Journal profile · Immunology

Journal of Neuroimmunology

ISSN 0165-5728 · eISSN 1872-8421 · Elsevier · NETHERLANDS · Monthly

Journal of Neuroimmunology: CAS Zone 4 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 3.06; hybrid open access; APC about USD 3,360; median 101 days to acceptance (97 articles, last 24 months); community-reported acceptance: about 5%; 252 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE and Scopus.

Impact factor3.06Latest value listed by LetPub
CAS zoneZone 4 · Medicine2025 upgraded edition, major category · 2026 Xinrui edition Zone 4 · Medicine
Review time101 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · 97 articles, last 24 months · PubMed
APCUSD 3,360Hybrid journal: charged only for open-access articles
Acceptanceabout 5%Community average
Articles per year2522025 · OpenAlex count

Scope

Aims, scope and focus

Journal of Neuroimmunology is published by Elsevier and is in Zone 4 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Multiple Sclerosis Research Studies, Neuroinflammation and Neurodegeneration Mechanisms and Peripheral Neuropathies and Disorders, together about 29.6% of its articles. Its main subfields are Immunology and Neurology. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)

The Journal of Neuroimmunology affords a forum for the publication of works on all branches of the neurosciences with the scope of uncovering aspects of neuro-immune interactions. Specific areas of interest are related (but not exclusive) to neuroinflammatory, neurodegenerative, neuroinfectious, and psychiatric diseases, peripheral neuropathies, spinal cord injury, neuroimaging, studies on central nervous systems (CNS) barriers and lymphatics, brain cancer, role of innate and adaptive immunity, immunometabolism and metabolic regulation of neuro-immune responses, and the gut microbiome in CNS health and diseases.The scope of the Journal is broad, covering both research and clinical problems of neuroscientific interest giving priorities to cutting edge and novel work.A major aim of the Journal is to encourage the development of approaches to analyze in depth the neuroimmune system and interactions between neurons, glial, and immune cells.

From the journal's Aims & Scope

Research area (LetPub): Immunology

Editor-in-chief Robyn KleinPublisher website

Editorial board by country: 6 in mainland China (about 8%); most named United States 29, Australia 11, Italy 8, Mainland China 6, Japan 6 (78 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·

Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate

  1. Multiple Sclerosis Research StudiesMedicine11.3%
  2. Neuroinflammation and Neurodegeneration MechanismsNeuroscience11%
  3. Peripheral Neuropathies and DisordersMedicine7.3%
  4. T-cell and B-cell ImmunologyImmunology and Microbiology6.5%
  5. Immunotherapy and Immune ResponsesImmunology and Microbiology6.2%
  6. Immune Response and InflammationImmunology and Microbiology5.8%
  7. Immune Cell Function and InteractionImmunology and Microbiology4.9%
  8. Monoclonal and Polyclonal Antibodies ResearchMedicine4.5%

Rankings & indexing

CAS ranking and database indexing

CAS Journal Ranking

CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 4
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 4
MinorImmunologyZone 4
MinorNeurosciencesZone 4

Top journal: noReview journal: no

CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 4
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 4
MinorImmunologyZone 3
MinorNeurosciencesZone 4

Top journal: noReview journal: not marked

CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Medicine Zone 4
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 4
MinorImmunologyZone 4
MinorNeurosciencesZone 4

Top journal: noReview journal: no

Database indexing

SCIEScopusLetPub

International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub

Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.

Metrics

Impact metrics and publication volume

Impact

Impact factor
3.06LetPub ·
Impact factor (publisher)
3.1Publisher website ·
CiteScore 2026-06
4.7LetPub ·
CiteScore (publisher)
4.7Publisher website ·
SJR 2026-06
0.94LetPub ·
SNIP 2026-06
0.81LetPub ·
h-index
129LetPub ·
h-index
194OpenAlex ·
i10-index
6,730OpenAlex ·
2-year mean citedness
2.3OpenAlex ·
Self-citation rate
3.2%LetPub ·
Share of gold OA articles
17.55%LetPub ·

Volume

Articles per year
217LetPub ·

Articles by year OpenAlex count · 13,208 in total · the current year is incomplete

YearArticlesOpen accessCitations
20261865356
202525291548
202415555758
2023175691,723
2022145541,550
2021256834,371

Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.

Review & acceptance

Review time and acceptance

Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with PubMed · to

101 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 71 days – 165 days

Acceptance to online
median 2 days (97 articles)
Submission to online
median 105 days
Sample
97 articles with submission and acceptance dates (465 in the window); the latest was accepted on

Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".

Other sources

Average review time (community reports)
over 0 weeksLetPub ·
Average acceptance (community reports)
5%LetPub ·
Submission to first decision
7 daysPublisher website ·
First decision after review
43 daysPublisher website ·
Submission to acceptance
107 daysPublisher website ·
Acceptance to publication
2 daysPublisher website ·
Peer review
Single anonymous peer reviewPublisher website

Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.

Fees & open access

APC and open-access policy

Hybrid open accessLetPub

A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.

SourceAPCFee waiverLicenseObserved
OpenAlexUSD 3,360 / EUR 3,140 / GBP 2,690 / JPY 416,740——
Publisher websiteUSD 3,630——

A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.

The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.

Submission

Article types and submission policies (journal website)

Open calls for papers1, by deadline
  1. Neuroinflammation and the Glymphatic System in Neurological DisordersDeadline
Publisher website
What to prepare6 items from the author guidelines
Abstract
≤ 250 words
Keywords
1–7
Manuscript length
≤ 6,000 words
Reference style
Author–date
Highlights
Required
Graphical abstract
Required
Publisher website · model-extracted, each line checked against the text
Article types accepted6, with length limits
  1. correspondenceCorrespondence Commentary or responses to published articles should be written as a letter to the editors.Length not stated
  2. full length articleFull Length Article Full-length articles are detailed studies reporting original research not being considered for publication elsewhere.Length not stated
  3. registered reportThis journal supports Registered Reports as article type, allowing you to have your research reviewed and pre-registered prior to conducting your experiments. P…Length not stated
  4. registered reportsRegistered Reports This journal supports Registered Reports as article type, allowing you to have your research reviewed and pre-registered prior to conducting …Length not stated
  5. review articleFor reviews, we are asking all authors to send us a pre-inquiry (review proposal), which will provide the following materials: (i) Topic and detailed (1-2 page …main text ≤ 7,000 words · figures and tables ≤ 4
  6. short communicationmatory cases. A maximum word length for short communications is set at 2,000 words. No more than 3 figures are expected with a short communicamain text ≤ 2,000 words · figures and tables ≤ 3
Publisher website
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Conflicts of interest, Publication ethics, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Preprints
AI use Declaration of generative AI use

Authors must declare the use of generative AI tools in the manuscript preparation process upon submission of the paper.Generative AI and AI-assisted technologies (“AI tools”) have been rapidly adopted in research and scholarly publishing, offering significant benefits while requiring clear standards for responsible and transparent use.Authors preparing a manuscript for this journal may use AI tool…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Authorship Group authorship

Group authorship refers to the attribution of an article to a defined and named group of authors whose members have contributed to the work. Examples include research consortia, clinical trial groups, collaborative networks, task forces or working groups, expert panels or consensus groups, and participatory research groups. Group authorship must be declared on the title page at submission. When av…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Conflicts of interest Declaration of competing interests

All authors must disclose any financial and personal relationships with other people or organizations that could inappropriately influence or bias their work. Examples of potential competing interests include:EmploymentConsultanciesStock ownershipHonorariaPaid expert testimonyPatent applications or registrationsGrants or any other fundingAffiliation with the journal as an Editor or Advisory Board …

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Publication ethics

Follows Elsevier's Publishing Ethics Policy Model summary

Authors must follow ethical guidelines stated in Elsevier's Publishing Ethics Policy.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
License & copyright License options

Authors will be offered open access user license options which will determine how you, and third parties, can reuse your open access article. We advise that you review these options and any funding body license requirements before selecting a license option.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Open access Open access

We refer you to our open access information page to learn about open access options for this journal.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Peer review Peer review

Single anonymized review process Model summary

This journal follows a single anonymized review process. Your submission will initially be assessed by our editors. If your submission is deemed suitable, it will typically be sent to be reviewed by a minimum of two reviewers for an independent expert assessment of the scientific quality. The decision as to whether your article is accepted or rejected for publication will be made by our editors.Re…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Preprints Preprints

Free preprint posting service on SSRN Model summary

Preprint sharingAuthors may share preprints in line with Elsevier's article sharing policy. Sharing preprints, such as on a preprint server, will not count as prior publication.We advise you to read our policy on multiple, redundant or concurrent publication. In support of Open Science, this journal offers its authors a free preprint posting service on SSRN, Elsevier’s preprint and early research …

Source ↗Publisher website ·

Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.

Profile

Publication details and official links

Publisher
Elsevier
Country or region
NETHERLANDS
Language
English
Frequency
Monthly
ISSN
0165-5728
Electronic ISSN
1872-8421
Official links

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about Journal of Neuroimmunology

What CAS zone is Journal of Neuroimmunology in?

In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Journal of Neuroimmunology is in Zone 4 of Medicine, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Immunology / Neurosciences. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 4 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.

What is the impact factor of Journal of Neuroimmunology?

The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 3.06; CiteScore 4.7, h-index 194.

How long does peer review take at Journal of Neuroimmunology?

Based on the dates recorded on 97 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 101 days (interquartile range 71–165 days); authors report an average review time of over 0 weeks; the community-reported acceptance is “about 5%”. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.

What are the manuscript requirements of Journal of Neuroimmunology?

According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 250 words; Keywords: 1–7; Manuscript length: ≤ 6,000 words; Reference style: Author–date; Highlights: Required; Graphical abstract: Required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.

Where are the editorial board members of Journal of Neuroimmunology based?

Of the 78 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 6 (about 8%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (29), Australia (11) and Italy (8). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.

Which databases index Journal of Neuroimmunology?

According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Journal of Neuroimmunology is indexed in SCIE and Scopus.

Is Journal of Neuroimmunology open access, and what is the APC?

Journal of Neuroimmunology is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 3,360.

Sources and updates

The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .