Journal profile · EDUCATION & EDUCATIONAL RESEARCH

Journal of Museum Education

ISSN 1059-8650 · eISSN 2051-6169 · Taylor & Francis

Journal of Museum Education: CAS Zone 4 · Education (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 0.7 (journal website); hybrid open access; APC charged, amount not published; median 134 days to acceptance (92 articles, last 24 months); acceptance rate 68% (journal website); 87 articles in 2025; indexed in ESCI and Scopus.

Impact factor0.7From the journal's website, 2025 value
CAS zoneZone 4 · Education2025 upgraded edition, major category · 2026 Xinrui edition Zone 4 · Education
Review time134 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · 92 articles, last 24 months · Crossref
APCCharged, amount not publishedHybrid journal: charged only for open-access articles
Acceptance68%From the journal's website
Articles per year872025 · OpenAlex count

Scope

Aims, scope and focus

Journal of Museum Education is published by Taylor & Francis and is in Zone 4 of Education in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Museums and Cultural Heritage, Art Education and Development and Cultural Industries and Urban Development, together about 59% of its articles. Its main subfields are Sociology and Political Science. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)

Journal of Museum Education is the premier publication promoting and reporting on theory, training, and practice in the museum education field. Each issue focuses on a specific theme of interest to museum educators, informal educators, museum administrators, researchers, and other education and museum practitioners. Peer Review Statement Journal of Museum Education is an international peer-reviewed journal which publishes original research contributions to scientific knowledge.All manuscript submissions are subject to initial appraisal by the Editor, and, if found suitable for further consideration, to peer review by independent, anonymous expert referees. All peer review is double anonymized and submission is online via ScholarOne Manuscripts. Click here to be taken to the submissions website.

From the journal's Aims & Scope

Research area (LetPub): EDUCATION & EDUCATIONAL RESEARCH

Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named United States 14, United Kingdom 2, Canada 1, Austria 1 (18 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·

Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate

  1. Museums and Cultural HeritageArts and Humanities35.5%
  2. Art Education and DevelopmentArts and Humanities19%
  3. Cultural Industries and Urban DevelopmentSocial Sciences4.5%
  4. Educator Training and Historical PedagogySocial Sciences4.3%
  5. Cultural Heritage Management and PreservationArts and Humanities3.5%
  6. Participatory Visual Research MethodsSocial Sciences3.1%
  7. Qualitative Research Methods and EthicsSocial Sciences2.9%
  8. Digital Storytelling and EducationHealth Professions2.8%

Rankings & indexing

CAS ranking and database indexing

CAS Journal Ranking

CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Education Zone 4
LevelCategoryZone
MajorEducationZone 4
MinorEducation & Educational ResearchZone 4

Top journal: noReview journal: no

CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Education Zone 4
LevelCategoryZone
MajorEducationZone 4
MinorEducation & Educational ResearchZone 4

Top journal: noReview journal: not marked

CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

JCR / CiteScore quartiles on the journal's website

Publisher-reported: JCR figures are Clarivate's and CiteScore figures Scopus's to confirm; both are a different system from the CAS zones.Publisher website

Database indexing

ESCIScopusLetPub

International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub

Indexing the journal's website claims

Web of SciencePublisher website

Other: Periodicals Index Online

As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.

Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.

Metrics

Impact metrics and publication volume

Impact

Impact factor (publisher) 2025
0.7Publisher website ·
5-year impact factor (publisher) 2025
1.2Publisher website ·
CiteScore 2026-06
1.6LetPub ·
CiteScore (publisher) 2025
1.6Publisher website ·
SJR 2026-06
0.41LetPub ·
SJR (publisher) 2025
0.41Publisher website ·
SNIP 2026-06
1.1LetPub ·
SNIP (publisher) 2025
1.1Publisher website ·
h-index
32OpenAlex ·
i10-index
222OpenAlex ·
2-year mean citedness
0.78OpenAlex ·
Self-citation rate
28.6%LetPub ·
Share of gold OA articles
6.29%LetPub ·

Volume

Articles per year
79LetPub ·
Downloads per year (publisher)
112,000Publisher website ·

Articles by year OpenAlex count · 1,662 in total · the current year is incomplete

YearArticlesOpen accessCitations
202666177
2025873177
2024551679
2023511267
2022447289
2021534345

Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.

Review & acceptance

Review time and acceptance

Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with Crossref · to

134 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 96 days – 211 days

Acceptance to online
median 27 days (92 articles)
Submission to online
median 174 days
Sample
92 articles with submission and acceptance dates (158 in the window); the latest was accepted on

Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".

Other sources

Acceptance rate (publisher)
68%Publisher website ·
Submission to first decision
44 daysPublisher website ·
First decision after review
46 daysPublisher website ·
Acceptance to publication
27 daysPublisher website ·
Peer review
Double anonymous peer reviewPublisher website

Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.

Fees & open access

APC and open-access policy

Hybrid open accessLetPub

A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.

SourceAPCFee waiverLicenseObserved
Publisher websiteYes, amount not published——

A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.

The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.

Submission

Article types and submission policies (journal website)

Article types accepted2
  1. editorialEditorialLength not stated
  2. research articleResearch ArticleLength not stated
Publisher website
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteOpen access, Peer review
Open access Open access

Hybrid journal (Open Select) allowing open access publication. Model summary

Journal of Museum Education is a hybrid open access journal that is part of the Taylor & Francis Open Select publishing program, giving you the option to publish open access. Publishing open access means that your article will be free to access online immediately on publication, increasing the visibility, readership, and impact of your research. Why choose open access? Increase the discoverability…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Peer review Peer Review Statement

Double anonymized peer review; online submission via ScholarOne Manuscripts. Model summary

Journal of Museum Education is an international peer-reviewed journal which publishes original research contributions to scientific knowledge.

Source ↗Publisher website ·

Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.

Profile

Publication details and official links

Publisher
Taylor & Francis
ISSN
1059-8650
Electronic ISSN
2051-6169
Society / sponsor
Museum Education Roundtable
Latest issue on the website
Volume 51, Issue 2 (2026)
Official links

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about Journal of Museum Education

What CAS zone is Journal of Museum Education in?

In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Journal of Museum Education is in Zone 4 of Education, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Education & Educational Research. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 4 of Education. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.

What is the impact factor of Journal of Museum Education?

The journal's website gives an impact factor of 0.7 (2025); this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 1.6, h-index 32.

How long does peer review take at Journal of Museum Education?

Based on the dates recorded on 92 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 134 days (interquartile range 96–211 days); the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 68%. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.

Where are the editorial board members of Journal of Museum Education based?

Of the 18 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (14), United Kingdom (2) and Canada (1). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.

Which databases index Journal of Museum Education?

According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Journal of Museum Education is indexed in ESCI and Scopus. The journal's website also lists Web of Science; that list has not been checked against each database.

Is Journal of Museum Education open access, and what is the APC?

Journal of Museum Education is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC charged, amount not published.

Sources and updates

The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-24). Last updated: .