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 1.1Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 2.2LetPub ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.24LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.44LetPub ·
- h-index
- 10LetPub ·
- h-index
- 17OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 58OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 1.69OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 0%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 0%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 71LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 503 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 37 | 30 | 7 |
| 2025 | 77 | 72 | 102 |
| 2024 | 82 | 80 | 223 |
| 2023 | 82 | 80 | 280 |
| 2022 | 88 | 85 | 558 |
| 2021 | 71 | 68 | 356 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
- Average acceptance (community reports)
- EasyLetPub ·
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal: articles are read by subscription or purchase, and authors usually pay no publication charge.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Publisher website | Yes, amount not published | — | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
Article types accepted4
- case reportAccepted article types: Original Research, Literature Review (systematic review, mini review, etc.), Short Report / Short Communication, Case Report.Length not stated
- literature review (systematic review, mini review, etc.)Accepted article types: Original Research, Literature Review (systematic review, mini review, etc.), Short Report / Short Communication, Case Report.Length not stated
- original researchAccepted article types: Original Research, Literature Review (systematic review, mini review, etc.), Short Report / Short Communication, Case Report.Length not stated
- short report / short communicationAccepted article types: Original Research, Literature Review (systematic review, mini review, etc.), Short Report / Short Communication, Case Report.Length not stated
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- National Institute of Research and Development for Optoelectronics
- Country or region
- UNITED STATES
- Language
- English
- ISSN
- 1584-9953
- Electronic ISSN
- 1842-2403
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗LetPub
- Submission system ↗LetPub
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Journal of Ovonic Research
What CAS zone is Journal of Ovonic Research in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Journal of Ovonic Research is in Zone 4 of Materials Science, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Materials Science, Multidisciplinary / Physics, Applied. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 4 of Materials Science. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Journal of Ovonic Research?
The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 1.2; CiteScore 2.2, h-index 17.
Where are the editorial board members of Journal of Ovonic Research based?
Of the 41 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 6 (about 15%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are Mainland China (6), South Korea (5) and Japan (4). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Journal of Ovonic Research?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Journal of Ovonic Research is indexed in SCIE and Scopus. The journal's website also lists Web of Science; that list has not been checked against each database.
Is Journal of Ovonic Research open access, and what is the APC?
Journal of Ovonic Research is a subscription journal. APC charged, amount not published.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .