Journal profile · Social Sciences-Education

Journal of Learning for Development

ISSN 2311-1550 · Commonwealth of Learning · Canada

Journal of Learning for Development: diamond open access (no APC); no APC; review about 24 weeks (community reports); 51 articles in 2025; indexed in Scopus.

Impact factor—No published value
CAS zone—Not in the CAS Journal Ranking
CiteScore quartileQ2Education · rank 727/1698 · 57th percentile
Review timeabout 24 weeksCommunity average
APCNo APCDiamond open access (no APC)
Acceptance—No reports yet
Articles per year512025 · OpenAlex count

Scope

Aims, scope and focus

Journal of Learning for Development is published by Commonwealth of Learning. By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Online and Blended Learning, Open Education and E-Learning and Educational Technology and E-Learning, together about 36% of its articles. Its main subfields are Education and Information Systems. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)

The Journal of Learning for Development, a Scopus-indexed journal, provides a forum for the publication of research with a focus on innovation in learning, in particular but not exclusively, open and distance learning (ODL), and its contribution to development. If the research is not directly about ODL, then we encourage authors to consider submitting research on equity, access and success using technology-enabled learning. Content includes interventions that change social and/or economic relations, especially in terms of improving equity. JL4D publishes research articles, book reviews and reports from the field from researchers, scholars and practitioners, and seeks to engage a broad audience across that spectrum. It aims to encourage contributors starting their careers, as well as to publish the work of established and senior scholars from the Commonwealth and beyond.

From the journal's Aims & Scope

Research area (LetPub): Social Sciences-Education

Editor-in-chief Santosh PandaPublisher website

Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate

  1. Online and Blended LearningSocial Sciences15.4%
  2. Open Education and E-LearningComputer Science10.6%
  3. Educational Technology and E-LearningComputer Science10%
  4. Educational Innovations and TechnologyComputer Science5.7%
  5. Education during COVID-19 pandemicSocial Sciences5.2%
  6. E-Learning and COVID-19Social Sciences5%
  7. Online Learning and AnalyticsComputer Science4.8%
  8. Educational Innovations and ChallengesComputer Science4.8%

Rankings & indexing

CAS ranking and database indexing

CAS Journal Ranking

CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

CiteScore quartiles (Scopus, June 2026 release)

SubjectQuartileRankPercentile
EducationQ2727/169857th

Scopus ranks journals by CiteScore within each subject: the 75th percentile and above is Q1, then a quartile every 25 points. A different system from the CAS zones.LetPub

Database indexing

ScopusDOAJLetPub

International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub

Indexing the journal's website claims

ERICPublisher website

Other: Google Scholar, BASE, WorldCat

As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.

Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.

Metrics

Impact metrics and publication volume

Impact

CiteScore 2026-06
2.6LetPub ·
SJR 2026-06
0.39LetPub ·
SNIP 2026-06
0.82LetPub ·
h-index
29OpenAlex ·
i10-index
99OpenAlex ·
2-year mean citedness
2.21OpenAlex ·
Share of gold OA articles
0%LetPub ·

Articles by year OpenAlex count · 469 in total · the current year is incomplete

YearArticlesOpen accessCitations
20265151504
20255151581
20244747603
20233737652
20224444499
20214848345

Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.

Review & acceptance

Review time and acceptance

Average review time (community reports)
about 24 weeksLetPub ·
Submission to publication (journal-reported)
about 24 weeksDOAJ ·
Peer review
Double anonymous peer reviewDOAJ

Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.

Fees & open access

APC and open-access policy

Diamond open access (no APC)DOAJ

Every article is open access and authors pay no article processing charge.

SourceAPCFee waiverLicenseObserved
DOAJNo APCNoCC BY-SA

The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.

Submission

Article types and submission policies (journal website)

What to prepare3 items from the author guidelines
Abstract
≤ 150 words
Manuscript length
≤ 6,000 words
Reference style
APA
Publisher website · model-extracted, each line checked against the text
Article types accepted9, with length limits
  1. book reviewwords; (iv) Commentary: 2500 words; (v) Book Reviews: 1500-2000 words. 2. Style: Use 12-point Times Roman font and double-space tmain text ≤ 2,000 words
  2. book reviews(v) Book Reviews: 1500-2000 words.Length not stated
  3. case study(iii) Case Study: 2500 words;Length not stated
  4. commentaryrds; (iii) Case Study: 2500 words; (iv) Commentary: 2500 words; (v) Book Reviews: 1500-2000 words. 2. Style: Use 12-pointmain text ≤ 2,500 words
  5. full research papernfamiliar contexts be much shorter than full research papers: perhaps 2,000 – 3,000 words. nevertheless still set the practice in the context of litemain text ≤ 3,000 words
  6. report from the field(ii) Report from the Field: 2500 words;Length not stated
  7. research articleal of Learning for Development are: (i) Research articles: 6000 words; (ii) Report from the Field: 2500 words; (iii) Case Study:main text ≤ 6,000 words
  8. research articles(i) Research articles: 6000 words;Length not stated
  9. reviewferred and the recommended length for a review is 1000-1500 words. The journal welcomes reviewers from across the globe. To amain text ≤ 1,500 words
Publisher website
Policy excerpts from the journal's websitePublication ethics, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Plagiarism, Preprints
Publication ethics Publication Ethics and Publication Malpractice Statement

The Journal of Learning for Development (JL4D) is a peer-reviewed journal, published three times annually by the Commonwealth of Learning (COL), and is committed to the highest standard of publication ethics and best practice. JL4D does not tolerate any form of publishing malpractices, such as fabrication, falsification, manipulation, plagiarism, duplication, salami-slicing, citation manipulation,…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
License & copyright Copyright Notice

Copyright retained by authors; first publication right to journal; Attribution-Share Alike licence. Model summary

Authors who publish with this journal agree to the following terms: Authors retain copyright and grant the journal right of first publication with the work simultaneously licensed under an Attribution-Share Alike licence that allows others to share the work with an acknowledgement of the work's authorship and initial publication in this journal. Authors are able to enter into separate, additional …

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Open access Open Access Policy

This journal provides immediate open access to its content on the principle that making research freely available to the public supports a greater global exchange of knowledge. By making all articles available under a CC-BY-SA license (CC-BY for the first few articles published), the Journal of Learning for Development allows its authors to enter into separate, additional contractual arrangements …

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Peer review Peer Review Process

Blind peer review process; anonymised manuscripts required. Model summary

Review process: All submissions to JL4D are peer reviewed. JL4D uses a two-stage process. Submissions are initially reviewed internally by one or more associate editors to ensure the submission aligns with the focus/scope of the journal, the paper is formatted according to the author guidelines, and that it is methodologically sound. Where the submission is appropriate but needs some further editi…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Plagiarism

Plagiarism detection software used for submissions with publication potential. Model summary

Submissions that are identified with potential for publications are subjected to plagiarism detection software. Author/s are advised based on the report and judgement of the Editor.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Preprints

Preprint posting permitted and encouraged. Model summary

Authors are permitted and encouraged to post their work online (e.g., in institutional repositories or on their website) prior to and during the submission process, as it can lead to productive exchanges, as well as earlier and greater citation of published work

Source ↗Publisher website ·

Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.

Profile

Publication details and official links

Publisher
Commonwealth of Learning
Country or region
Canada
Language
English
ISSN
2311-1550
Latest issue on the website
Volume 13, Issue 2 (2026)
Official links

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about Journal of Learning for Development

How long does peer review take at Journal of Learning for Development?

Authors report an average review time of about 24 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.

What are the manuscript requirements of Journal of Learning for Development?

According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 150 words; Manuscript length: ≤ 6,000 words; Reference style: APA. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.

Which databases index Journal of Learning for Development?

According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Journal of Learning for Development is indexed in Scopus and DOAJ. The journal's website also lists ERIC; that list has not been checked against each database.

Is Journal of Learning for Development open access, and what is the APC?

Journal of Learning for Development is a diamond open-access journal (no APC). It charges no article processing charge.

Sources and updates

The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, DOAJ, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-30). Last updated: .